DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/12/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9-11, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., CN 111613645.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches (at least in Figures 4 and 8) a light-emitting display device (1) comprising: a light-emitting diode (ED1, ED2, ED3) that emits blue light and green light (English translation of spec regarding Figure 7, EL1 can be configured to emit blue light and EL2 can be configured to emit green light); a color conversion layer on the light-emitting diode (331, 333, 335); and a scattering absorption layer (341, 343, 345) that transmits blue light and green light (343 and 345 transmit green and blue light color) and disposed between the color conversion layer (331, 333, 335) and the light-emitting diode (ED1, ED2, ED3, see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches (Figure 4) the light-emitting diode comprises a first light-emitting diode (ED1), a second light-emitting diode (ED2), and a third light-emitting diode (ED3), the color conversion layer comprises a red color conversion layer (3413) overlapping the first LED, and a green color conversion layer (3433) overlapping the second light-emitting diode, and the light emitting display device comprises a transmission layer (3451) overlapping the third light-emitting diode.
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 4 and further teaches (see Figure 4) the scattering absorption layer (341, 343, 345) overlaps the red color conversion layer (331), the green color conversion layer (333), and the transmission layer (335).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 7 and further teaches the scattering absorption layer is a film (film 341, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 4 and further teaches a bank part disposed between the red color conversion layer, the green color conversion layer, and the transmission layer and including a black pigment (Figure 4, light blocking member 320 and bank OC).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 10 and further teaches an upper substrate (310), a red color filter (331) disposed between the upper substrate and the red color conversion layer (see Figure 4); a green color filter (333) disposed between the upper substrate and the green color conversion layer (see Figure4); and a blue color filter (335) disposed between the upper substrate and the transmission layer (Examiner considers that the scattering absorption layer may also contain the color conversion layer in QDs 3413 and 3433, therefore the layers 331, 333 and 335 may be considered separate color filters in addition to a color conversion layer).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 11 and further teaches a light blocking member (320, Figure 4) disposed between the red color filter (331), the green color filter (333), and the blue color filter (335). Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a lower display panel (110) on which the light-emitting diode (ED1, ED2, ED3) is disposed; and an upper display panel (310) comprising the color conversion layer and the scattering absorption layer (341, 343, 345 and 331, 333, 335), wherein the upper display panel and the scattering absorption layer are formed of a same material (upper display panel 310 is transparent plastic, and scattering absorption layer 3411 is transparent epoxy resin which is also plastic), and the upper display panel further comprises a spacer that maintains a constant gap between the lower display panel and the upper display panel (Figure 16, spacer 92a).
Regarding claim 16, Sun teaches a light-emitting display panel (Figure 4) comprising: a light-emitting diode (ED1, ED2, ED3) that emits blue light (English translation of spec regarding Figures 6-8, blue EL layers); a color conversion layer on the light-emitting diode (331, 333, 335); and a scattering absorption layer (341, 343, 345) disposed between the color conversion layer and the light-emitting diode (see Figure 4), and comprising a blue color filter (335), wherein the light-emitting diode comprises: an anode (AE3); a cathode (CE); and three emission layers (Figure 8, EL1, EL2, EL3) that emit blue light and disposed between the anode and the cathode (see Figure 8 and English translation of spec regarding description of Figures 7 and 8 that each EL1-EL3 may emit blue light).
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 16 and further teaches the light-emitting diode comprises a first light-emitting diode (ED1), a second light-emitting diode (ED2), and a third light-emitting diode (ED3), the color conversion layer comprises a red color conversion layer overlapping the first light-emitting diode (331), and a green color conversion layer overlapping the second light-emitting diode (333), the light emitting display device further comprises a transmission layer (3451) overlapping the third light-emitting diode, and the scattering absorption layer overlaps the red color conversion layer (341).
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 18 and further teaches an upper substrate (310), a red color filter (331) disposed between the upper substrate and the red color conversion layer; a green color filter (333) disposed between the upper substrate and the green color conversion layer; and a blue color filter (335) disposed between the upper substrate and the transmission layer (Note: it is the position of the examiner that the color conversion layer may also include the scattering absorption layer 341 and 343 comprising QD 3413 and 3433 converting emission color).
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 16 and further teaches a lower display panel (110) on which the light-emitting diode (ED) is disposed; and an upper display panel (310) comprising the color conversion layer and the scattering absorption layer (331 and 341, 333 and 343, 335 and 345), wherein the upper display panel and the scattering absorption layer are formed of a same material as the scattering absorption layer (upper display panel 310 is comprised of transparent plastic and scattering absorption layer 3411 is comprised of transparent epoxy resin which is also plastic), and the upper display panel further comprises a spacer (Figure 16, spacer 92a) that maintains a constant gap between the lower display panel and the upper display panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun.
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches the invention as explained above and further teaches an anode (Figures 4 and 8, AE1, AE2, AE3); a cathode (CE); and three emission layers (EL1, EL2, EL3) that emit blue light (English translation spec regarding Figures 7 and 8, EL1-3 emit blue light), the emission layers disposed between the anode and the cathode (see Figure 8, EL1, EL2 and EL3 are disposed between AE1 and CE). Sun fails to teach an emission layer that emits green light in conjunction with the three blue emission layers. However, it was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to understand well known principals of color mixing, and it is the position of the Examiner that lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an ordinary matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a variety of color combinations for the various EL layers within an OLED to achieve a desired emission result.
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, and further teaches the scattering absorption layer has a high light transmittance in a visible range (English translation of spec regarding first matrix resin 3411 must have high light transmittance). Although Sun fails to specifically disclose that the transmittance must be about 50% or higher in the visible wavelength band, it is the position of the Examiner that based on the teaching of Sun and the level of ordinary skill in the art and lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to determine the necessary light transmittance range of the scattering layer to ensure appropriate display brightness.
Regarding claim 17, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 16, and further teaches the scattering absorption layer has a high light transmittance in a visible range (English translation of spec regarding first matrix resin 3411 must have high light transmittance). Although Sun fails to specifically disclose that the transmittance must be about 50% or higher in the visible wavelength band, it is the position of the Examiner that based on the teaching of Sun and the level of ordinary skill in the art and lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to determine the necessary light transmittance range of the scattering layer to ensure appropriate display brightness.
Claim 5, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Liu et al., WO 2016/115775.
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches the invention as explained above and further teaches the scattering absorption layer overlaps the red color conversion layer (341 overlaps 331, see Figure 4). Sun is silent as to the scattering absorption layer that overlaps the red color conversion layer comprising a cyan color filter. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices comprising color filters, Liu teaches that cyan light may be filtered through blue, green and red filters to become green and red lights in order to achieve a color display (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a cyan color filter in the scattering absorption layer of the Sun device in order to allow for one consistent scattering absorption layer instead of requiring three different layers, thereby simplifying the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 4 and further teaches the scattering absorption layer (343, Figure 4) overlaps the green color conversion layer (333). Sun is silent as to the scattering absorption layer comprising a cyan color filter. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices comprising color filters, Liu teaches that cyan light may be filtered through blue, green and red filters to become green and red lights in order to achieve a color display (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a cyan color filter in the scattering absorption layer of the Sun device in order to allow for one consistent scattering absorption layer instead of requiring three different layers, thereby simplifying the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 7. However, Sun is silent as to the scattering absorption layer comprising a cyan color filter. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices comprising color filters, Liu teaches that cyan light may be filtered through blue, green and red filters to become green and red lights in order to achieve a color display (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a cyan color filter in the scattering absorption layer of the Sun device in order to allow for one consistent scattering absorption layer instead of requiring three different layers, thereby simplifying the manufacturing process.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of An et al., US 20210328107.
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 11, but is silent as to the color filters overlapping each other in the light blocking area. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices comprising color filters, An teaches a light blocking area in which the red color filter, green color filter and blue color filter overlap each other, wherein the blue color filter among the red color filter, the green color filter, and the blue color filter in the light blocking area is closest to the upper substrate (Figure 3, light blocking member 220, color filters 230R, 230G and 230B, wherein 230B is closest to the upper substrate 550 in the overlapping area). Further, it would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that overlapping layers in the light blocking area would prevent light leaking due to gaps between the color filters and the light blocking member. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to overlap the color filters in the light blocking area to further ensure against loss of display quality due to light leaking.
Regarding claim 13, Sun and An teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 12, and Sun further teaches the light emitting display device further comprises a low refractive index layer disposed between the red color filter and the red conversion layer, between the green color filter and the green color conversion layer, and between the blue color filter and the transmission layer (Figure 4, epoxy resin 3411, 3431, 3451). Sun is silent as to the light blocking area corresponding to the overlapping part of the color filters. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices comprising color filters, An teaches the light blocking area corresponds to an overlapping part of the red color filter, the green color filter and the blue color filter (Figure 3, light blocking member 220, color filters 230R, 230G and 230B, wherein 230B is closest to the upper substrate 550 in the overlapping area). Further, it would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that overlapping layers in the light blocking area would prevent light leaking due to gaps between the color filters and the light blocking member. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to overlap the color filters in the light blocking area to further ensure against loss of display quality due to light leaking.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oh et al., WO 2020/141650 teaches a stacked OLED display device comprising a scattering absorption layer and color conversion layer to reduce reflection of external light.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875