DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 5 of claim 1, “by following formula:” is grammatically incorrect, the examiner suggests the following correction: “by a following formula:”.
In line 1 of claim 11, “tje” is misspelled and should read “the”.
In line 2 of claim 16, “selected (…)” is grammatically incorrect, the examiner suggests that “selected” be followed by “selected from a list comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the range of the weight proportion of the C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group in the second additive makes the claim indefinite, because the range contains 0%. If the weight proportion is equal to 0%, then the claimed second additive according to claim 10 would lack an essential component of the claimed second additive of claim 9 on which claim 10 depends. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine if the C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group in the second additive is optional or not, rendering claim 10 indefinite.
Regarding claim 13, the range of weight proportion of the second additive in the positive electrode film renders the claim indefinite, because the range contains 0%. If the weight proportion is equal to 0%, then the claimed positive electrode film of claim 13 would lack the second additive which is an essential component of the positive electrode film claimed by claim 9, on which claim 13 depends. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine if the second additive is optional or not, rendering claim 13 indefinite.
Regarding claim 17, the range of the weight proportion of the lithium-rich additive in the positive electrode film renders the claim indefinite, because the range contains 0%. If the weight proportion of the lithium-rich additive in the positive electrode film is 0%, then the claimed positive electrode film layer claimed by claim 17 would lack the lithium-rich additive which an essential component of claim 15, on which claim 17 depends. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine if the lithium-rich additive is optional or not, rendering claim 17 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 15, 16, 18= 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20230187639-A1, Ho.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches:A positive electrode sheet ([0205], “cathode electrode layer”) comprising:
a positive electrode current collector ([0205]); and
a positive electrode film ([0204], “homogenized cathode slurry”) disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector and comprising an additive ([0203], “binder material”), wherein the additive comprises a structural unit made from acrylonitrile ([0200]) and an acrylic acid ([0198]).
Acrylic acid meets the requirements of the structural unit of claim 1 of the instant because it is a structural unit made from a monomer represented by the formula of claim 1 of the instant, comprising R1, R2, and R3 which are hydrogens, and an R4 which is a saturated carboxylic acid group comprising 1 carbon atom.
Regarding claim 2, the acrylic acid of Ho comprises a total number of carbon atoms of 3 (See structure below).
Regarding claim 3, Ho teaches a weight proportion of the structural unit made from the monomer in the additive is in a range of 60-85% ([0127]).
Regarding claim 4, Ho teaches a weight proportion of the structural unit made from the monomer in the additive is in a range of 65-75% ([0127]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Ho teaches an additive that has the same ranges of acrylonitrile and acrylic acid concentrations as that which are claimed by the instant claims 3 and 4 (60-85% or 65-75%, respectively). Therefore, although Ho does not explicitly teach a weight-average molecular weight of the additive, it must fall in the same range as the claimed ranges of claims 5 and 6 of the instant.
Regarding claims 15 and 16 Ho teaches the positive electrode film further comprises a lithium-rich additive ([0067], “LiNiO2”), which satisfies the formula of claim 15 of the instant and the requirement of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Ho teaches a secondary battery comprising the positive electrode sheet ([0228]).
Regarding claim 19, Ho teaches a battery pack comprising the secondary battery ([0085], “electrochemical apparatus”). The examples provided in [0083] clearly contain battery packs which are the same as the one disclosed in the instant Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 20, Ho teaches a power consumption apparatus, comprising the second battery ([0208], “a multi-channel battery tester”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230187639-A1, Ho.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ho teaches a weight proportion of the additive in the positive electrode film is in a range of 1% to 5% based on a total weight of the solid portion of the electrode slurry ([0156]). This overlaps with the claimed ranges of claims 7 and 8 and therefore renders the claimed subject matter of the two claims unpatentable. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portion of the claimed additive weight percent in order to arrive at a desired reduction of active material degradation.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230187639-A1, Ho in view of US-20220407075-A1, Iguchi.
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Ho are outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Ho further teaches the additive may comprise PVDF/HFP ([0119]).
Ho does not teach the additive is a first additive or that the positive electrode film further comprises a second additive, the second additive being a vinylidene fluoride modified polymer having a vinylidene fluoride main chain and a C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group grafted on the vinylidene fluoride main chain.
However, Iguchi teaches a composition for a binder for a positive electrode ([0017]) comprising a second polymer which may be VdF/HFP ([0111]).
Iguchi further teaches a first polymer comprising a pentenoic acid modified PVDF ([0027]).
Iguchi teaches the benefit of the first polymer is an improved adhesion to the current collector and electrolytic swelling resistance is improved by the selection of a pentenoic acid unit ([0018]).
Iguchi further teaches the benefit of the combination of the first and second polymer is increased flexibility and a lower likelihood that the electrode mixture will increase in viscosity ([0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to combine the two inventions. This would be done by modifying the positive electrode film layer of Ho to comprise the pentenoic acid modified PVDF of Iguchi in addition to the acrylic acid/acrylonitrile copolymer of Ho. Ho teaches the equivalence of VdF/HFP and the acrylic acid/acrylonitrile copolymer ([0119]), so the addition of the modified PVDF of Iguchi would produce the same benefits of improved flexibility and electrolyte swelling resistance.
Pentenoic acid is an unsaturated carboxylic acid group comprising 5 carbons.
Therefore, the modified PVDF of Modified Ho would comprise a vinylidene fluoride modified polymer having a vinylidene fluoride main chain and a C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group grafted on the vinylidene fluoride main chain.
Modified Ho would therefore teach the claimed matter of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Modified Ho teaches a weight proportion of the C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group in the second additive is less than or equal to 1% (Iguchi, [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Ho teaches a weight proportion of the C3-C10 unsaturated carboxylic acid group in the second additive is in a range of 0.5-1% (Iguchi, [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Ho teaches a weight-average molecular weight of the second additive is in a range of 800,000-1500,000 (Iguchi, [0038])
Regarding claim 13 and 14, Modified Ho teaches a weight proportion of the first additive to the second additive is more preferably 50/50 (Iguchi, [0133]). Modified Ho teaches the binder comprises 1-5% of the total weight of the solid portion of the electrode slurry (Ho, [0156]). Therefore, the range of Modified Ho overlaps with the claimed ranges of claims 13 and 14 of the instant invention.
Claims 17 is rejected rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230187639-A1, Ho in view of US-20230299300-A1, Zhang.
Regarding claim 17, Ho teaches the lithium rich additive comprises the cathode active material ([0067]). Ho also teaches the lithium rich additive may comprise Li2MnO3 ([0073]).
However, Ho teaches the proportion of cathode active material in the solid portion of the water-based electrode slurry is above 60% ([0154]).
Zhang teaches a second positive electrode additive comprising Li2NiO2 which is present at 5% of the total positive electrode active material (See Table 1). Zhang teaches the second positive electrode additive improves fluidity of the positive electrode slurry by nature of its pH of 12.9 ([0026]). Zhang also teaches the additive may comprise Li2MnO3 ([0059]). This means the two options for additives are equivalent, and the Li2MnO3 of Ho could easily be replaced with Li2NiO2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to replace a portion of the positive electrode active material of Ho be with Li2NiO2 in order to improve the fluidity of the positive electrode slurry.
Furthermore, in absence of this modification, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could have easily envisioned a division of a positive electrode active material comprising Li2MnO3 into two parts, where one would serve as the second positive electrode additive and one would serve as the active material.
Either of these modifications would teach all of the positively recited limitations of claim 17 of the instant.Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12148932 (Reference 1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons explained in the table below.
Instant Application
Reference 1
1. A positive electrode sheet, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; and a positive electrode film disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector and comprising an additive, wherein the additive comprises a structural unit made from acrylonitrile and a structural unit made from a monomer represented by following formula (see Claim 1 Instant):
wherein R1, R2, R3, and R4 are each independently selected from hydrogen, an alkyl group with 1-8 carbon atoms, or a saturated carboxylic acid group with 1-8 carbon atoms, and at least one of R1, R2, R3, or R4 is selected from the saturated carboxylic acid group with 1-8 carbon atoms.
1. An electrode plate, comprising: a current collector a bonding agent; an electrode active material layer
1. A positive electrode sheet, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; and a positive electrode film disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector and comprising an additive, wherein the additive comprises a structural unit made from acrylonitrile and a structural unit made from a monomer represented by following formula (see Claim 1 Instant):
wherein R1, R2, R3, and R4 are each independently selected from hydrogen, an alkyl group with 1-8 carbon atoms, or a saturated carboxylic acid group with 1-8 carbon atoms, and at least one of R1, R2, R3, or R4 is selected from the saturated carboxylic acid group with 1-8 carbon atoms.
7.
the bonding agent is selected from the group consisting of polyacrylic acidpolyacrylic-acid-polyacrylonitrile copolymer
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721