DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 01/05/26 is acknowledged. By this election, claims 7-20 are withdrawn and claims 1-6 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamano (2009/0085222).
Regarding claim 1, Yamano (Fig. 24) discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate 11 that includes an external terminal 14 ([0065]); a first semiconductor chip (31, 12-3) ([0071]) on or above which a first bonding pad 43 is arranged ([0075]); a second semiconductor chip (31, 12-2) that is arranged between the substrate 11 and the first semiconductor chip (31, 12-3) ([0071]), the second semiconductor chip (31, 12-2) on or above which a second bonding pad 43 and a first insulating film 44 being arranged ([0075]); a bonding wire 16 that connects the substrate 11, the first bonding pad 43, and the second bonding pad 43 ([0066]); and a sealing resin 13 that seals at least the first semiconductor chip 31, the second semiconductor chip 31, and the bonding wire 16 ([0064]), wherein: the second semiconductor chip (31, 12-2) includes a first surface 41B that faces the substrate 11, and a second surface 32A on an opposite side of the first surface; and the second surface 32A includes a first bonding region 43 where the second bonding pad 43 and the first insulating film 44 are arranged ([0075]), and a first lamination region 12-1 that has a first low-level surface formed that being lower than a surface of the first insulating film 44, the first semiconductor chip (31, 12-3) being arranged on or above at least a part of the first low-level surface (Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 2, Yamano (Fig. 24) discloses wherein the surface of the first insulating film 44 (#44 of the first semiconductor chip (31, 12-3)) is formed that being higher than a surface of the second bonding pad 43.
Regarding claim 3, Yamano (Fig. 24) discloses wherein: the first semiconductor chip (31, 12-3) includes a third surface that faces the substrate 11 across the second semiconductor chip (31, 12-2); and the semiconductor device 10 further comprises an adhesion layer 51 that performs adhesion between at least a part of the first lamination region on the second surface and at least a part of the third surface.
Regarding claim 5, Yamano (Fig. 24) discloses wherein: the second surface has a rectangular shape (Fig. 19); and the first bonding region 43 is positioned that being closer to one side of two facing sides of the rectangular shape than to the other side (Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 6, Yamano (Fig. 24) discloses wherein the first bonding region 43 abuts on the one side.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose all the limitations recited in the above claim. Specifically, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein a second insulating film is further arranged on or above the first semiconductor chip; the first semiconductor chip includes a third surface that faces the substrate across the second semiconductor chip, and a fourth surface on an opposite side of the third surface; and the fourth surface includes a second bonding region where the first bonding pad and the second insulating film are arranged, and a second lamination region that has a second low-level surface formed that being lower than a surface of the second insulating film, a third semiconductor chip being arranged on or above at least a part of the second low-level surface.
Conclusion
/THERESA T DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814