Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In re Claim 1, Bauer et al. (U.S. 2007/0001319 A1, hereinafter refer to Bauer) teaches a semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a layered structure (3/16) comprising a semiconductor material (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6);
a layer of material (5/10) on the layered structure (3/16) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6); and
a substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) extending into at least a portion of the layer of material (5/10) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6),
wherein a region of the layer of material (5) in proximity to the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) comprises a plurality of crystals having an average grain size or an average grain density that is different from another region of the layer of material (10) that is further away from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) than the region, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals is at a distance (D) of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers laterally from the substrate feature, and wherein the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) is an interconnect (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]).
The prior arts of record do not anticipate and do not render obvious such limitations of Claim 1 as: "wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals is at a distance of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers laterally from the substrate feature, and wherein the substrate feature is an interconnect.”
Claims 3-18 are allowed for the same reasons as claim 1, from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-26, 29, 31-33, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer et al. (U.S. 2007/0001319 A1, hereinafter refer to Bauer).
Regarding Claim 21: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a layered structure (3 and 16) comprising a semiconductor material (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above);
a layer of material (5/10) on the layered structure (3 and 16), wherein the layer of material (5/10) comprises a keyhole (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above); and
a substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) extending into at least a portion of the layer of material (5/10) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above),
wherein a region (5) of the layer of material (5/10) in proximity to the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) comprises a plurality of crystals having an average grain size or an average grain density that is different from another region of the layer of material (10) that is further away from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) than the region (5), and wherein the keyhole is disposed within the layer of material (5/10) at a distance (D) of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]).
Regarding Claim 22: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals is at a distance (D) of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers from an edge of the semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]).
Regarding Claim 23: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the average grain size of the plurality of crystals increases with distance in a direction away from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, or a trench) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 24: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein a region (5) of the layer of material (5/10) in proximity to an interface between the layer of material (5/10) and the layered structure (3 and 16) comprises a plurality of crystals having an average grain size or an average grain density that is different from another region of the layer of material (10) that is further away from the interface (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 25: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 24 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals is at a distance of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers from the interface (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 26: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 25 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the average grain size of the plurality of crystals increases with distance in a direction away from the interface or increases in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate feature (a die street, a via, or a trench) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 29: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the average grain size is an average crystal grain diameter, and the average crystal grain diameter of the plurality of crystals is from about 10 nanometers to about 2,000 nanometers ( 0.1 nm and 100 nm) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0031]).
Regarding Claim 31: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the substrate feature is a die street, a via, or a trench (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 32: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the substrate feature is at the edge of the semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 33: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein at least one device (18/3) on the layered structure (16/3) or the layer of material (5/10) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 35: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the layer of material (5/10) comprises diamond (note: metal oxide such as MOx, VOx, WOx, etc and carbides and carbonitrides considered as a diamond base metal oxide materials) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0034]- ¶ [0035]).
Regarding Claim 36: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 21 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein the substrate feature (2) comprises silicon (plastics composition) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 37: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a layered structure (16/3) comprising a semiconductor material (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above);
a layer of material (5/10) on the layered structure (3/16) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above); and
a substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) extending into at least a portion of the layer of material (5/10) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above),
wherein a region (5) of the layer of material in proximity to the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) comprises a plurality of crystals having an average grain size or an average grain density that is different from another region of the layer of material (10) that is further away from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) than the region (5), wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals is at a distance (D) of less than or equal to about 100 micrometers laterally from an edge of the semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]).
Regarding Claim 38: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a layered structure (3/16) comprising a semiconductor material (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above);
a layer of material (5/10) on the layered structure (3/16) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above);
a substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) extending into at least a portion of the layer of material (5/10) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above); and
at least one device (18) on the layered structure (3/16) or the layer of material (5/10) at a distance (D) less than or equal to about 100 micrometers from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]),
wherein a region (5) of the layer of material (5/10) in proximity to the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) comprises a plurality of crystals having an average grain size or an average grain density that is different from another region of the layer of material (10) that is further away from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) than the region (5) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0031], and ¶ [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (U.S. 2007/0001319 A1, hereinafter refer to Bauer).
Regarding Claim 27: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as applied to claim 25 above. Bauer is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals forms a surface adjacent to the substrate feature having a surface roughness from about 20 nanometers to about 10 microns.
However, Bauer teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of crystals forms a surface adjacent to the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) having a surface roughness (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the ranges of surface roughness through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired adhesion because the ranges of surface roughness is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 28: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as set forth in claim 27 as above. Bauer further teaches wherein at least a portion of the surface comprises a plurality of voids in the material wherein a diameter of the plurality of voids varies in proportion with the average grain size of the material (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 34: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as applied to claim 33 above. Bauer is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the at least one device is at a distance less than or equal to about 100 micrometers from the substrate feature.
However, Bauer teaches wherein the at least one device (18) is at a distance from the substrate feature (a die street, a via, a trench, or a plastics composition 2) (see Bauer, Figs.2 and 6 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the distance of the at least one device from the substrate feature desired adhesion because the distance of the at least one device from the substrate feature is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (U.S. 2007/0001319 A1, hereinafter refer to Bauer) as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Francis et al. (WO 2020/263845 A1, hereinafter refer to Francis).
Regarding Claim 30: Bauer discloses a semiconductor structure as applied to claim 21 above. Bauer is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the semiconductor material is a wide-bandgap semiconductor material.
For support see Francis, which teaches wherein the semiconductor material is a wide-bandgap semiconductor material (see Hall, ¶ [0041]).
Bauer discloses the claimed invention except for the material of semiconductor material. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bauer and Francis to enable the known wide-bandgap semiconductor material for Bauer layered structure as taught by Francis in order to obtain an improved performance efficiency in high-power microwave devices, which can exhibit electron mobilities, breakdown voltages, and thermal conductivities, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812