CTNF 18/465,222 CTNF 99891 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by (US-20180358636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sato’ Regarding Claim 1 , Sato teaches a fuel cell system comprising: a fuel cell stack including a plurality of single cells being stacked (Sato, “ fuel cell on the most positive-electrode side and a negative electrode terminal of the fuel cell on the most negative-electrode side, out of a plurality of fuel cells laminated in the fuel cell stack 1.”, see [0077]) ; a dry-wet detection unit configured to detect a dry-wet state of the fuel cell stack (Sato, “ a wet/dry state of the fuel cell is detected, a wet/dry appropriate range in which the wet/dry state of the fuel cell during the idle stop operation is appropriate is set ”, see Abstract); and an operation control unit configured to control an operation of the fuel cell stack, wherein the dry-wet detection unit is configured to, when an operating condition in which the fuel cell stack is at a high temperature and at a high load is established (Sato, “ To that end, the controller 200 manipulates the wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 so that the degree of wetness of the fuel cell stack 1 is suitable for power generation within a range where the required power of the load device 5 can be ensured .”, see [0086]) (Sato, “ Normally, in the fuel cell system 100, the cathode gas flow rate, the cathode gas pressure, the anode gas circulation flow rate, the stack temperature (cooling water temperature) and the like are controlled such that the stack water balance becomes 0. Here, three parallel lines show relationships of the output voltage and the stack water balance of the fuel cell stack 1 when the flow rate of the cathode gas intermittently supplied (hereinafter, also referred to as an “intermittent cathode gas flow rate”) is equal ”, see [0116]), determine whether the fuel cell stack is in a deviation state, which deviates from an ideal dry-wet state, based on a physical quantity, wherein the physical quantity has a higher correlation with drying and wetting of the fuel cell stack than a temperature of the fuel cell stack (Sato, “ Specifically, the fuel cell stack 1 is understood to be dry if the cathode gas flow rate is high. Thus, if it is desired to dry the fuel cell stack 1 as in the present embodiment, a control to increase the cathode gas flow rate is a technique. If the supply amount of the cathode gas is small and the cathode gas is intermittently supplied as in the idle stop operation, the upper limit value of the output voltage at a timing of stopping the intermittent supply is increased as shown in FIG. 4. Since the generated water amount can also be suppressed in this way, the drying of the fuel cell stack 1 is further promoted .”, see [0117]), and the operation control unit is configured to perform, on detection of the deviation state, a reset operation to recover the dry-wet state (Sato, “ and it is determined whether or not the detected wet/dry state of the fuel cell is within the set wet/dry appropriate range. If the wet/dry state of the fuel cell is determined to be outside the set wet/dry appropriate range, the output voltage of the fuel cell is reset,”, see Abstract), subsequently, continue the reset operation, until a recovery condition, which is for determining whether the dry-wet state of the fuel cell stack is recovered, is established, wherein the operating condition is established when a current, which flows through the fuel cell stack, is equal to or higher than a reference current and when a temperature of the fuel cell stack is equal to or higher than a reference temperature and the dry-wet detection unit is configured to store, in a memory, the physical quantity when the operating condition is established and determine whether the recovery condition is established based on a change amount of the physical quantity with respect to the physical quantity stored in the memory (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). Regarding Claim 2 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 1, wherein the physical quantity includes at least one of a voltage of the fuel cell stack or an impedance of the fuel cell stack (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. ”, see [0161]). Regarding Claim 3 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 1, wherein the dry-wet detection unit is configured to determine whether the deviation state is established based on the physical quantity at a specific place in a plane of the single cell (Sato, “ Specifically, the wet/dry state detection unit 210 obtains the HFR of the fuel cell stack 1 measured by the impedance measuring device 6”, see [0091]) Regarding Claim 4 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an amount of oxidant gas, which is supplied to the fuel cell stack, to an amount of oxidant gas, which is theoretically required for power generation by the fuel cell stack, is an air stoichiometric ratio, a pressure of oxidant gas inside the fuel cell stack is an air pressure, and the reset operation is to perform at least one of a decrease in the air stoichiometric ratio or an increase in the air pressure (Sato, “ When the cathode gas is supplied to the fuel cell stack 1, the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 starts increasing. When this output voltage reaches the reset upper limit value set by the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270, the cathode gas supply control unit 280 stops the compressor 22 to stop the supply of the cathode gas ”, see [0127]) stack (Sato, “ Specifically, the fuel cell stack 1 is understood to be dry if the cathode gas flow rate is high. Thus, if it is desired to dry the fuel cell stack 1 as in the present embodiment, a control to increase the cathode gas flow rate is a technique. If the supply amount of the cathode gas is small and the cathode gas is intermittently supplied as in the idle stop operation, the upper limit value of the output voltage at a timing of stopping the intermittent supply is increased as shown in FIG. 4. Since the generated water amount can also be suppressed in this way, the drying of the fuel cell stack 1 is further promoted .”, see [0117]). Regarding Claim 5 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, wherein the reset operation is to decrease the air stoichiometric ratio when a predetermined condition is established after the air pressure is increased (Sato, “ When the cathode gas is supplied to the fuel cell stack 1, the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 starts increasing. When this output voltage reaches the reset upper limit value set by the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270, the cathode gas supply control unit 280 stops the compressor 22 to stop the supply of the cathode gas ”, see [0127]) (Sato, “ Further, the operating state detection unit 220 obtains the cathode gas flow rate data detected by the flow rate sensor 23 and the cathode gas pressure data detected by the pressure sensor 24 and detects an operating state of the cathode gas supplying/discharging device 2 ”, see [0094]). Regarding Claim 6 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, wherein the reset operation is to increase the air pressure when a predetermined condition is established after the air stoichiometric ratio is decreased (Sato, “ When the cathode gas is supplied to the fuel cell stack 1, the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 starts increasing. When this output voltage reaches the reset upper limit value set by the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270, the cathode gas supply control unit 280 stops the compressor 22 to stop the supply of the cathode gas ”, see [0127]) (Sato, “ The controller 200 controls the flow rate and pressure of the cathode gas to be supplied to the fuel cell stack 1 by controlling the compressor 22 and the cathode pressure control valve 26 according to the operating state of the fuel cell system 100 .”, see [0083]). Regarding Claim 7 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, wherein the reset operation is a gradual change operation to continuously change at least one of the air stoichiometric ratio or the air pressure (Sato, “ In this example, when the wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 reaches the lower limit value of the wet/dry appropriate range (see FIG. 22D), the cathode gas supply control unit 280 continuously supplies the cathode gas to the fuel cell stack 1 ”, see [0275]). Regarding Claim 8 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, wherein in the reset operation, a change amount of at least one of the air stoichiometric ratio or the air pressure is controlled based on an output voltage of the fuel cell stack, such that a decrease in the output voltage is suppressed (Sato, “ the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 may decrease the currently set reset upper limit value gradually or in a stepwise manner if necessary so that the reset upper limit value becomes equal to or lower than the open circuit voltage of the fuel cell stack 1. In this way, the wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 can be controlled to the wet/dry appropriate range set by the wet/dry appropriate range setting unit 240 without increasing (drying) the wet/dry state beyond the upper limit value.”, see [0129])(The examiner notes that the control suppresses decreases not eliminates them). Regarding Claim 9 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, further comprising: an oxidant gas supply unit configured to supply oxidant gas to the fuel cell stack, wherein in the reset operation, a change amount of at least one of the air stoichiometric ratio or the air pressure is controlled based on a load of the oxidant gas supply unit, such that an increase in the load of the oxidant gas supply unit is suppressed (Sato, “ When the cathode gas is supplied to the fuel cell stack 1, the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 starts increasing. When this output voltage reaches the reset upper limit value set by the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270, the cathode gas supply control unit 280 stops the compressor 22 to stop the supply of the cathode gas ”, see [0127]). Regarding Claim 10 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 4, further comprising: an oxidant gas supply unit configured to supply oxidant gas to the fuel cell stack (Sato, “ When the cathode gas is supplied to the fuel cell stack 1, the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 starts increasing. When this output voltage reaches the reset upper limit value set by the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270, the cathode gas supply control unit 280 stops the compressor 22 to stop the supply of the cathode gas ”, see [0127]), wherein in the reset operation, a change amount of at least one of the air stoichiometric ratio or the air pressure is controlled based on a total power or a calorific value, such that a decrease in the total power or an increase in the calorific value is suppressed (Sato, “ For example, the controller 200 calculates a target flow rate and a target pressure of the cathode gas, a target flow rate and a target pressure of the anode gas and a target temperature of the cooling water (target cooling water temperature) on the basis of the required power of the load device 5 .”, see [0085]) (Sato, “ An output signal of each of the flow rate sensor 23, the pressure sensor 24, the pressure sensor 37, the current sensor 51, the voltage sensor 52 and the impedance measuring device 6 and the required power of the load device 5 are input to the controller 200. These signals are used as parameters relating to an operating state of the fuel cell system 100 .”, see [0082]), wherein the total power is obtained by excluding a power consumption consumed by the operation of the fuel cell stack from a generated power of the fuel cell stack, and the increase in the calorific value is caused by the operation of the fuel cell stack (Sato, “ To that end, the controller 200 manipulates the wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 so that the degree of wetness of the fuel cell stack 1 is suitable for power generation within a range where the required power of the load device 5 can be ensured.”, see [0086]) Regarding Claim 11 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 1, wherein the operation control unit is configured to, after performing the reset operation, alternately repeat the reset operation and a normal operation, which has been performed before the reset operation (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). Regarding Claim 12 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 1, wherein the operation control unit is configured to, after performing the reset operation, switch from the reset operation to a normal operation, which has been performed before the reset operation, when the recovery condition is established (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). Regarding Claim 13 , Sato teaches the fuel cell system according to claim 12, wherein the physical quantity, when the operating condition is established, is an initial value, and the recovery condition is established when the physical quantity in the reset operation becomes equal to or less than the initial value (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). Regarding Claim 14 , Sato teaches a fuel cell system (Sato, “ A control method for fuel cell system capable of executing an idle stop operation is provided ”, see Abstract) comprising: a fuel cell stack including a plurality of single cells being stacked; and a processor configured to detect a dry-wet state of the fuel cell stack, control an operation of the fuel cell stack, determine, when an operating condition in which the fuel cell stack is at a high temperature and at a high load is established, whether the fuel cell stack is in a deviation state, which deviates from an ideal dry-wet state, based on a physical quantity, wherein the physical quantity has a higher correlation with drying and wetting of the fuel cell stack than a temperature of the fuel cell stack memory (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). , wherein the operating condition is established when a current, which flows through the fuel cell stack, is equal to or higher than a reference current and when a temperature of the fuel cell stack is equal to or higher than a reference temperature, perform, on detection of the deviation state (Sato, “ The operating state detection unit 220 obtains the stack output current data and stack output voltage data of the fuel cell stack 1 detected by the current sensor 51 and the voltage sensor 52 and detects output power of the fuel cell stack 1 by multiplying the stack output current and the stack output voltage.”, see [0093]), a reset operation to recover the dry-wet state, subsequently, continue the reset operation, until a recovery condition, which is for determining whether the dry-wet state of the fuel cell stack is recovered, is established, store, in a memory, the physical quantity when the operating condition is established, and determine whether the recovery condition is established based on a change amount of the physical quantity with respect to the physical quantity stored in the memory (Sato, “In the present embodiment, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value of the output voltage of the fuel cell stack 1 to the upper limit value before resetting on the basis of the comparison result obtained from the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260. Specifically, if the wet/dry appropriate range determination unit 260 determines that the current wet/dry state of the fuel cell stack 1 estimated by the wet/dry state detection unit 210 has reached the target degree of wetness or target wet/dry range set by the target wet/dry degree setting unit 290, the output voltage upper limit value resetting unit 270 returns the reset upper limit value to the upper limit value before resetting. ”, see [0161]). . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEAMUS PATRICK MCNULTY whose telephone number is (703)756-1909. The examiner can normally be reached Monday- Friday 8:00am to 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas A. Smith can be reached at (571) 272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 3 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 7 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 8 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 9 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 10 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 11 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/465,222 Page 12 Art Unit: 1752