DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on December 1, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on September 7, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 7, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The compounds in the specification, particularly those on pages 65 – 73, 80, 81, 83 – 86, 92, 111 – 115 and 148 are low resolution, which makes it difficult to determine the atoms and bonding patterns of the compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objection
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The compounds in the claims are low resolution, which makes it difficult to determine the atoms and bonding patterns of the compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bi (CN115073501A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 13 and 14, Bi teaches:
A fused polycyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Bi teaches compound BD1-81
on Page 14. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 and X2 are N(Ra); one Ra is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring forming carbon atoms, the other Ra is a substituted aryl group of 6 ring forming carbon atoms, wherein R5 and R1 are combined with an adjacent group (interpreted as Ra) to form a ring; n2 and n3 are integers of 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist. As claim 14 defines R2 but does not require that n2 is an integer of at least 1, Bi anticipates claim 14.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 7 and 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (JP2021063074A, using the provided English language translation).
As per claims 1 – 7, and 13 – 17, Hatakeyama teaches:
A light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0643]: “100 Organic electroluminescent element 101 Substrate 102 Anode 103 Hole injection layer 104 Hole transport layer 105 Light-emitting layer 106 Electron transport layer 107 Electron injection layer 108 Cathode.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises a compound represented by Formula 1
(Hatakeyama teaches compounds of Formula (2)
, wherein the compound contains at least one cyano group ([0014]). Hatakeyama teaches that cyano group substituent provides excellent efficiency and device lifetime (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Hatakeyama is compound 1-9
on page 77. This compound does not contain the carbazole substituents as required by the claimed Formula. However, Hatakeyama also teaches compound 1-207
on Page 88, which contains a cyano-substituted polycyclic compound with carbazole groups in the claimed positions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 1-8 of Hatakeyama to include two carbazole groups in the positions shown in compound 1-207 and arrive at a compound of the claimed Formula. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 and X2 are N(Ra), Ra is a substituted aryl group; one R2 is a cyano group and another is carbazole group, represented by Formula A-2 in claims 2 and 14; n2 is an integer of 2; R3 is an unsubstituted alkyl group of 4 carbon atoms; n3 is 1; n1, n4 and n5 are all integers of 0 so that corresponding R groups do not exist. The compound reads on claimed Formula 2-1 in claims 3 and 15; Formula 3-2 in claims 4 and 16; Formula 4-2 in claim 5; Formula 5 in claims 6 and 17; and Formula 6-2 in claim 7. & [0247]: “In the present invention, a host material and, for example, a polycyclic aromatic compound represented by the above general formula (1) as a dopant material can be used as the material for the light-emitting layer.”)
Hatakeyama includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Hatakeyama being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of OLEDs with excellent efficiency and device lifetime (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Claims 8 – 10 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (JP2021063074A, using the provided English language translation) as applied to claims 1 – 17 and 13 – 17 above and further in view of Geum (US20210277026A1).
As per claims 8 – 10 and 18 – 20, Hatakeyama teaches compounds wherein the aryl off of the nitrogen atom is substituted with one or more aryl groups, such as compound 1-64
on Page 82. Furthermore, Geum teaches compounds of Formula 1
(Abstract). Geum teaches specific formulae such as 2-1-1
([0178]). Geum teaches that by including a substituent with a large steric hindrance around boron enhances the stability of the compound and increases the service life characteristic of the device including it ([0038]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the particular biphenylene substituent off of the nitrogen atoms in the compounds of Hatakeyama because Hatakeyama teaches compounds with the claimed substituent and because Geum teaches these substituents enhance the stability of the compound and increase the service life characteristic ([0038]). When the previously modified compound above is further modified to include this particular substituent, the compound reads on Formula X-1 of claims 8 and 18 and Formula 7-1 of claims 9 and 19. This compound is the same as compound 97
in claims 10 and 20.
Hatakeyama includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Hatakeyama being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of OLEDs with excellent efficiency and device lifetime (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E). It further would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art to modify the compounds of Hatakeyama to include the specifically claimed group motivated by a desire to predictably enhance the stability of the compound and increase the service life characteristic as taught by Geum ([0038]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (JP2021063074A, using the provided English language translation) as applied to claims 1 – 7 and 13 – 17 and further in view of Yoon (US20200308209A1).
As per claims 11 and 12, Hatakeyama does not teach:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a second compound represented by Formula HT-1
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a fourth compound represented by Formula D-1
Yoon teaches a light emitting device with an emission layer that includes a first host, a first dopant and a second dopant (Abstract). Yoon teaches that the second dopant may include a polycyclic compound represented by Formula 11(4)
. This polycyclic compound is similar to the polycyclic compound of Hatakeyama. Yoon teaches that the first dopant is a metal complex that can be selected from
. This compound reads on claimed Formula PS wherein Q1 to Q4 are each C; C1 and C4 are each a substituted heterocycle having 7 ring forming carbon atoms; C2 and C3 are each an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; L12 is *-O-*; L11 and L13 are direct linkages; b1 to b3 are 1; R61 and R64 are both an unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 carbon atom and d1 and d4 is 1; both R62 and R63 are hydrogen. Yoon teaches that the emission layer may contain both a first and second host, wherein the first host is a hole transporting compound and the second host may be an electron transporting compound so that the first and second host materials form an exciplex ([0123]). Yoon teaches that the first host may be selected from compounds including compound H19
, which reads on Formula HT-1 wherein L1 is a direct linkage; Ar1 is a substituted arylene group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; Ya is a direct linkage; A1 to A8 are all C(R51) where R51 is a hydrogen atom. Yoon teaches that by using this particular combination of materials in a light emitting layer, an OLED can be produced that has low driving voltage, high efficiency and improved lifespan ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the light emitting layer of Hatakeyama with a host materials and an additional dopant material, wherein the compounds are of the claimed Formulas, motivated by the desire to predictably produce an OLED that has low driving voltage, high efficiency and improved lifespan as taught by Yoon ([0005]).
Claims 1 – 7 and 11 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham (US20230363276A1) in view of Hatakeyama (JP2021063074A, using the provided English language translation).
As per claims 1 – 7, and 13 – 17, Fleetham teaches:
A light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0158]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, a cathode 160, and a barrier layer 170.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises a compound represented by Formula 1
(Fleetham teaches compounds of Formula I
([0006]). Fleetham teaches that in some embodiments, a bulky substituent comprising at least one 6-membered aromatic ring is bonded to the atom directly next to the atom bonded to the nitrile group and that the bulky substituent can be a carbazole ([0091 – 0093]). Fleetham teaches a particular compound 8-(R1)(R1)(R26)(R26) in paragraph ([0107]), in which the polycyclic group contains two cyano groups with carbazole substituents in an ortho position to them. While compound 8-(R1)(R1)(R26)(R26) teaches oxygen atoms instead of the claimed N-R groups, Hatakeyama similarly teaches that cyano substituents on boron-based polycyclic groups
([0014]). Hatakeyama teaches that X1 and X2 ca be selected from O or N-R ([0015]). A particular compound taught by Hatakeyama is compound 1-9
on page 77. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 8-(R1)(R1)(R26)(R26) of Fleetham replace the oxygen atoms with two N-R groups wherein the R groups is a group such as a substituted phenyl group, because Hatakeyama teaches that oxygen and nitrogen are functionally equivalent atoms in boron-based polycyclic groups containing cyano groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 and X2 are N(Ra), Ra is a substituted aryl group; one R2 is a cyano group and another is carbazole group, represented by Formula A-2 in claims 2 and 14; n2 is an integer of 2; n1, n3, n4 and n5 are all integers of 0 so that corresponding R groups do not exist. The compound reads on claimed Formula 2-1 in claims 3 and 15; Formula 3-4 in claims 4 and 16; Formula 4-1 in claim 5; Formula 5 in claims 6 and 17; and Formula 6-1 in claim 7. & [0144]: “In yet another aspect, the OLED of the present disclosure may also comprise an emissive region containing a compound as disclosed in the above compounds section of the present disclosure.”)
As per claim 11, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a second compound represented by Formula HT-1
(Fleetham teaches host material that can be used in combination with the claimed polycyclic compound include
([0200]) which reads on Formula HT-1 wherein L1 is an unsubstituted arylene group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; Ar1 is a substituted arylene group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; Ya is a direct linkage; A1 to A8 are all C(R51) where R51 is a hydrogen atom.)
As per claim 12, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a fourth compound represented by Formula D-1
(Fleetham teaches that the compound may be used in an emissive layer with a phosphorescent material ([0112]). Fleetham teaches that the phosphorescent material may be selected from compounds of
([0134]). This compound reads on claimed Formula D-1 wherein Q1 to Q4 are each C; C1 and C4 are each a substituted heterocycle having 7 ring forming carbon atoms; C2 and C3 are each an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms.)
Claims 8 – 10 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham (US20230363276A1) and Hatakeyama (JP2021063074A, using the provided English language translation) as applied to claims 1 – 7 and 11 – 17 above and further in view of Geum (US20210277026A1).
As per claims 8 – 10 and 18 – 20, the prior art combination teaches compounds wherein the aryl off of the nitrogen atom is substituted with one or more aryl groups, such as compound 1-64
on Page 82 of Hatakeyama. Furthermore, Geum teaches compounds of Formula 1
(Abstract). Geum teaches specific formulae such as 2-1-1
([0178]). Geum teaches that by including a substituent with a large steric hindrance around boron enhances the stability of the compound and increases the service life characteristic of the device including it ([0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the particular biphenylene substituent off of the nitrogen atoms in the compounds of the prior art combination because Geum teaches these substituents enhance the stability of the compound and increase the service life characteristic ([0038]). When the previously modified compound above is further modified to include this particular substituent, the compound reads on Formula X-1 of claims 8 and 18 and Formula 7-1 of claims 9 and 19. This compound is the same as compound 73
in claims 10 and 20.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789