DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1-14 are under current examination.
Claim Objections
Please remove the line numbers in the margin of the claims document as they are distracting and unnecessary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
See further discussion of allowable subject matter in the “Conclusion” section of this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Erp et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods Vol 152:191-199; publication year: 1992) in view of Du et al, ((2019) ChemRxiv. Preprint) and further in view of Creative Diagnostics (Website: Practical Tips of ELISA; available online from at least 07/23/2021).
With regard to claim 1, van Erp discloses a method for adsorbing IgG Mabs (i.e. monoclonal antibody proteins) to polystyrene particles comprising incubating the particles with the antibody in sodium phosphate buffer (i.e. phosphate buffered saline; page 192).
van Erp does not disclose poly(propylene sulfone) (PPSU) nanoparticles.
Du discloses PPSU20 polymers that self-assemble into nanoscale hydrogels crystalline solid (i.e. nanoparticles abstract, page 2) and indicates that PPSU is a simple, nontoxic, and facilely synthesized homopolymer that presents a versatile platform for nanofabrication with potential applications in biomedicine, diagnostics, catalysis, and purification (page 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to replace the polystyrene particles with the PPSU20 particles disclosed by Du. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to take advantage of the simplicity and versatility mentioned by Du and had reasonable expectation of success because Du discloses these particles to be suitable for biomedical applications.
With regard to claims 1-3, van Erp’s method also differs from the instantly claimed method in that the incubation is for 1 hour at 30C.
Creative Diagnostics discloses that factors affecting protein binding to plastics (i.e. synthetic polymers) include ratio of the surface area being coated to the volume of the coating solution, concentration of the antigen being adsorbed, temperature, and time of adsorption (page 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize these parameters in order to achieve optimal adsorption of an antibody to the PPSU20 polymer particles disclosed by Du as a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill. For this reason, the examiner does not consider the limitations of instant claim 1 requiring 1 second to 5 minutes incubation at between about 20-22C to patentably define over the cited prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, in van Erp’s method, the particles are centrifuged on completion of the adsorption incubation, followed by resuspension in buffer, then centrifuged again (paragraph bridging pages 192-193). The limitation requiring the nanoparticles to be washed between 1 and 3 times (claim 4) and resuspended in the buffer (claim 5) reads on this centrifugation followed by resuspension and subsequent second centrifugation step.
With regard to claim 6, as noted above, van Erp discloses PBS.
With regard to claims 7 and 8, as noted above van Erp discloses adsorbing an antibody. As claim 8 is worded currently, it reads on adsorbing a plurality of the same antibody on (i.e. at least two antibodies), and therefore this aspect of van Erp’s invention falls within the scope of claim 8.
With regard to claim 13, van Erp discloses a step wherein the particles are incubated with BSA (paragraph bridging pages 192 and 193).
With regard to claim 14, as noted above, Du renders obvious using nanoparticles formed from PPSU20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-20 of copending Application No. 18639549.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the instant claims:
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘549 application embrace a method of making a PPSU20 nanoparticle having an anti-Siglec-6 antibody adsorbed thereto by incubating the particles in buffer with the antibody for from 1 second to 5 minutes between 20 – 22C, wherein the antibody is at a higher concentration than the particle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 4, 5, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-20 of copending Application No. 18639549 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, and 14 above, and further in view of van Erp et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods Vol 152:191-199; publication year: 1992).
The relevant limitations of the ‘549 claims are set forth above.
The claims are silent with respect to washing the particles, the identity of the buffer, or incubating them with BSA as required by instant claims 4, 5, and 13, respectively.
von Erp discloses that antibodies can be adsorbed to polymeric particles (polystyrene) by incubating the particles with the antibody in sodium phosphate buffer (i.e. phosphate buffered saline), and that the antibody bound particles are washed in buffer containing BSA after the incubation step (pages 192-193).
It would have been prima facie obvious to follow the more detailed protocol for antibody-polymer particle binding disclosed by von Erp because the ‘549 application does not provide any steps for processing the particles after incubation and the method disclosed by von Erp had been established as effective for other polymer particles.
Conclusion
Claims 9-12 are free of the prior art.
The closest prior art to the invention of instant claim 9 is the method rendered obvious by van Erp, Du, and Creative Diagnostics as set forth above, and also Duan et al (J Immunol. 2021 Apr 28;206(10):2290–2300) and Nocka et al. (US 2006/0269556; publication date: 11/30/2006).
Duan discloses that an antibody directed to Siglec-8 can inhibit mast cell activation, potentially reducing reaction to allergy-inducing antigens when the anti-Siglec-8 is displayed on a micelle that also displays the antigen (abstract). Duan discloses that allergen binding to IgE causes crosslinking of the mast cell IgE receptor FceRI, resulting in activation of the mast cell, degranulation, and release of the pro-inflammatory mediators that cause mild to severe allergic reactions (page 2290). Duan proposes extending the platform to also inhibit other Siglecs to attenuate signaling of the FceRI (page 2290). Nocka discloses that Siglec 6 antibodies inhibit mast cell function and may be used to treat diseases or disorders associated with mast cell function (abstract). Nocka discloses further that mast cells can be activated by crosslinking the FceRI using antibodies (0037), i.e. anti- FceRI has the effect of activating a mast cell to release factors that mediate an allergic reaction, promoting an allergic response.
Claim 9 and its dependent claims 10-12 are considered free of the prior art because there is no particular teaching in the prior art to select anti-Seglic antibodies to adsorb to PPSU nanoparticles and also independently because there is no teaching to combine an anti-Seglic antibody with an antibody directed against FceRI. In fact, cross-linking FceRI would cause mast cell activation, and encourage an allergic response, which is opposite to the goal of the prior art.
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617