DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0357052 (hereinafter “Kim”), in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0249628 (hereinafter “He”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0118337 (hereinafter “Park”).Regarding claims 1 and 2 Kim teaches a foldable display device 500 comprising: a display panel 510 including a first non-folding region (area) UFR, a second non-folding region (area) UFR, and a folding region (area) FR disposed between the first non-folding region (area) UFR and the second non-folding region (area) UFR; and a backplate (support) 580 disposed under the display panel 510, and including a first non-folding portion overlapping the first non-folding region (area) UFR, a second non-folding portion overlapping the second non-folding region (area) UFR, and a folding portion disposed between the first non-folding portion and the second non-folding portion, overlapping the folding region (area) FR, and including an opening pattern 582 or a concave portion (recess) 584 (abstract, Figures 3-9C, and paragraphs [0119] – [0121] and [0128]). Kim does not explicitly teach the backplate (support) includes glass in the first non-folding portion, the second non-folding portion, and the folding portion. He teaches a super thin tempered glass thin film for a backplate in a flexible or foldable display panel to mitigate the issue of creases in a folding region of a folding product (abstract), which corresponds to a backplate (support) comprising glass in a first non-folding portion, a second non-folding portion, and a folding portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the backplate (support) of Kim with the super thin tempered glass thin film of He to mitigate the issue of creases in a folding region of Kim’s foldable display device. Kim teaches the opening patterns (or holes) expands the elastic deformation region of the backplate (support), which results in an improvement to the folding property of the foldable display device (paragraph [0084]). Kim illustrates the opening pattern includes a plurality of openings, each of which has a shape that is rectangular, rhombic, elliptical, or a rectangle with rounded corners (Figures 5A-D, 8A and 9A). Kim does not explicitly teach the opening pattern includes openings, each of which has a wavy shape. Park teaches a foldable display apparatus comprising a display panel including a flexible substrate and a folding area, where at least one groove pattern (opening pattern including openings) is formed to overlap the folding area (abstract). Park teaches the at least one groove pattern improves the folding property of the folding region by preventing crack propagation by repeated folding and unfolding operation (paragraph [0056]). Park teaches the groove pattern 111 may be provided with a plurality of line patterns extending in a third direction (Z direction), which is parallel to the folding axis FX, and may be provided in, but not limited to, various shapes such as rectangle, trapezoid, angled trench shape, and wave pattern recess shape (wavy shape) (paragraphs [0049] and [0058], and Figure 1). Therefore, a functional equivalence between (1) a line pattern where each line has a shape of rectangular, rhombic, elliptical, or a rectangle with rounded corners (as taught by Kim) and (2) a line pattern where each line has a wave pattern recess shape (wavy shape) (as taught by Park) for use in a groove/opening pattern for improving the folding property of a foldable display device/apparatus has been established. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the opening pattern of Kim, and substituting the shapes disclosed by Kim with the wave pattern recess shape (wavy shape), as suggested by Park, motivated by the desire to form a conventional opening/groove pattern for improving the folding property of a foldable display device/apparatus, comprising a line pattern where each line has a wave pattern recess shape (wavy shape) being known in the art as being functionally equivalent and predictably suitable for use in forming such a line pattern for improving the bending property of a foldable display device.Regarding claim 4 In addition, Kim teaches the display device further comprises a first compensation layer (filling material) 586 filling the opening pattern 582 (Figures 7A and 7C, and paragraph [0138]).Regarding claim 5 In addition, Kim teaches the first compensation layer (filling material) 586 is further disposed under the backplate (support) 580 (Figures 7A and 7C), which corresponds to the claimed first non-folding portion and the second non-folding portion of the support.Regarding claim 6 In addition, Kim teaches the concave portion (recess) 584 is an opening or a groove (Figures 6 and 7C).Regarding claim 7 In addition, Kim teaches the display device further comprises a first compensation layer (filling material) 586 filling the concave portion (recess) 584 (Figures 7A and 7C, and paragraph [0138]).Regarding claim 8 In addition, Kim teaches the first compensation layer (filling material) 586 is further disposed under the backplate (support) 580 (Figures 7A and 7C), which corresponds to the claimed first non-folding portion and the second non-folding portion of the support.Regarding claim 9 In addition, Kim teaches the opening pattern (support pattern) 582 is formed in the backplate (support) 580 which is disposed in the concave portion (recess) 584 (Figures 7A and 7C).Regarding claim 10 In addition, Kim teaches the backplate (support) comprises stainless steel (paragraphs [0080] and [0120]), which corresponds to the material of the support pattern includes stainless steel.Regarding claim 12 In addition, Kim teaches the backplate 580 is disposed under the display panel 510 such that the display panel 510 is supported by the backplate 580, and the backplate 580 may be attached to the display panel 510 using an adhesive layer (paragraph [0122]), which corresponds to an adhesive layer disposed between the display panel 510 and the backplate 580, which includes the aforementioned support pattern.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He and Park as applied to either claim 9 or 12 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0102823 (hereinafter “Hong”).Regarding claim 11 The limitations for claim 9 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim does not explicitly teach an adhesive layer disposed under the opening pattern (support pattern) 582, and a frame disposed under the adhesive layer and configured to support the opening pattern (support pattern) 582. Hong teaches a foldable display device 10 comprising a display panel 300, a lower frame 600 and a lower cover 900 (paragraphs [0070] and [0191] – [0192], and Figures 1-2). Hong teaches the lower frame 600 is located under the lower panel member 400 of the display panel 300, and the lower frame 600 supports a first sensor 510 and a second sensor 520 (paragraphs [0120] and [0124]). Hong teaches the first sensor 510 may be attached to the upper surface of the lower frame 600 through an adhesive member (layer) 950 (paragraph [0150]). Kim and Hong are analogous inventions in the field of foldable display devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lower surface of the backplate 580 of Kim with the lower frame 600 and adhesive member (layer) 950 of Hong to provide a supporting member for the foldable display device to further reinforce said display device. The combination of Kim and Hong corresponds to an adhesive layer disposed under the support pattern, and a frame disposed under the adhesive layer and configured to support the support pattern.Regarding claim 13 The limitations for claim 12 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim is silent with regards to specific materials used for the adhesive layer; therefore, it would have been necessary and thus obvious to look to the prior art for conventional materials. Hong provides this conventional teaching showing that it is known in the art to use an optically clear adhesive (OCA) film or an optically clear resin (OCR) film as an adhesive layer for adhering component parts which make up a foldable display device (paragraphs [0075], [0081], [0111] and [0191]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the adhesive layer of Kim from the optically clear adhesive (OCA) film or the optically clear resin (OCR) film, as taught by Hong, motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of materials capable of being used as an adhesive layer for adhering component parts which make up a foldable display device.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2021/029568 A1 with United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0293870 (hereinafter “Chang”) being used as the English language equivalent translation.Regarding claim 14 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim does not explicitly teach the first non-folding portion of the backplate 182, 282, 382, 482, 682 includes a first pattern adjacent to the folding portion, and the second non-folding portion of the backplate 182, 282, 382, 482, 682 includes a second pattern adjacent to the folding portion. Chang teaches a foldable display device comprising a substrate for display, where the substrate for display 100 comprises a first non-folding portion 2A, a second non-folding portion 2A, and a folding portion 1A disposed between the first non-folding portion 2A and the second non-folding portion 2A (Figure 6, Annotated Figure 7, shown below, abstract, and paragraphs [0087]). Chang teaches the first non-folding portion 2A includes a first pattern of grooves G2-2 adjacent to the folding portion 1A, and the second non-folding portion 2A includes a second pattern of grooves G2-2 adjacent to the folding portion 1A (Annotated Figure 7, shown below, and paragraphs [0049] – [0051], [0075], [0101] and [0104] – [0106]). Chang teaches the grooves G2-2 are defined as contributing to a pattern for controlling stress remaining in the display substrate 100; that is, a stress control pattern (paragraph [0106]). Chang also teaches stress is generated when the substrate 100 is folded (paragraph [0084]). Kim and Chang are analogous inventions in the field of foldable display devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the non-folding portions of the backplate of Kim with the grooves of Chang to aid in controlling stresses present in the backplate.
Regarding claim 15 In addition, Chang teaches the first pattern and the second pattern are disposed on one surface 2S of the display substrate (support) 100, and the surface 2S is facing away (spaced apart) from the display panel 200 (Annotated Figure 7, shown above, Figures 1-3, and paragraph [0069]).Regarding claim 16 In addition, Chang teaches a height of each of the first pattern (made of grooves G2-2) and the second pattern (made of grooves G2-2) is smaller than a height T of the folding portion 1A, and wherein a width of each of the first pattern and the second pattern is smaller than a width of the folding portion 1A (Annotated Figure 7, shown above, and Figure 8).Regarding claim 17 In addition, Chang illustrates each of the first pattern and the second pattern (each made of grooves G2-2) includes an opening pattern or a recess (Figures 7-8).
Claims 18, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0088631 (hereinafter “Cho”).Regarding claims 18 and 19 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim does not explicitly teach either: a black coating layer disposed on one surface of the support and spaced apart from the display panel; or a functional layer disposed under the support and including a black pigment or a black dye. Cho teaches a display device comprising a light absorption layer (black coating layer or functional layer) 310 including at least one of carbon black and black ink (black pigment or black dye) (abstract and paragraph [0057]). Cho teaches the light absorption layer (black coating layer or functional layer) 310 is located below and conforms with a second surface of a plastic substrate 210 (used as a support), which is spaced apart from a first surface of the plastic substrate 210 onto which a display element (panel) is located (abstract, and paragraphs [0004]). Cho teaches the light absorption layer 310 absorbs light which prevents or substantially minimizes external light to be reflected by a backside layer 300 or the plastic substrate 210 through the flexible display layer 200 and emitted to the outside (paragraph [0057]). Kim and Cho are analogous inventions in the field of display devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the second surface (surface opposite the display panel 510) of the backplate (support) 580 of Kim with the light absorption layer 310 of Cho to prevent or substantially minimize the reflection of external light through the display device.Regarding claim 21 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim does not explicitly teach a heat dissipation layer disposed under the backplate (support) 580. Cho teaches a display device comprising an electrostatic shielding layer (heat dissipation layer) 330 disposed under the plastic substrate 210 (used as a support) (paragraph [0062] and Figure 4). Cho teaches the electrostatic shielding layer (heat dissipation layer) 330 may radiate heat emitted from the central processor, etc. received inside the flexible display layer 200 and/or the housing 20 (paragraph [0062]). Kim and Cho are analogous inventions in the field of display devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lower surface of the backplate (support) 580 of Kim with the electrostatic shielding layer (heat dissipation layer) 330 of Cho to provide a heat transfer means away from heat emitting components.Regarding claim 22 In addition, Cho teaches the electrostatic shielding layer (heat dissipation layer) 330 includes graphite and/or copper (metal) (paragraph [0062]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0357048 (hereinafter “Kishimoto”).Regarding claim 20 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Kim does not explicitly teach a digitizer disposed under the backplate (support) 580. Kishimoto teaches a foldable display device comprising a display panel and a digitizer overlapped by the display panel (abstract and Figures 1-2). Kishimoto teaches the display device 10 includes the digitizer 70 located below a lower layer (support) 50 used to support the display panel structure DP (Figure 5 and paragraphs [0068], [0095] and [0098]). Kishimoto teaches the digitizer 70 may detect an electromagnetic force emitted from a stylus, with conductive circuit patterns, and may determine a location where a strongest electromagnetic force is detected as the coordinates of touch input, and may disregard an unintended touch (paragraph [0098]). Kim and Kishimoto are analogous inventions in the field of foldable display devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lower surface of the backplate (support) 580 of Kim with the digitizer 70 of Kishimoto to: impart electromagnetic force detection, which corresponds to a touch input interface, to the display device; and/or providing a mechanism for disregarding an unintentional interaction with said display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 1 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 and 12 under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the additional consideration of Park.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783