DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (KR 20170017958 A).
As to claim 1, Lim discloses a chemical liquid supply equipment comprising:
A casing having a chemical drum accommodating room (figure 1: frame/casing 100 with drum accommodation area [shown in figure 2, location of drums 1]);
A connection module in the accommodating room of the casing (figure 1: coupler unit 130 above location of drums 1);
A chemical drum conveying and rotating module in the accommodating room of the casing to convey and rotate the chemical drum to align with the connection module (figure 1: loading/conveying unit 110; figure 3: structure of unit 110 containing conveyance and rotation mechanisms 111 [sliders] and 112 [rotators]).
As to claim 2, Lim disclose a guide plate in the chemical drum accommodating room of the casing between the connection module and rotating and conveying module to guide the drum (figure 2: cross bar 101 sealing illustrated ‘C’ shaped plate for holding/guiding drum 1).
As to claim 3, Lim discloses the conveying and rotating module comprises a first and second conveying device disposed in parallel to move the drum (figure 4: illustrating a plurality of rollers 111 in loading/conveying unit 110, each roller parallel).
As to claim 11, Lim discloses a chemical liquid supply method comprising:
Providing a chemical drum (figure 1: drum 1 provided);
Transporting the chemical drum by a rotating and conveying module in an accommodating room of a liquid supply equipment (figure 1-2: drum 1 loaded to loader unit (rotating and conveying module) with rollers for rotating and conveying [figure 3]);
Detecting an opening of the chemical drum (figure 7: vision system 150 for aligning cap 2);
Rotating the chemical drum by the rotating and conveying module to align the opening with a cap rotation device of a connection module (description of embodiments, paragraph 21, starting “10 shows the configuration…”: rotation of drum to align cap opening mechanism 120).
As to claim 12, Lim discloses rotating the sealing cap to open the drum and holding the cap with the rotation device (description of embodiments, paragraph 17-18: opening/closing unit 120 for gripping and rotating open the cap).
As to claim 13-14, Lim discloses connecting the opening with a pipeline connection device and pumping (figure 7: coupler unit 130; description of embodiments, third from last paragraph (“after loading…”: after cap opening, coupler aligned with opening and pumping performed).
As to claim 15, Lim discloses detaching the pipeline connection device from the opening (description of embodiments, second from last paragraph).
As to claim 16, Lim discloses rotating the drum sealing cap held by the cap rotation device to fix on the drum opening (description of embodiments, second from last paragraph).
As to claim 17, Lim discloses moving the chemical drum out of the accommodating room by the rotating and conveying module (description of embodiments, second from last paragraph).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim.
As to claim 4, Lim discloses a plurality of parallel rollers (figure 4: rollers 111a of ‘slider’ 111 – shown as four sets of 1st large roller, 2x intermediate ~1/3 length rollers, 2nd large roller, all parallel) and knowledge in the art of configuring each of the rollers as either idle or powered by a drive (description of embodiments paragraph 11 starting “the sliding part 111 is formed…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a combination of powered and idled rollers to automatically move the barrel as desired, and therefore have a plurality of first and second powered rollers and first and second idle rollers.
As to claim 5-6, Lim discloses a plurality of larger size rollers and smaller size rollers (figure 4), and knowledge in the art of either powering or leaving rollers idle (as discussed above in claim 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the available smaller and larger rollers as powered or idle in various combinations to obtain desired effective movement of the barrel by the sliding mechanism of Lim as routine experimentation, including the decision of which rollers to power or leave idle, would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lu (US 20190127206).
As to claim 7, Lim discloses a first coupling unit/module for connection to an opening in a drum (figure 7: coupler unit 130 for opening under cap 2 of drum 1), but is silent as to first and second oppositely disposed coupling modules.
Lu discloses a chemical drum supply machine (figure 1, abstract) in which a coupling module is provided a first liquid connection module and a second gas connection module on opposing ends of a rotating arm (figure 1-2: automatic connector device/module with liquid connection device 40 opposite air-exchange [gas] connector 44 for connection to drums 50) to allow for automated opening and connection to the drums to avoid risks from explosions (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple connection automated connection modules, as disclosed by Lu, in the system of Lim, because this allows for automated liquid and gas connections without risks from explosions.
As to claim 8, Lim discloses the connection module comprises a cap rotation device to remove caps of the drum (figure 7: cap opening/closing mechanism 120), a pipeline connection device to connect to the drum (figure 7: coupler 131 of coupling unit 130), and an optical device between the connection and cap opening device to detect a position of the cap/opening (figure 7: vision system 150).
As to claim 9, Lim discloses a connection module with cap rotation device, connection device, and optical detection device for alignment, but is silent as to a second connection module.
Lu, as discussed above, discloses knowledge in the art of having first and second connection modules with first and second cap rotation devices and first and second liquid/gas connection devices (figure 2: liquid connection 40, gas connection 44, and cap opening mounts 32 and 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple optical detection modules as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the utility having a detector for associated with each cap and connection unit and duplication of parts is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the placement of the device, including between the cap and connection components (as these are located at the ends of the support structure, leaving a space therebetween one might naturally look to when adding structure) would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to allow for detection for both structures.
As to claim 10, Lim discloses the cap rotation/removal devices directly across the support arm from one another [180 degrees] (figure 2: cover opener 36 and 33 on opposite ends of support arm 221) and the liquid and gas connection devices are directly across a support arm from one another [180 degrees] (figure 2: liquid connection 40 and gas connection 44 across support arm 222 from one another).
As to claim 18, Lim discloses knowledge in the art of drums with liquid (background-art patent document 1), but is silent as to specifically providing a gas or liquid opening in the drum.
Lu discloses a chemical drum supply machine (figure 1, abstract) in which an automated cap removal and liquid and gas coupling module is provided (figures 1, 2: liquid connection 40, gas connection 44, cap removal 33, 36). Lu discloses knowledge in the art of providing both liquid and gas connection openings to the drum to allow for pressure equalization while continuously taking the required liquid chemical (paragraph 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both gas and liquid openings in a drum, as disclosed by Lu, in the method of Lim, because this allows for balancing the drums pressure for continuous liquid pumping.
As to claims 19-20, Lu dislcsoes providing both intake and exhaust air for the drum (figure 2, paragraph 22: gas connection 44 provided both air exchange pipe 435 and air return pipe 436).
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794