DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 08/13/2026.
Claims 1-16, and 21-24 are pending in this application.
Claims 17-20 have been cancelled.
Remarks
2. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection. See details below.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitation “a semiconductor layer disposed on the high-Kappa dielectric layer” recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recite limitation “a semiconductor layer disposed on the high-Kappa dielectric layer”. Such limitation is not supported by either the specification or the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 10-12, 16, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Galatage et al. (US 2023/0402507)
Regarding claim 10, Galatage discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first bottom source/drain feature 105c and a second bottom source/drain feature 105d disposed over a substrate 144 (see Fig. 1A);
a plurality of bottom channel members 103b (all or just the bottom three nanoribbon layers 103b – the lower layers 103b) extending between and in contact with the first bottom source/drain feature 105c and the second bottom source/drain feature 105d;
a first bonding layer 120 (lower layer 120) over the plurality of bottom channel members 103b;
a second bonding layer 120 (upper layer 120) disposed directly on the first bonding layer 120;
a first top source/drain feature 105a disposed directly over the first bottom source/drain feature 105c;
a second top source/drain feature 105b disposed directly over the second bottom source/drain feature 105d; and
a plurality of top channel members 103a (all or just the top three nanoribbon layers 103a - the upper layers 103a) disposed over the second bonding layer 120 and extending between and in contact with the first top source/drain feature 105a and the second top source/drain feature 105b,
wherein there is an observable interface between the first bonding layer 120 and the second bonding layer 120,
wherein the first bonding layer 120 and the second bonding layer 120 comprise metal nitride, metal oxide, silicon carbide, graphene, or diamond (see para. 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Galatage discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10, further comprising:
a first semiconductor layer 103b (the topmost layer 103b) disposed between the plurality of bottom channel members (the lower layers 103b) and the first bonding layer 120; and
a second semiconductor layer 103a (the lowermost layer 103a) disposed between the plurality of top channel members (the upper layers 103a) and the second bonding layer 120,
wherein the first semiconductor layer 103b interfaces the first bonding layer 120,
wherein the second semiconductor layer 103a interfaces the second bonding layer 120
wherein the metal nitride comprises aluminum nitride or boron nitride (note: these are well known high-k dielectric materials; see para. 0063).
Regarding claim 12, Galatage discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10, wherein the metal nitride comprises aluminum nitride or boron nitride (note: these are well known high-k dielectric materials; see para. 0063).,
wherein the metal oxide comprises yttrium oxide, yttrium aluminum garnet, aluminum oxide, or beryllium oxide. See para. 0063.
Regarding claim 16, Galatage discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10, wherein the first bottom source/drain feature 103b and the second bottom source/drain feature 103b comprise silicon germanium,
wherein the first top source/drain feature 103a and the second top source/drain feature 103a comprise silicon and phosphorus.
See para. 0064.
Regarding claim 21, Galatage discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a plurality of bottom channel members 103b (the bottom three nanoribbon layers 103b – the lower layers 103b) disposed over a substrate (see Fig. 1A);
a bottom gate structure 122 wrapping around the plurality of bottom channel members 103b;
a bottom source/drain feature 105c, 105d interfacing with end sidewalls of the plurality of bottom channel members 103b;
a first semiconductor layer (the topmost layer 103b) over the plurality of bottom channel members (the lower layers 103b);
a first bonding layer (lower layer 120) over the plurality of bottom channel members 103b over and interfacing a top surface of the first semiconductor layer 103b (topmost layer 103b);
a second bonding layer 120 (upper layer 120) disposed over and interfacing the first bonding layer 120 (lower layer 120);
a second semiconductor layer 103a (the bottommost layer 103a) over and interfacing the second bonding layer 120;
a plurality of top channel members (the top three nanoribbon layers 103a - the upper layers 103a) over the second bonding semiconductor layer 120;
a top gate structure 122 wrapping around the plurality of top channel members 103a; and
a top source/drain feature 105a, 105b interfacing with end sidewalls of the plurality of top channel members 103a,
wherein the first bonding layer 120 and the second bonding layer 120 comprise metal nitride, metal oxide, silicon carbide, graphene, or diamond (see para. 0063).
Regarding claim 24, Galatage discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 21, wherein the bottom source/drain feature comprises silicon germanium (SiGe) and a p-type dopant,
wherein the top source/drain feature comprises silicon (Si) and an n-type dopant. See para. 0064.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
9. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galatage et al. (US 2023/0402507)
Regarding claim 15, Galatage discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10, comprising all claimed limitations, as discussed above, further comprising:
a plurality of inner spacer features 132 interleaving the plurality of bottom channel members 103b.
Galatage does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of inner spacer features 132 comprise silicon oxycarbonitride.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made that silicon oxycarbonitride is a well known material for inner spacer, and that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is just within the general skill of a worker in the art.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol; “Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of aknown plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention washeld to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323(Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int ’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States , 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977 ); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
See also MPEP § 2183.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 13-14, and 22-23 are allowable.
See the Office action of 05/12/2026 for details.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/Dao H Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
October 2, 2026