DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-10 in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/9/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 2024/0122048 A1) .
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding independent claim 1, Seo et al. (‘048) teaches in figures 3, 12, 15, and the corresponding text, a display device (1000) comprising: a light emitting element (EML) disposed on a substrate (1) and including an emission layer (EMLb and EMLg); and a light controller (10) disposed over the light emitting element, wherein the light controller includes: light blocking patterns (BL) to extend in a first direction (BLa and Blb) and spaced apart in a second direction (BLc see paragraph 0097) intersecting the first direction; and a transmission portion (T) disposed between the light blocking patterns to extend in the first direction, and the transmission portion includes: a first transparent organic layer (TOLa); a transparent inorganic layer (TIL) disposed on the first transparent organic layer; and a second transparent organic layer (TOLb) disposed on the transparent inorganic layer.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Seo et al. (‘048) teaches in figure 12 the transparent inorganic layer (TIL) contacts an upper surface of the first transparent organic layer (TOLa) and a lower surface of the second transparent organic layer (TOLb).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2024/0122048 A1), of record above, in view of Chiu et al. (US 6,398,370).
Regarding claim 2, Seo et al. (‘048) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a cross-section of the first transparent organic layer has a substantially forward tapered shape.
Further regarding claim 2, Chiu et al. (‘370) teaches in figure 1 and the corresponding text, a cross section of the light transmission portion (100A) (corresponding to the first transparent organic layer of Seo) has a substantially forward tapered shape for the purpose of improving the light reflection from the emitters and thus improve the brightness of the display.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the substantially forward tapered shape of the light transmission portion of Chiu in the display of Seo for the purpose of improving the light reflection from the emitters and thus improve the brightness of the display.
Regarding claim 3, Chiu et al. (‘370) teaches the second transparent organic layer has a substantially quadrangular or a substantially reverse tapered cross-section.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Chiu et al. (‘370) teaches a cross-section of the first transparent organic layer has a substantially reverse tapered shape, and a cross-section of the second transparent organic layer has a substantially forward tapered shape.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, Chiu et al. (‘370) teaches the light blocking patterns (102B) have a substantially reverse tapered lower cross-section.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 7, Chiu et al. (‘370) teaches the light blocking patterns have a substantially diamond or substantially hourglass shape in a cross-sectional view.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2024/0122048 A1), of record above.
Regarding claims 8-10 Seo (‘048) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the claimed height and density ranges.
However, Seo (‘048) does teach throughout the text the general parameters of the thickness of the organic, inorganic, and light blocking layers, depending upon the size of the display and the intended amount of light that is desired to be transmitted of blocked. Therefore, the actual thickness is an obvious choice in design.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the thickness of Seo for the purpose controlling the amount of light desired to be transmitted of blocked. Therefore, the actual thickness is an obvious choice in design.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8,395,569 and US 2005/0140285 disclose the state of the art for a light control layer for a display device.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875