DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is a duplication of phrase “after the nucleation” in the claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min-Feng Hung, (hereinafter HUNG), US 20220148919 A1, in view of Kohichi Satoh, (hereinafter SATOH), US 20130137262 A1, and further in view of Srinivas Gandikota et al, (hereinafter GANDIKOTA), US 20060128150 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, HUNG teaches a manufacturing method of a memory device (Figs. 1A-1I, a method of fabricating a three-dimensional memory device, [0009]), comprising:
providing a substrate (Fig. 1H, 100, in R1, memory array region);
forming a stacked structure (Fig. 1H, 101′, in R1, memory array region) on the substrate, wherein the stacked structure comprises a plurality of first material layers (Fig. 1H, 102, in R1, memory array region) and a plurality of second material layers (Fig. 1H, 104, in R1, memory array region) alternately stacked on each other;
patterning (Fig. 1H, a patterning process, in R1, memory array region [0034]) the stacked structure to form a first opening (Fig. 1H, 108, in R1, memory array region [0034]) in the stacked structure;
forming a charge storage structure (Fig. 1H, in R1, memory array region [0034]) on a sidewall of the first opening (Fig. 1H, in R1, memory array region [0035]);
forming a channel layer (Fig. 1H, 110, in R1, memory array region [0036]) on the charge storage structure;
removing (Fig. 3A, in R1, memory array region, [0044]) the plurality of second material layers (Figs. 1H/3A, 104, in R1, memory array region, [0044]) to form a plurality of second openings layers (Fig. 3A, 121, horizontal opening in R1, memory array region, [0044]); and
forming (Fig. 3B, a conductive layer 122/124, barrier layer/metal layer in R1, memory array region, [0045]) a tungsten layer (Fig. 3B, 124, metal layer included tungsten (W), in R1, memory array region, [0045]) in the plurality of second openings (Fig. 3A, 121, horizontal opening in R1, memory array region, [0044]).
HUNG does not explicitly disclose a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: wherein the tungsten layer formed comprises: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation, and a bulk precursor in the bulk formation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, in at least one of the nucleation and the bulk formation, hydrogen flow is between 1000 and 20000 sccm.
SATOH teaches a manufacturing method of a memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), comprising:
wherein the tungsten layer formed (Fig. 1, tungsten film forming method, [0020], [0022]) comprises:
performing a nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]), a nucleation precursor (raw material, [0058], [0074]) in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide (Fig. 1, 74, tungsten hexafluoride, WF6, [0058], [0074]), hydrogen, and a reducing agent (Fig. 1, (78, hydrogen, H2), (77, SiH4; B2H6 as reducing gas), [0058], [0073-0075]), and
after the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; after adsorption process (Fig. 3D) using a gas containing a material to be formed as nuclei, [0020]), performing a bulk formation (Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), and a bulk precursor (raw material, [0058], [0074]) in the bulk formation Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]) comprising tungsten halide (Fig. 1, 74, tungsten hexafluoride, WF6, [0058], [0074]), hydrogen, and a reducing agent (Fig. 1, (78, hydrogen, H2), (77, SiH4; B2H6 as reducing gas), [0058], [0073-0075]),
in at least one of the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]) and the bulk formation Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), hydrogen flow is between 1000 and 20000 sccm (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified HUNG to incorporate the teachings of SATOH, such that a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: wherein the tungsten layer formed comprises: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation, and a bulk precursor in the bulk formation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, in at least one of the nucleation and the bulk formation, hydrogen flow is between 1000 and 20000 sccm. The said process of forming the tungsten nuclei and the hydrogen reduced main tungsten film demonstrated with the lowest resistivity because crystal grains of tungsten film are significantly grown in the H2 reduced film (SATOH, Fig. 11, [0159]).
Though SATOH teaches the main tungsten film formation after the nucleation of an initial tungsten film absorption process and an intermediate deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film formation process, HUNG as modified by SATOH does not explicitly disclose a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation.
GANDIKOTA teaches a manufacturing method of a memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), comprising: performing a nucleation (Fig. 1, 108, deposit a tungsten nucleation layer, [0032]), a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), and after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108), [0032], [0084-0085]), performing a bulk formation (Fig. 1, step 110, deposit a tungsten bulk layer on the tungsten nucleation layer, [0032-0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have HUNG as modified by SATOH to incorporate the teachings of GANDIKOTA, such that a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation, so that a tungsten nucleation layer (210) is cyclically deposited using alternating pulses of tungsten hexafluoride and diborane and the said technique of having nucleation tungsten layer before the formation of bulk tungsten layer has shown particularly utility when integrated with traditional bulk fill techniques to form features with excellent film properties (GANDIKOTA, [0120]).
Regarding Claim 2, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (Fig. 1, 100, process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), further comprising performing at least one time of soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]) after the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; after adsorption process (Fig. 3D) using a gas containing a material to be formed as nuclei, [0020]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing at least one time of soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Fig. 7, step 740, provide pulse of purge gas preferably argon or nitrogen, [0089]) after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108)/ 7(step 730), [0084]).
Regarding Claim 3, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (Fig. 1, 100, process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]) further comprising performing a plurality of times (Fig. 4, the crystallinity blocking tungsten film was performed after 15 seconds, after 70 seconds, after 140 seconds etc., [0080], [0165], [0221]) of the bulk formation (Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing a plurality of times of the bulk formation (Fig. 7, step 770, deposition cycle of steps 730 through 760, [0090]).
Regarding Claim 4, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 3.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]) comprising performing three times (Fig. 4, the crystallinity blocking tungsten film was performed after 15 seconds, after 70 seconds, after 140 seconds etc., [0080], [0165], [0221]) of the bulk formation (Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing a plurality of times of the bulk formation (Fig. 7, step 770, deposition cycle of steps 730 through 760, [0090]).
Regarding Claim 5, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 2.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), further comprising performing two times of the soak (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]) after the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; after adsorption process (Fig. 3D) using a gas containing a material to be formed as nuclei, [0020]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing two times of the soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Fig. 7, steps 740 and 760, provide pulse of purge gas, [0089]) after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108)/ 7(step 730), [0084]).
Regarding Claim 6, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
HUNG further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (Figs. 1A-1I, a method of fabricating a three-dimensional memory device, [0009]), further comprising forming a barrier layer (Fig. 3B, 122, barrier layer in R1, memory array region, [0045]) is further comprised before forming the tungsten layer (Fig. 3B, 124, metal layer included tungsten (W), in R1, memory array region, [0045]) in the plurality of second openings (Fig. 3A, 121, horizontal opening in R1, memory array region, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 7, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]), the hydrogen flow is 4000 sccm or more (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Regarding Claim 8, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the bulk formation (Step 6 of Fig. 2, Fig. 3F, deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), the hydrogen flow is 5000 sccm or more (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Regarding Claim 9, HUNG as modified by SATOH and GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 1.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the soak (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]), a nitrogen flow is between 100 and 6000 sccm (N2 flow rate: 0 to 4000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATOH, in view of GANDIKOTA.
Regarding Claim 10, SATOH a teaches the manufacturing method of a tungsten layer (Fig. 1, tungsten film forming method, [0020], [0022]), comprising:
performing a nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]), and a nucleation precursor (raw material, [0058], [0074]) in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide (Fig. 1, 74, tungsten hexafluoride, WF6, [0058], [0074]), hydrogen, and a reducing agent (Fig. 1, (78, hydrogen, H2), (77, SiH4; B2H6 as reducing gas), [0058], [0073-0075]); and
performing a plurality of times (Fig. 4, [0080], [0221]) a bulk formation (Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), and a bulk precursor (raw material, [0058], [0074]) in the bulk formation Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]) comprising tungsten halide (Fig. 1, 74, tungsten hexafluoride, WF6, [0058], [0074]), hydrogen, and a reducing agent (Fig. 1, (78, hydrogen, H2), (77, SiH4; B2H6 as reducing gas), [0058], [0073-0075]), wherein in at least one of the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]) and the bulk formation Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), hydrogen flow is between 1000 and 20000 sccm (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Though SATOH teaches the main tungsten film formation after the nucleation of an initial tungsten film absorption process and an intermediate deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film formation process, SATOH does not explicitly disclose a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation.
GANDIKOTA teaches a manufacturing method of a memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), comprising: performing a nucleation (Fig. 1, 108, deposit a tungsten nucleation layer, [0032]), a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), and after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108), [0032], [0084-0085]), performing a bulk formation (Fig. 1, step 110, deposit a tungsten bulk layer on the tungsten nucleation layer, [0032-0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified by SATOH to incorporate the teachings of GANDIKOTA, such that a manufacturing method of a memory device, comprising: performing a nucleation, a nucleation precursor in the nucleation comprising tungsten halide, hydrogen, and a reducing agent, and after the nucleation, performing a bulk formation, so that a tungsten nucleation layer (210) is cyclically deposited using alternating pulses of tungsten hexafluoride and diborane and the said technique of having nucleation tungsten layer before the formation of bulk tungsten layer has shown particularly utility when integrated with traditional bulk fill techniques to form features with excellent film properties (GANDIKOTA, [0120]).
Regarding Claim 11, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 10.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (Fig. 1, 100, process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), further comprising performing at least one time of soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]) after the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; after adsorption process (Fig. 3D) using a gas containing a material to be formed as nuclei, [0020]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing at least one time of soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Fig. 7, step 740, provide pulse of purge gas preferably argon or nitrogen, [0089]) after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108)/ 7(step 730), [0084]).
Regarding Claim 12, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device according to claim 10.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]) further comprising performing three times (Fig. 4, the crystallinity blocking tungsten film was performed after 15 seconds, after 70 seconds, after 140 seconds etc., [0080], [0165], [0221]) of the bulk formation (Steps 5-6 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3E-3F, deposition of crystallinity blocking tungsten film, 106 for blocking the crystallinity of the initial tungsten film; deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing a plurality of times of the bulk formation (Fig. 7, step 770, deposition cycle of steps 730 through 760, [0090]).
Regarding Claim 13, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the tungsten layer according to claim 11.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), further comprising performing two times of the soak (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]) after the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; after adsorption process (Fig. 3D) using a gas containing a material to be formed as nuclei, [0020]).
GANDIKOTA further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (method of depositing multiple layers of material to form an electronic device, [0028]), further comprising performing two times of the soak with at least one of nitrogen, hydrogen, deuterium and ammonia (Fig. 7, steps 740 and 760, provide pulse of purge gas, [0089]) after the nucleation (Figs. 1 (step 108)/ 7(step 730), [0084]).
Regarding Claim 14, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the tungsten layer according to claim 10.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the nucleation (Steps 3-4 of Fig. 2, Figs. 3C-3D, deposition of initial tungsten film, 104 for nucleation of tungsten is performed; an adsorption process is performed to form nuclei, 105, [0066], [0073-0074]), the hydrogen flow is 4000 sccm or more (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Regarding Claim 15, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the tungsten layer according to claim 10.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the bulk formation (Step 6 of Fig. 2, Fig. 3F, deposition of main tungsten film, [0074]), the hydrogen flow is 5000 sccm or more (H2 flow rate: 500 to 12000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Regarding Claim 16, SATOH as modified by GANDIKOTA teaches the manufacturing method of the tungsten layer according to claim 11.
SATOH further teaches the manufacturing method of the memory device (process of manufacturing a semiconductor device, [0003]), wherein in the soak (Figs. 1/4, 75/76, purge gas using N2/Ar gas, [0074], [0221]), nitrogen flow is between 100 and 6000 sccm (N2 flow rate: 0 to 4000 sccm (mL/min), [0082]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8101521 B1 – Figure 1
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Process flow chart showing relevant operations of methods for depositing nucleation tungsten layer and bulk tungsten layer.
US 20210242072 A1– Figure 10D
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Wet etching process is performed to remove all oxide-based layers (including the insulating layers, 104, the oxide insulating layer, 132, the hard mask layer, 110 and the cap oxide layer, 113).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812