DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 18/465,105 on November 12, 2025. Claims 1-19 are pending.
America Invents Act
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 8-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed limitations recite a connection of elements in a manner not taught by the prior art, specifically the particulars of the first openings, first and second extension parts and the structure of these parts relative to each other (see aspects of symmetry, adjacent, etc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2014/0111709 A1 ) in view of Kusunoki et al. ( US 2015/0346866 A1 ). Please note Kusunoki was cited in an Information Disclosure Statement.
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
A display apparatus ( [0003] discloses a touch screen panel ) comprising:
a display panel ( [0071] discloses a display device integrated as part of the touch screen panel ); and
a touch sensing unit on the display panel ( [0071] discloses the touch panel may be formed on the color filter substrate of the display device ), the touch sensing unit comprising:
a plurality of first touch sensing parts arranged with each other along a first direction ( Figures 3 and 4B, [0042] disclose touch electrode serials/mesh RS1 to RS3 which are arranged in a vertical/first direction (see MPR11, MPR21, MPR31, MPR41, etc). Figure 5 shows the adjacent Rx electrodes and the various branches cross and contact each other at the intersections, essentially bridge Rc (described below) );
a first conductive part located between adjacent ones of the first touch sensing parts along the first direction ( Figure 5, [0042] disclose a bridge Rc for connecting Rx electrodes in the vertical/first direction. To clarify, Rc is the connection aspect/part of the branch elements, which allows for the contact between Rx elements, i.e. at these/this intersection. [0050] provides more details on the electrical connection of the adjacent Rx electrodes through this Rc bridge (read as conductive). Figure 6 shows the bridge connection/intersection and [0055] discloses details on the contact holes at which the intersection are possible );
a plurality of second touch sensing parts arranged with each other along a second direction crossing the first direction ( Figures 3 and 4A, [0039] disclose touch electrode serials/mesh TS1, TS2, TS3 which are arranged in a horizontal/second direction (see MPT11, MPT12, MPT13, MPT14, etc), which cross the Rx electrodes ); and
a second conductive part located between adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts along the second direction ( Figure 4A shows the connections, such as from MPT11 to MPT12, from MPT12 to MPT13, etc (read as a conductive part as they electrically connect adjacent electrodes) ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the first conductive part comprises a first extension part comprising a plurality of sub-extension parts and extending parallel to each other, and having different lengths, and wherein all sides of the sub-extension parts integrally formed as part of a same first conductive part and extending parallel to each other extend over a same first touch sensing part from among the plurality of first touch sensing parts, across a same space between the same first touch sensing part and a same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts, and overlap the same first touch sensing part and the same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts in a plan view”.
As noted above, Figure 7A-7C, etc, shows various structure possibilities for the RC bridge. As Figure 5 shows, this center portion of the Rc bridge is overlaid on top of the area between adjacent Tx1 electrodes and adjacent Rx electrodes as well.
To clarify on the specifics of such connection patterns, in the same field of endeavor, touch panel connection patterns, Kusunoki teaches of a conductive layer 25 (akin to the RC bridge) which overlaps with vertical and horizontal components 23 and 24, respectively (akin to the first and second touch sensing parts). To clarify, the combination teaches:
“wherein the first conductive part comprises a first extension part comprising a plurality of sub-extension parts and extending parallel to each other, and having different lengths ( Kusunoki, Figure 4B, [0098] discloses the conductive layer 25 overlaps 23 and 24 at the bolded areas. To clarify, please note that for the overlap of 23, 25 comprises a plurality of horizontal segments which are parallel to each other and have different lengths (3 such sub-extension parts are shown in the top conductive layer 23) ), and wherein all sides of the sub-extension parts integrally formed as part of a same first conductive part and extending parallel to each other extend over a same first touch sensing part from among the plurality of first touch sensing parts ( Figure 4B shows the interpreted three parallel segments extend over one of, the top conductive layer 23. Furthermore, please note all of these interpreted sub-extension parts are one integral piece, i.e. not separated ), across a same space between the same first touch sensing part and a same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts ( Figure 4B shows the conductive layer 25 extending across a same space between 23 and 24 ), and overlap the same first touch sensing part and the same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts in a plan view ( Figure 4B show the overlap aspect of the conductive patterns on/over the conductive layers 23 and 24 )”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the connection pattern(s) of Kusunoki, with the motivation that Kim, Kusunoki, teach of a variety of designs for the connections/RC patterns and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a number of designs are possible to improve electrical characteristics between the sensing cells. Furthermore, Kusunoki teaches in [0098] that the overlapping conductive layer 25 allows for the capacitance of the capacitor to be increased, resulting in a stronger touch aspect.
Kim and Kusunoki teach in Claim 4:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first and second touch sensing parts have a mesh shape ( Figures 3 and 4A/4B, [0042], [0066] disclose the mesh aspects ),
wherein parts of the first conductive part overlap the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts ( As disclosed in the reasoning of Claim 1, Figure 5 shows the aspects of the Rc bridge overlapping the Tx touch aspects. As combined with Kusunoki, there is still an overlap between the various sensing cells, as shown in Figure 4B ), and
wherein in an area overlapping the first conductive part, the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts do not include mesh lines extending parallel to lines of the first conductive part. ( Figure 6 shows Rc and how it overlaps the Tx1 electrode. Please note that in this area, the mesh lines for Tx1 are not located here nor are they extending parallel, as shown. Kusunoki also shows the “same space” between the first and second sensing cells/conductive layers and the lack of mesh lines )
Kim teaches in Claim 5:
The display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the second conductive part has a mesh shape and the first conductive part does not overlap the second conductive part. ( As Figure 6 shows, as well as earlier figures, the second conductive parts, which are shown in Figure 3A, have the connection parts and this area, while having a mesh shape, does not overlap the Rc structure )
Kim teaches in Claim 6:
The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an insulation layer on the first conductive part, and wherein the plurality of first touch sensing parts, the plurality of second touch sensing parts, and the second conductive part are on the insulation layer. ( [0017]-[0018] disclose different express teachings, such as the bridge Rc being formed under the insulating layer or formed on the insulating layer. Figure 6 shows one such layout, but with the express teaching of forming the Rc bridge underneath the insulating layer, this claim limitation is then satisfied, considering the other limitations, regarding the Tx electrodes, are taught, as shown )
Kim and Kusunoki teach in Claim 7:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first conductive part further comprises a second extension part ( Figure 7C, [0066] disclose Rc2 (read as a second extension part). For reference, Kusunoki also teaches of multiple conductive portions/sub-extensions on the lower vertical/first sensing cell 23 as well ),
wherein the first extension part has a first opening, wherein the second extension part has a second opening and separated from the first opening ( [0055] discloses details on the contact holes at which the intersection are possible between the various electrodes and in general, a plurality of openings can be seen as defined by the shape of the Rc bridge, not simply in the middle cutout, but the sides, etc, would also reasonably constitute a plurality of openings as well (see area to the left of midpoint of Rc1 on the left side and area to the right of midpoint of Rc2 on the right side as examples of openings). Specifically, “an opening from among the plurality of openings” is defined as the left portion of the Rc bridges (left area of midpoint of Rc1). As Figure 5 shows, this center portion of the Rc bridge is overlaid on top of the area between adjacent Tx1 electrodes, i.e. overlapping the claimed “touch opening of a corresponding second touch sensing part”. Furthermore, this overlap is also evident from Figure 6 as well ), and
wherein the first opening of the first extension part overlaps one of adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts and the second opening of the second extension part overlaps an other one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts. ( As disclosed above, the first opening is interpreted as the area left of midpoint of Rc1 which overlaps the left Tx1 and the second opening is interpreted as the area right of midpoint of Rc2 which overlaps the right Tx1 )
Kim teaches in Claim 19:
An electronic device ( Figure 1, [0071] disclose a display device ) comprising:
an input device ( [0015] discloses a touch screen panel );
a display apparatus displaying an image corresponding to an input of the input device ( [0003] discloses a touch screen panel ); and
a housing accommodating the display apparatus ( Figure 1 shows a housing and respectfully, it is clear that there is a housing to hold the components ),
wherein the display apparatus comprises:
a display panel ( [0071] discloses a display device integrated as part of the touch screen panel ); and
a touch sensing unit on the display panel ( [0071] discloses the touch panel may be formed on the color filter substrate of the display device ), the touch sensing unit comprising:
a plurality of first touch sensing parts arranged with each other along a first direction ( Figures 3 and 4B, [0042] disclose touch electrode serials/mesh RS1 to RS3 which are arranged in a vertical/first direction (see MPR11, MPR21, MPR31, MPR41, etc). Figure 5 shows the adjacent Rx electrodes and the various branches cross and contact each other at the intersections, essentially bridge Rc (described below) );
a first conductive part located between adjacent ones of the first touch sensing parts along the first direction ( Figure 5, [0042] disclose a bridge Rc for connecting Rx electrodes in the vertical/first direction. To clarify, Rc is the connection aspect/part of the branch elements, which allows for the contact between Rx elements, i.e. at these/this intersection. [0050] provides more details on the electrical connection of the adjacent Rx electrodes through this Rc bridge (read as conductive). Figure 6 shows the bridge connection/intersection and [0055] discloses details on the contact holes at which the intersection are possible );
a plurality of second touch sensing parts arranged with each other along a second direction crossing the first direction ( Figures 3 and 4A, [0039] disclose touch electrode serials/mesh TS1, TS2, TS3 which are arranged in a horizontal/second direction (see MPT11, MPT12, MPT13, MPT14, etc), which cross the Rx electrodes ); and
a second conductive part located between adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts along the second direction ( Figure 4A shows the connections, such as from MPT11 to MPT12, from MPT12 to MPT13, etc (read as a conductive part as they electrically connect adjacent electrodes) ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the first conductive part comprises a first extension part comprising a plurality of sub-extension parts extending parallel to each other and having different lengths, and wherein all sides of the sub-extension parts that are integrally formed as part of a same first conductive part and extending parallel to each other extend over a same first touch sensing part from among the plurality of first touch sensing parts, across a same space between the same first touch sensing part and a same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts, and overlap the same first touch sensing part and the same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts in a plan view.”
As noted above, Figure 7A-7C, etc, shows various structure possibilities for the RC bridge. As Figure 5 shows, this center portion of the Rc bridge is overlaid on top of the area between adjacent Tx1 electrodes and adjacent Rx electrodes as well.
To clarify on the specifics of such connection patterns, in the same field of endeavor, touch panel connection patterns, Kusunoki teaches of a conductive layer 25 (akin to the RC bridge) which overlaps with vertical and horizontal components 23 and 24, respectively (akin to the first and second touch sensing parts). To clarify, the combination teaches:
“wherein the first conductive part comprises a first extension part comprising a plurality of sub-extension parts and extending parallel to each other, and having different lengths ( Kusunoki, Figure 4B, [0098] discloses the conductive layer 25 overlaps 23 and 24 at the bolded areas. To clarify, please note that for the overlap of 23, 25 comprises a plurality of horizontal segments which are parallel to each other and have different lengths (3 such sub-extension parts are shown in the top conductive layer 23) ), and wherein all sides of the sub-extension parts that are integrally formed as part of a same first conductive part and extending parallel to each other extend over a same first touch sensing part from among the plurality of first touch sensing parts ( Figure 4B shows the interpreted three parallel segments extend over one of, the top conductive layer 23. Furthermore, please note all of these interpreted sub-extension parts are one integral piece, i.e. not separated ), across a same space between the same first touch sensing part and a same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts ( Figure 4B shows the conductive layer 25 extending across a same space between 23 and 24 ), and overlap the same first touch sensing part and the same one of the adjacent ones of the second touch sensing parts in a plan view ( Figure 4B show the overlap aspect of the conductive patterns on/over the conductive layers 23 and 24 )”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the connection pattern(s) of Kusunoki, with the motivation that Kim, Kusunoki, teach of a variety of designs for the connections/RC patterns and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a number of designs are possible to improve electrical characteristics between the sensing cells. Furthermore, Kusunoki teaches in [0098] that the overlapping conductive layer 25 allows for the capacitance of the capacitor to be increased, resulting in a stronger touch aspect.
7. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al.
( US 2014/0111709 A1 ) and Kusunoki et al. ( US 2015/0346866 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Huang et al. ( US 2015/0029423 A1 ).
As per Claim 2:
Kim does not explicitly teach of “a pixel; and a thin encapsulation layer on the pixel, wherein the thin encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of insulation layers and the first conductive part is located directly on an uppermost insulating layer of the insulating layers.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, integrated touch displays, Huang teaches of a touch panel which is overlaid on top of an OLED display, ( Haung, Figure 1, [0027] ). In particular, the OLED display (which is well known to have pixels), is overlaid with an encapsulation cover, embodied as a substrate (read as a thin encapsulation layer). Furthermore, on top of this structure/encapsulation layer are the touch aspects, shown in Figure 3, [0029], which include a plurality of sensing units 110 (akin to Kim’s two electrode patterns). As shown, both types of Kim’s electrode patterns are shown in Figure 2, and are simply labeled as 110. As shown in Figure 3, the bridge wire 130 (akin to Kim’s RC element) is shown with the sensing unit 110 (which would naturally include the sensing parts, connecting wires 120 (akin to Kim’s second conductive part as it connects the electrodes in the opposite direction), on top of the bridge wires (again, interpreted as the first conductive part). Furthermore, encapsulation layers are well known to have a plurality of organic and inorganic insulation layers to provide effective sealing. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the structure layout, as taught by Huang, with the motivation that the impedance of the bridge wire can be set so that the sensing units can accurately obtain signals, ( Huang, [0006]-[0007] ). Furthermore, encapsulation aspects are well known in the art for protecting the OLED elements.
Kim teaches in Claim 3:
The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first conductive part is located directly on the thin encapsulation layer, and the first and second touch sensing parts and the second conductive part are on the first conductive part. ( Respectfully, Huang teaches of an encapsulation layer on top of the OLED aspects and Kim teaches in Figure 8 of a touch sensor TS on top of the OLED and as combined, the encapsulation layer would be in between. Thus, the touch sensor would be located directly on top of the encapsulation layer )
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, notably citing the Kusunoki reference. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621