DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0104] contains the repeated sentence “On the other hand, the groove 308 itself has the effect of avoidance.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In this case, the dependent claim fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, Claim 10 recites that “the convex portion is arranged on the crossbeams; and/or the groove is arranged on the longitudinal beams.” Emphasis added. However, Claim 9, upon which Claim 10 depends, recites the limitation “the convex portion is arranged on the crossbeams [and] the groove is arranged on the longitudinal beams.” Claim 10 asserts optionality while Claim 9 asserts that both are required. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang et al. (US 2018/0272853) in view of Kamo (US 2019/0221796).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang meets the claimed,
A battery (Paragraph [0096] teaches a battery pack), comprising: an accommodating box (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach a plurality of battery assemblies 2, which are contained within a box comprising lower box body 1, box cover 3, and bottom plate 5) comprising: a box body (Paragraph [0096] teaches a lower box body 1), a box cap (Paragraph [0096] teaches box cover 3), and a box bottom ([0096] teaches a bottom plate 5); wherein the box cap and the box bottom are connected with two opposite ends along a first direction of the box body (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach that box cover 3 and bottom plate 5 are connected through lower box body 1 and are on opposite ends along a first direction U), the box cap is detachably arranged (Paragraph [0100] teaches that box cover 3 is connected to lower box body 1 with bolts, which are detachable/removable by design) a cavity is provided in the box body (Paragraph [0063] and Fig. 2 teach that lower box body 1 , comprising protective frame 11, contains a cavity), and the box body is provided with a support portion (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 2 teach a battery fixed portion 1112 which holds/supports the battery assemblies 2); and a battery module (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach battery assemblies 2 which contain batteries within), provided in the cavity (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach that battery assemblies 2 is inserted into the cavity) and comprising an accommodating member (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach battery assemblies 2, with each battery assembly necessarily requiring at least one battery contained within an accommodating member) and at least two battery cells fixed in the accommodating member (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 1 teach battery assemblies 2, and as an assembly, necessarily contains two or more battery cells) wherein the accommodating member is provided with a connecting portion (Paragraph [0096] teaches that the battery assemblies 2 are bolted to fixed portion 1112, which means that there must be a connecting portion provided with the accommodating member that comprises battery assemblies 2), the connecting portion is pressed onto a surface of the support portion facing the box cap and is supported by the support portion (Paragraph [0006] and Fig. 1 teaches that battery assemblies 2 is mounted on fixed portion 1112, therefore, the connecting portion presses down onto the support portion), and is fixedly connected with the support portion to realize supporting and fixing of the box body to the battery module (Paragraph [0096] teaches that battery assemblies 2 is bolted battery fixed portion 1112).
Kamo teaches a power storage device for use in an electric vehicle with elastic walls to accommodate battery expansion.
Kamo meets the claimed,
[…] and at least two battery cells fixed in the accommodating member ([0062] and Fig. 5 teach multiple battery cells per accommodating member).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use multiple battery cells per accommodating member in order to better regulate temperatures and expansion rates, as well as decrease the likelihood of damage causing total battery failure.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the support portion is located on an inner wall of the box body (Paragraph [0066] and Fig. 2 teach battery fixed portion 1112 that protrudes inwards of the box).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 2, wherein the support portion is located between two ends in the first direction of the inner wall of the box body (Paragraph [0063] and Fig. 4 teach that battery fixed portion 1112 is located between two ends in the first direction).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein: the support portion is provided with a convex portion (Paragraph [0066] and Fig. 1 teach battery fixed portion 1112 that protrudes inwardly on the wall of the box body. Fig. 4 further shows that battery fixed portion 1112 is convex relative to the box wall), the connecting portion is pressed onto a surface of the convex portion facing the box cap (Paragraph [0006] and Fig. 1 teach that battery assemblies 2 is mounted upon fixed portion 1112. Fig. 4 shows that the surface of connection is facing box cover 3), is supported by the convex portion (Paragraph [0006] and Fig. 1 teach that battery assemblies 2 are mounted on battery fixed portion 1112, and thus supports the assembly), and is fixedly connected with the convex portion (Paragraph [0006] and [0067] teach that battery assemblies 2 are bolted to battery fixed portion 1112).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 4, wherein the convex portion is arranged on an inner wall of the box body (Paragraph [0066] and Fig. 4 teach that battery fixed portion 1112 is located on the inner wall of the box body), a portion of the inner wall of the box body located on a side of the convex portion adjacent to the box cap in the first direction is an avoidance surface (Fig. 4 teaches an avoidance surface adjacent to the box cover 3), and the convex portion protrudes inwardly relative to the avoidance surface (Paragraph [0066], Fig. 1, and Fig. 4 teach battery fixed portion 1112 located on the inner wall of the box body protruding inwardly relative to the avoidance surface).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 5, wherein the convex portion extends to an end of the box body adjacent to the box bottom in the first direction ([0096] and Fig. 4 teach battery fixed portion 1112 extends in the first direction to the end of the box body, adjacent to bottom plate 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the box body is an integral structure (Paragraph [0066] teaches that the protective frame 11, which comprises lower box body 1, may be integrally formed. Paragraph [0100] teaches that box cover 3 is bolted to the box. Paragraph [0103] teaches that bottom plate 5 is welded to the box. Thus, the box body is an integral structure), or the box body is a disassembled structure (Paragraph [0066] teaches that the lower box body 1 may also be formed by welding, which means that the box body is, at one point, a disassembled structure pre-weld).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein: the support portion encircles the cavity for a full circle (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 2 teach battery fixing portion 1112 encircling the entire cavity).
Regarding Claim 20, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion is detachably connected with the support portion (Paragraph [0067] and Fig. 1 teach that battery assemblies 2 are bolted to battery fixed portion 1112, and bolts are designed to be detachable, thus the connecting portion on battery assemblies 2 is necessarily detachably connected to the battery fixed portion 1112).
Claims 8, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0272853) in view of Kamo (US 2019/0221796) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0282923).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 7, wherein the box body is the disassembled structure (Paragraph [0066] teaches that the frame components 111 may be welded together to form a single structure, which necessitates the structure being disassembled prior to welding) and comprises at least two longitudinal beams (Fig. 3 teaches seven longitudinal beams) and at least two crossbeams (Fig. 3 teaches three crossbeams), the at least two longitudinal beams are arranged to be spaced apart in a second direction sequentially (Fig. 3 teaches seven longitudinal beams being spaced apart sequentially in a second direction), the at least two crossbeams are arranged to be spaced apart in a third direction sequentially (Fig. 3 teaches three crossbeams spaced apart in a third direction sequentially), the at least two longitudinal beams and the at least two crossbeams intersect horizontally and vertically (Fig. 3 teaches the longitudinal beams and crossbeams intersecting horizontally and vertically), such that at least one cavity is formed in the box body (Fig. 2 teaches two longitudinal beams and two crossbeams intersecting horizontally and vertically to create a cavity in the body), the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other and are both perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 2 shows that the two directions are perpendicular to each other and the first direction U), […] and the support portion is arranged on the crossbeams and/or the longitudinal beams (Paragraph [0063] and Fig. 2 teach that battery fixed portion 1112 is attached to both crossbeams and longitudinal beams).
Wang does not teach any part being particularly detachable. Kim et al. teaches a battery module, which holds battery assemblies, and possess detachable walls, for the use in electric vehicles.
Kim meets the claimed,
[…] at least one of the two longitudinal beams located on the outermost side in the second direction is detachably connected with the crossbeams ([0057] and Fig. 1 teaches side beams 600 which are held in place with a bolt 610 and nut 630, both of which are detachable and thus make the side beams detachable as well).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the bolt-on beams as taught by Kim in the battery box as taught by Wang in order to more easily access and replace the components contained within while also maintaining structural integrity.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang/Kim meet the limitations of Claim 8 which Claim 11 depends upon, but does not particularly teach that the largest side of the battery cell faces the longitudinal beams.
Kamo teaches a power storage device for use in an electric vehicle with elastic walls to accommodate battery expansion.
Kamo meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 8, wherein a maximum surface of the longitudinal beams facing the battery cell is a surface of a largest area of the battery cell (Paragraphs [0064] and [0065] and Fig. 5 teach power storage module 30 with the largest battery cell surface facing the walls).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the largest battery cell surface face the longitudinal beams in order to limit and control the effect of potential battery expansion (See Paragraphs [0005] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang/Kamo meets all the limitations of Claim 1, which Claim 16 is dependent upon, but does not teach the use of a heat exchanger.
Kim et al. teaches a multi-layer battery case with a frame and heat exchanger for use in an electric vehicle.
Kim meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, further comprising: a heat exchange component arranged in the accommodating box and located between the battery module and the box bottom, and configured for heat changing of the battery module (Paragraph [0110] and Fig. 3 teach heat dissipation plate 200 that sits between the battery modules held in frame 100 and the bottom support part 30).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0272853) in view of Kamo (US 2019/0221796) and Kim et al. (US 2023/0282923) and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 113036305).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 8, wherein the support portion comprises a convex portion (Paragraph [0096] and Fig. 4 teach a battery fixed portion 1112 that is convex) […] the convex portion is arranged on the crossbeams and protrudes inwardly relative to an avoidance surface (Paragraph [0066], Fig. 1, and Fig. 4 teach battery fixed portion 1112 located on the inner wall of the box body protruding inwardly relative to the avoidance surface) and the avoidance surface is a portion of the inner wall of the box body located on a side of the convex portion adjacent to the box cap in the first direction (Paragraph [0006] and Fig. 1 teach that battery assemblies 2 is mounted upon fixed portion 1112. Fig. 4 shows that the surface of connection is facing box cover 3).
Wang does not teach a groove on a support portion.
Zhang et al. teaches a battery pack for use in electric vehicles configured to reduce the effects of vibration or instability.
Zhang meets the claimed,
[…] and a groove, […] the groove is arranged on the longitudinal beams (Paragraph [0067] and Fig. 4 teach limiting beam 12 which possesses a groove and is directed in the longitudinal direction).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place a groove along the longitudinal beam in order to stabilize the batteries caused by external forces and as such, reduce the likelihood of damage to the batteries.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 9, wherein: the convex portion is arranged on the crossbeams (Paragraph [0066], Fig. 1, and Fig. 4 teach battery fixed portion 1112 located on the inner wall of the box body).
Wang does not teach a groove on any beams.
Zhang et al. teaches a battery pack for use in electric vehicles configured to reduce the effects of vibration or instability.
Zhang meets the claimed,
[…] and/or the groove is arranged on the longitudinal beams (Paragraph [0067] and Fig. 4 teach limiting beam 12 which possesses a groove and is directed in the longitudinal direction)
Claims 12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0272853) in view of Kamo (US 2019/0221796) and further in view of You et al. (US 2020/0287181).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang meets the limitations of Claim 1 which Claim 12 is dependent upon, but does not teach the connecting portion being a flange.
You et al. teaches a battery module and pack which is designed for use in an electric vehicle.
You et al. meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion is a flange, protruding outward, of the accommodating member (Paragraph [0084] and Fig. 4 teach fixing portions 134, 135, 141, and 142, which are flanges that protrude outwards).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use flanges instead of the bolt section on the accommodating member as taught by Wang in order to facilitate ease of access and removal of the accommodating member and the batteries therein.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang/Kamo meets the limitations of Claim 1 which Claim 17 is dependent upon, but does not particularly teach the accommodating member comprising a frame.
You et al. teaches a battery module and pack which is designed for use in an electric vehicle.
You et al. meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the accommodating member comprises a frame, and the frame is enclosed around the at least two battery cells (Paragraph [0086] and Fig. 7 teach at least two battery cells enclosed in a frame comprising carrying portions 131, 132, and 140, as well as endplates 16 as seen in Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to enclose the batteries in a frame in order to protect the batteries from external physical forces as well as to decrease the effects of battery deformation.
Regarding Claim 18, You et al. meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 17, wherein the connecting portion is arranged on an outer surface of a side wall of the frame (Paragraph [0086] and Fig. 7 teach fixing portions 134, 135, 141, and 142 attached to the frame).
Regarding Claim 19, You et al. meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 17, wherein the accommodating member further comprises a bottom plate sealingly connected to an end of the frame away from the box cap (Paragraph [0087] and Fig. 3 teach main plate 140 which is welded to the rest of the frame and can be considered “sealingly” connected).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0272853) in view of Kamo (US 2019/0221796) and further in view of Shi et al. (CN 215342780).
Wang/Kamo teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 which Claim 14 is dependent upon, but does not teach the connecting portion being in a sealing fit with the support portion.
Shi teaches a compartment-separated battery pack for use in an electric vehicle.
Shi meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion is in a sealing fit with the support portion such that the spaces of two sides of the connecting portion located in the first direction are sealingly isolated from each other (Paragraph [0045] and Fig. 2 teach gasket 8 which separates lower housing 1 from upper housing 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the gasket and sealing fit as taught by Shi and improve the battery pack as taught by Wang in order to provide better thermal isolation between sides of the battery as well as prevent gas leakage.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 14, […] the connecting portion and the support portion (Paragraphs [0096] teaches a battery fixed portion 1112 that battery assemblies 2 is bolted to, thus there must be a connection portion on battery assemblies 2 to match the support position of battery fixed portion 1112).
Wang does not teach the use of any sealing components.
Shi teaches a compartment-separated battery pack for use in an electric vehicle.
Shi meets the claimed,
[…] further comprising: a sealing member (Paragraph [0045] and Fig. 2 teaches gasket 8).
Conclusion
/A.Y.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744