Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes that “the pending claims are method claims directed towards a specific method of using a system rather than claims directed towards a system”. Examiner respectfully points out that the preamble is directed towards a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium, comprising instructions. The combination of prior art teaches the claimed instruction steps, as explained below.
Applicant argues that Cocuzza does not teach or disclose “control, during the recuperation phase, a second pressure release valve and/or a heating element of the steam generation device based on the target value and the measured value such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule”.
Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive. Cocuzza teaches of a control system (see Abstract) which controls valves (13, 14); wherein the opening and closing of valves is based on sensors (8, 9) receiving data regarding steam within the steam generation system reaching a suitable temperature and pressure (i.e. measured values reaching target values), and wherein upon reaching a suitable temperature and pressure, a valve is opened to dispense the steam (see at least [0031] and the prior art rejection provided below). Thus, Cocuzza teaches controlling, during a recuperation phase (i.e. a phase in which the steam is not being provided to the turbine), a second pressure release valve and/or a heating element of the steam generation device based on the target value and the measured value such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule.
Applicant then argues that the proposed combination of references “is inappropriate”, cites the MPEP which states “Rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated rationale with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness” (MPEP 2141.01 IV). However, Applicant has not pointed out any specific statement by Examiner provided in the obviousness statement. As previously stated, Examiner provides the following rationale for the combination of references:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sensing structures/capabilities as taught by Cocuzza into the invention of Boehm. Boehm conveys that the system is capable of maintaining a pressure and temperature for steam generation, but is silent regarding monitoring and controlling of these parameters, and Cocuzza complements and fills the silence of Boehm. Furthermore, one would be motivated to do so because Cocuzza provides monitoring which would permit adjustments as necessary to maintain stable steam production, adjust the system in response to changes in demand for steam production, and take corrective action or shut down the system in the event of an unstable or unsafe condition (see [0024]).
Examiner has also updated the prior art rejection in light of the amendments; please see below for further details. Thus, for the above stated reasons, Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive, and this action is made final herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm (US 6224461) in view of Cocuzza (US 20150059660).
Regarding claim 1, Boehm discloses a computer program product, comprising a computer-readable medium having instructions to cause one or more processors (See Figure 3 regarding computer and processor 40) to:
access a polishing process recipe comprising a steam delivery schedule comprising cycles of a recuperation phase and a dispense phase, the polishing process recipe stored as data in a non-transitory storage device (see polishing process disclosed in Col. 3, lines 36-60; see also Col. 4, lines 10-19; see computer and processor 40, Figure 3; see also Col. 6, lines 7-24 and 41-67);
cause a first valve (32) between an outlet of a steam generation device (see boiler 30) and an opening to open and close in accordance with the steam delivery schedule that alternates between the recuperation phase in which the first valve is closed and the dispense phase in which the first valve is open (see Figure 3, valve 32, boiler 30, line 31, manifold 38; see also Col. 6 lines 7-31 and 41-61);
receive from a sensor a measured value (see sensor 41, as well as Col. 6, lines 7-31 and 41-66);
control, during the recuperation phase, a heating element of the steam generation device such that the steam generation device is at a suitable operating level substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule (processor 40 is configured to control the pressure of the boiler 30; see also temperature compensating unit 22, heat manifold 28, Col. 5 line 66-Col. 6, line 20; see also Col. 6, line 53-Col. 7, line 5 regarding the opening and closing of the valve 32 and specifically bringing the boiler up to temperature before the valve 32 is opened; wherein Boehm discloses the temperature within the boiler 30 is raised to a sufficient degree, and that the pressure within the boiler is maintained, and the boiler 30 is prepared prior to opening the valve; see Col. 6 lines 45-48 and 53-61), and
based on the steam generation device being at the suitable operating level and the system calling for steam deliver, the system is configured to open the first valve during the dispense phase and close the first valve during the recuperation phase (Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 5).
Boehm discloses a polishing apparatus comprising a steam generating device which is heated and kept at a desired pressure, as well as a sensor for monitoring the temperature of the polishing belt 12. Steam is released by valve 32 when the heat generating device is operating at a desired pressure and temperature (to generate the steam), and the sensor determines that heating is necessary in order to bring the belt up to a desired temperature. Therein exists an operating temperature and pressure for the steam generating device; however, Boehm is silent regarding the specific control structures of the steam generating device.
Boehm does not explicitly teach the measured value received from the sensor is for a steam parameter of steam in the steam generation device, thus the one or more processors are configured to receive a target value for the steam parameter, and controlling a second pressure release valve based on the target value and the measured value such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule, and opening valve (32) based on the measured value reaching the target value.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to provide steam to a system, Cocuzza teaches of a tube configured to contain working fluid during transition from liquid to gas and also to contain the gaseous working fluid up to the maximum working pressure (see [0004]), and incorporates a pressure and a temperature sensor (8 ,9) which provide pressure and temperature signals to a controller (11) (see [0015-0016]).
The sensors are specifically configured to provide signals which are indicative of steam parameters of steam, and Cocuzza employs a first and second valve for circulating the steam until the temperature/pressure reaches a sufficient setpoint, i.e. a target value for the steam parameter and controlling the second pressure release valve based on the target value and the measured value such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule, and opening a valve based on the measured value reaching the target value (see [0022]; see also [0031]: wherein when it is determined that temperature and pressure is at a suitable number, valve 13 is closed and valve 14 is opened so as to provide steam; wherein the temperature within the chamber (7) can be measured directly; see [0027]; see also [0024], [0029], [0032-0034], [0037], [0044], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sensing structures/capabilities as taught by Cocuzza into the invention of Boehm. Boehm conveys that the system is capable of maintaining a pressure and temperature for steam generation, but is silent regarding monitoring and controlling of these parameters, and Cocuzza complements and fills the silence of Boehm. Furthermore, one would be motivated to do so because Cocuzza provides monitoring which would permit adjustments as necessary to maintain stable steam production, adjust the system in response to changes in demand for steam production, and take corrective action or shut down the system in the event of an unstable or unsafe condition (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein the steam parameter is steam temperature, the measured value is a measured steam temperature value, and the target value is a target steam temperature value (please see the combination statement as applied above, as well as Cocuzza: [0015], [0022], [0028], [0034], [0037], [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein the steam parameter is steam pressure, the measured value is a measured steam pressure value, and the target value is a target steam pressure value (please see the combination statement as applied above, as well as Cocuzza: [0015], [0022], [0028], [0034], [0037], [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to control the second pressure release valve such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened (please see the combination statement as applied above, as well as Cocuzza [0031]: see valves 13, 14, wherein Boehm also teaches of providing the steam once the boiler is at a satisfactory status, see Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 7).
Regarding claim 5, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to control the heating element such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Boehm: Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 7; see also Cocuzza: [0027-0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, 7, and 8 Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to control the second pressure release valve and/or the heating element such that the measured value reaches the target value before the first valve is opened (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, wherein Cocuzza teaches the data from the sensors and signals sent to the controller, which are incorporated into the invention of Boehm, wherein Cocuzza describes taking measurements at 10 readings per second in [0022], and several times per second in [0034]).
However, modified Boehm does not explicitly teach the timing is specifically less than 10 seconds (claim 6) or 3 seconds (claim 7) or 1 second (claim 8) before the first valve is open.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boehm to have the target value reached less than 10 seconds or 3 seconds or 1 second before the first value is opened since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Boehm would not operate differently with the claimed timing since Boehm already discloses the valve is opened once the boiler reaches a satisfactory state, and the device would function appropriately having the timing. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that target parameter “for example…can be reaches less than 180 seconds, e.g. less than 60 seconds, e.g. less than 30 seconds, e.g. less than 10 seconds, e.g. less than 3 seconds, e.g. less than 1 second before the valve is opened” (page 9, lines 28-31 of the Specification).
Regarding claim 12, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to receive a signal representing a temperature of a polishing pad from the sensor and to set the target value for the steam parameter based on the signal (Boehm: see sensor 41 sending data to the processor 40, see at least Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 22; see also Col. 4, lines 20-54 regarding a pad and belt; see also the combination statement as applied above).
Regarding claim 13, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to set the target value on a cycle-by-cycle basis (Boehm: see Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 5; see also Col. 2, lines 39-41; see also the combination statement as applied above).
Regarding claim 14, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to set the target value on a continuous basis through the cycle (Boehm: see Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 5; see also Col. 2, lines 39-41; see also the combination statement as applied above).
Regarding claim 15, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein the computer-readable medium instructions cause the one or more processors to:
based on control, during the recuperation phase, of the second pressure release valve and/or the heating element of the steam generation device based on the target value and the measured value such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule (please refer to the combination statement above regarding the control of valves and heating based on the temperature/pressure within the steam generating device of Boehm; see also Boehm: Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 20 and Col. 6 line 45-Col. 7, line 5; see also Cocuzza: [0022], [0031-0034]), substantially minimizing generation of steam within the steam generation device during the recuperation phase (Cocuzza: wherein maintaining a large reservoir of steam is considered less efficient and presents safety risks, see [0006] and [0034], [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein the computer-readable medium instructions cause the one or more processors to:
control, during the recuperation phase, the heating element to be turned off until, based on the target value and the measured value, turning on the heating element such that the measured value reaches the target value substantially just before the first valve is opened according to the steam delivery schedule (please refer to the combination statement above regarding the control of valves and heating based on the temperature/pressure within the steam generating device of Boehm; see also Boehm: Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 20 and Col. 6 line 45-Col. 7, line 5; see also Cocuzza: [0022], [0031-0034]), thereby substantially minimizing energy supplied to the heating element during the recuperation phase (Cocuzza: wherein the energy provided to the heat exchanger is regulated, see [0007]; see also [0018], [0022-0023], [0040]).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm (US 6224461) in view of Cocuzza (US 20150059660) and in further view of Hileman (US 5605487).
Regarding claim 9, Boehm in view of Cocuzza discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches comprising instructions to receive a signal to modify a flow rate of water through a water inlet to the steam generation device to keep a water level in the steam generation device (Boehm: wherein valve 34 is used to regulate the water flow into the boiler through water line 33, see Col. 6, lines 7-20).
However, modified Boehm is silent regarding determining how it is determined to allow water to flow into the boiler, i.e. modified Boehm does not explicitly teach the signal is from a water level sensor and, based on the signal from the water level sensor, keep the water level above the heating element and below the outlet.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Hileman teaches receive a signal from a water level sensor and to modify a flow rate of water through a water inlet to the steam generation device based on the signal from the water level sensor to keep a water level in the steam generation device above the heating element and below an upper set point (see Figure 13; see Col. 14, lines 27-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Hileman into the invention of modified Boehm. Boehm provides the basis and structure for incorporating a water level sensory but enabling the processor to control whether water is flowing into the boiler, and Hileman provides a manner in which to initiate or turn off the flow. One would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hileman to ensure the water level is sufficient for generating the desired amount of steam, i.e. not running dry, while also beneficially avoiding the risk of overfilling the chamber. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. water level sensors within the context of steam generators, to improve a similar device int eh same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Boehm in view of Cocuzza and Hileman teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein each cycle of the cycles corresponds to polishing of a single substrate (Boehm: wherein each wafer is processed independently; see also Col. 3, lines 50-60; wherein Col. 6, line 60-Col. 7, line 5 describe that the polishing device is brought up to temperature, then wafer(s) are processed, i.e. at least one wafer is processed in a cycle; wherein the temperature can be raised again by the steam engaging the device, i.e. another cycle for another wafer).
Regarding claim 11, Boehm in view of Cocuzza and Hileman teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Boehm further teaches wherein each cycle of the cycles consists of a single dispense phase and a single recuperation phase (Boehm: wherein Col. 6, lines 49-61 describe bringing the boiler up to a desired temperature, opening the valve to inject steam, then increasing the temperature of the belt while monitoring the temperature of the belt by sensor 41, then closing valve 32 when the desired temperature is reached, then commencing wafer processing; see also Col. 7, lines 6-22; wherein Col. 6, line 60-Col. 7, line 5 describe that the polishing device is brought up to temperature, then wafer(s) are processed, i.e. at least one wafer is processed in a cycle; wherein the temperature can be raised again by the steam engaging the device, i.e. another cycle for another wafer).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723