Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 11/04/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious burden on the Examiner if restriction is not required. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. W. Lenehan (US 2788087; hereinafter Lenehan).
As regarding claim 1, Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for a passive dehumidifier, comprising: a collector wall (34) disposed within an interior of the passive dehumidifier and configured to collect moisture on at least one surface of the collector wall; an airflow control channel (fig. 1; no number) disposed between an intake and outtake of the passive dehumidifier, wherein the airflow control channel is configured to change a direction of an airflow entering the intake from a first direction to a second direction (fig. 1; no number), the change in the direction of the airflow configured to prevent at least a portion of the moisture present in the airflow from following the airflow into the second direction causing the at least a portion of the moisture to impinge against the at least one surface of the collector wall; and a drain (24) configured to drain the moisture collected by the collector wall from the passive dehumidifier.
As regarding claim 2, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein the airflow control channel is configured to provide volumetric expansion of the airflow entering the intake to reduce the inertia of the airflow and reduce the speed of the airflow (fig. 1).
As regarding claim 3, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for a screen mesh (12) configured to facilitate routing the moisture collected by the collector wall to the drain.
As regarding claim 4, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein the screen mesh (12) is functionally coupled to the at least one surface of the collector wall (34) and the drain (24).
As regarding claim 5, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein an angle of the change in the direction of the airflow entering the intake from the first direction to the second direction is at least ninety degrees (at least one airflow direction changes of approximately 90 degrees in a downward direction).
As regarding claim 6, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein the airflow control channel is further configured to change the direction of the airflow from the second direction to a third direction (airflow crossing the filter cone 12 of fig. 1), the change in the direction of the airflow from the second direction to the third direction configured to prevent at least a further portion of the moisture remaining the airflow flowing in the second direction from following the airflow into the third direction causing the further portion of the moisture to impinge against the at least one surface of the collector wall (34).
As regarding claim 7, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein an angle of the change in the direction of the airflow from the second direction to the third direction is greater than (fig. 1) the angle of the change in the direction of the airflow entering the intake from the first direction to the second direction.
As regarding claim 9, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention for wherein the collector wall (34) is disposed over at least a portion of the outtake (“gas outlet”) of the passive dehumidifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over J. W. Lenehan (US 2788087; hereinafter Lenehan).
As regarding claim 8, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the least one surface of the collector wall is a hydrophilic surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the least one surface of the collector wall is a hydrophilic (aluminium material) surface in order to provide a lightweight, corrosion-resistant cyclone body with a smooth internal surface that promotes stable airflow, reduces pressure loss, and allows easy fabrication, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen material or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen material critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 10, Lenehan discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lenehan discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the collector wall is shaped as a half dome covering the at least a portion of the outtake of the passive dehumidifier. However, the shape of a structural feature is considered a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that particular configuration is significant for the intended purpose of suitable shape, see In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773