DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0268316) in view of Kakinuma et al. (US 2015/0268526).
In reference to claim 1, Kim et al. (US 2016/0268316), hereafter “Kim,” discloses a connection structure, with reference to Figure 3, comprising:
a first wire 4;
a second wire 7;
a first insulating layer 5, disposed between the first wire and the second wire, and the first insulating layer having a through hole 12 surrounded by a side wall, and a connection portion of the second wire being electrically connected to the first wire through the through hole, paragraph 32; and
a second insulating layer 8, disposed on the second wire and filled in the through hole,
wherein the second insulating layer does not contact the first wire, paragraph 26.
Kim does not disclose both of two outer edges of the connection portion are located within a contour of the through hole.
Kakinuma et al. (US 2015/0268526), hereafter “Kakinuma,” discloses a connection structure including teaching both of two outer edges of the connection portion, 110 in Figure 21, are located within a contour of the through hole 201. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for both of two outer edges of the connection portion to be located within a contour of the through hole. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007). In this case substituting one electrode shape for another.
In reference to claim 2, Kim discloses the first insulating layer is made of an organic material, paragraph 35.
In reference to claim 5, Kim discloses the side wall has a high level surface and a low level surface, the side wall surrounding the through hole has an inclined surface, and the inclined surface connects the high level surface and the low level surface, Figure 3.
In reference to claim 8, Kim does not disclose the inclined surface comprises an arc-shaped curved surface.
Kakinuma teaches the side wall surrounding the through hole, 201 in Figures 20 and 21, has an inclined surface, the inclined surface comprises an arc-shaped curved surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the inclined surface to comprises an arc-shaped curved surface. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one through hole shape for another.
In reference to claims 9 and 10, Kim discloses the second wire further comprises a main portion, 7 in Figure 3 (outside through hole 12), the main portion is disposed on the first insulating layer 5, and the main portion is connected to the connection portion and the main portion is not overlapped with the through hole.
In reference to claim 11, Kim discloses wherein in a top view, a pattern of the through hole comprises a circle, Figure 1 and paragraph 26.
In reference to claim 12, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising the connection structure of claim 1, paragraph 1.
In reference to claim 13, Kim discloses a substrate; a first signal line 2, disposed on the substrate; and a second signal line 11, disposed on the substrate and arranged in intersection with the first signal line, Figure 1, wherein the first wire is electrically connected to the second signal line (via the TFT).
In reference to claim 14, Kim discloses a thin film transistor, comprising: a gate 2, electrically connected to the first signal line; a semiconductor layer, partially overlapped with the gate; and a source and a drain 4, electrically connected to the semiconductor layer, respectively, Figure 3 and paragraph 28.
In reference to claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the first wire is the drain, and the second wire 7 is a pixel electrode, paragraphs 27 and 28.
In reference to claim 16, Kim discloses a plurality of sub-pixels, each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprising the second wire and the thin film transistor, and the second wire being electrically connected to the thin film transistor, paragraph 26.
In reference to claim 19, Kim discloses the connection portion of the second wire is overlapped with the through hole, paragraph 26.
In reference to claim 20, Kim discloses a common electrode 9, and the common electrode being disposed on the second insulating layer 8, Figure 3 and paragraph 27.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0268316) in view of Kakinuma et al. (US 2015/0268526) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tomioka et al. (US 2015/0160521).
In reference to claims 3 and 4, Kim discloses the connection portion of the second wire ends at a position, near, but above the bottom of a height of the sidewall, Figure 3.
Tomioka et al. (US 2015/0160521) discloses a display device including teaching a connection portion of a second wire, 107 in Figure 9, ends at a position not greater than 75% of a height of the side wall, paragraph 63 (depth X is greater than or equal to D/4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the connection portion of the second wire to end at a position not less than 10% and not greater than 90% of a height of the side wall or the connection portion of the second wire to end at a position not less than 20% and not greater than 80% of a height of the side wall. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Moreover, Tomioka establishes the height at which the connection portion of the second wire ends on the sidewall of the through hole as a result effective variable effecting the ability of a material to flow into and fill the through hole, paragraphs 63-65. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP 2144.05 II A.
One would have been motivated to end the connection portion of the second wire at a position in the claimed range in order to facilitate filling material in the through hole above the second wire, paragraph 65 of Tomioka.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0268316) in view of Kakinuma et al. (US 2015/0268526) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 2004/0223109).
In reference to claims 6 and 7, Kim does not disclose a height difference between the high level surface and the low level surface is 3 um to 5 um.
Taniguchi et al. (US 2004/0223109) discloses a display device including teaching an insulating layer, 38 in Figure 1, with a height difference between a high level surface and a low level surface, and the height difference is 3 µm to 5 µm, 4 µm, paragraph 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a height difference between the high level surface and the low level surface to be 3 µm to 5 µm. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thick planarizing layer to isolate signal lines of the device, paragraph 4.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0268316) in view of Kakinuma et al. (US 2015/0268526) as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0014041).
In reference to claim 17, Kim does not disclose the two adjacent sub-pixels are respectively located on two sides of a reference line and arranged in a mirror manner.
Park et al. (US 2010/0014041), hereafter “Park,” discloses a display device including teaching two adjacent sub-pixels, Figure 1, are respectively located on two sides of a reference line and arranged in a mirror manner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for two adjacent sub-pixels to be respectively located on two sides of a reference line and arranged in a mirror manner. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, applying the contact structure of Kim to the pixel configuration of Park.
In reference to claim 18, Kin does not disclose the second wire of one of the two adjacent sub-pixels and the second wire of the other of the two adjacent sub-pixels are arranged correspondingly on two sides of a reference line.
Park discloses a display device including teaching a second wire, 175a in Figure 1, of one of the two adjacent sub-pixels and the second wire 175b of the other of the two adjacent sub- pixels are arranged correspondingly on two sides of a reference line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second wire of one of the two adjacent sub-pixels and the second wire of the other of the two adjacent sub-pixels to be arranged correspondingly on two sides of a reference line. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, applying the contact structure of Kim to the pixel configuration of Park.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yin et al. (US 2017/0141132), Cho (US 2018/0329248), and Chen et al. (US 11,201,178) disclose related pixel connection wires.
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897