DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant submits that the prior art does not teach the newly amended limitations with regard to the distance between the transmission gratings the object and a displacement of the receiving grating. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the transmitters and receivers of Schaffner in at least figure 1 are clearly separate and each component of each is placed at different distances ([0028]) and displacements ([0003])within the system and in relation to the object. As such the rejection is believed to be proper and has been restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffner (US 20180356528, of record) herein after referred to as D1, as applied to claim 1 above; and further in view of Behzadi (US 11409000, of record) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor system for a vehicle, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); the LIDAR sensor system (100/200/300) comprising: a transmitter (12) comprising a transmit grating ([0029]; grating out-couplers) coupler configured to output a transmit beam (18); a receiver (22, 44, 46; and [0064]), comprising: a first receive grating coupler (30) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (16) by a first distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a first target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range from the lidar sensor system (10); and a second receive grating coupler (30’) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (26) by a second distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a second target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range; and an optic module (34 and 40) configured to: direct the transmit beam (18) for output towards an object ([0097]); receive a return beam (36 and 38) from reflection of the transmit beam (18) by the object ([0097]); and provide a first component of the return beam to the first receive grating coupler (30) and a second component of the return beam to the second receive grating coupler (30’).
D1 does not expressly disclose a birefringent displacer wherein the transmit and return beams both travel through the displacer providing a displacement of a first component by at least the first distance and a displacement of a second component by at least the second distance.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a range and velocity detection apparatus, in at least (figure 3); comprising a PBS 360, wherein the transmit and return beams are received and either transmitted or separated to the desired path through birefringence.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the single optic for transmitting and receiving light through with the ability to steer light along the desired path by means of displacement as taught by D2 for the purpose of combining optics and reducing the size of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the transmit beam (18) has a polarization ([0059]), and the optic module (34 and 40)is further configured to: rotate a polarization of the transmit beam (18) to a particular polarization ([0074-0075]); polarize the first component of the return beam such that a polarization of the first component (30) corresponds with the particular polarization of the transmit beam (18) ([0074-0075]); and polarize the second component (30’) of the return beam such that a polarization ([0074-0075]) of the second component is orthogonal ([0074-0075]) to the particular polarization of the transmit beam (18)
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); further comprising one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’) (Col. 13, Ln. 32- Col.14, Ln. 10), wherein the optic module (34 and 40) (34 and 40) is between the transmitter (12) and the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’) (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’), and wherein the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’) (14, 14’, 16) are configured to receive the transmit beam (18) directed by the optic module (34 and 40) and output the transmit beam (18).
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); further comprising a chip made from a III-V semiconductor material ([0076], [0083]; Si, SiON, SiO2), wherein the transmitter (12) and the receiver (22, 44, 46; and [0064]) are on the chip ([0076).
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the second target range ([0014]; different ranges) is greater than the first target range ([0014]; different ranges).
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the first target range ([0014]) is within a range ([0014]) of distances ([0028]; first and second distances) from the LIDAR sensor system (10) for which an expected signal to noise ratio (SNR) ([0122]) of determining range to or velocity of an object is greater than a threshold SNR ([0015]; mentions elimination of laser signal noise).
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the optic module (34 and 40) comprises: a displacer (44) positioned between the half-wave plate and the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’); and a second half-wave plate (112) positioned between the displacer and the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’).
D1 fails to expressly disclose a first half-wave plate positioned between the transmitter and the one or more scanning optics.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a first half-wave plate, in at least (Col. 5, Ln. 51-67) positioned between the transmitter (Col. 5, Ln. 51-67; optical drivers and the one or more scanning optics (Col. 5, Ln. 51-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, to provide the invention of D1, with the half-wave taught by the invention of D2, for the purpose of controlling the polarization of the light as it leaves the optical circuits.
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the optic module (34 and 40) comprises a collimator ([0073]) configured to collimate the transmit beam (18).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); further comprising at least one mixer (30, 30’) configured to output a signal based on a local oscillator signal (34 and 40) and at least one of the first component (28) of the return beam or the second component of the return beam (28’).
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein: the first distance ([0028]; first and second distances) corresponds to a time delay ([0030], and [0085]) associated with the first target range ([0028]) ; and the second distance ([0028]) corresponds to the time delay ([0030], and [0085]) and a displacement of the second component (28’) relative to the first component (28) by the optic module (34 and 40).
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein: the first receive grating coupler (30) receives at least about fifty percent of the first component (28) of the return beam (36); and the second receive grating coupler (30’) receives at least about fifty percent of the second component (28’) of the return beam (38).
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the birefringent displacer (44) made of LiNbO.sub.3 and has a thickness between about 0.53 millimeters and about 0.65 millimeters ([0082-0083]), the displacer positioned between the transmitter (12) and one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’) and configured to displace the second component (28’) of the return beam by between about 18 and about 22 micrometers ([0082-0083]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the transmitter (12) is on a chip and is configured to output the transmit beam (18) at an angle ([0011],[0081],[0103], and[0115]) out of a plane of the chip ([0083]).
With regard to claim 14, an autonomous vehicle control system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075], [0083]); comprising: a transmitter (12) comprising a transmit grating coupler (16 and 26) configured to output a transmit beam (18); a receiver (22, 44, 46; and [0064]) comprising a first receive grating coupler (30) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (16) by a first distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a first target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range from the lidar sensor system (10); and a second receive grating coupler (30’) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (26) by a second distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a second target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range; and an optic module (34 and 40) configured to: direct the transmit beam (18) for output towards an object ([0097]); receive a return beam from reflection of the transmit beam (18) by the object ([0097]); and direct a first component (28) of the return beam to the first receive grating coupler (30) and a second component (28’) of the return beam to the second receive grating coupler (30’); and one or more processors ([0083]) configured to: determine at least one of a range [0014]) to the object ([0097]) or a velocity ([0017]) of the object ([0097]) based on the first component (28) and the second component (28’); and control operation of an autonomous vehicle ([0056] and [0116]) responsive to the at least one of the range ([0014]) or the velocity ([0017]).
D1 does not expressly disclose a birefringent displacer wherein the transmit and return beams both travel through the displacer providing a displacement of a first component by at least the first distance and a displacement of a second component by at least the second distance.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a range and velocity detection apparatus, in at least (figure 3); comprising a PBS 360, wherein the transmit and return beams are received and either transmitted or separated to the desired path through birefringence.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the single optic for transmitting and receiving light through with the ability to steer light along the desired path by means of displacement as taught by D2 for the purpose of combining optics and reducing the size of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 15, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); further comprising a modulator configured to apply at least one of frequency modulation ([0039]) or phase modulation (42) to a beam that the transmitter (12) outputs as the transmit beam (18).
With regard to claim 16, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the transmit beam (18) is has a polarization, and the optic module (34 and 40) is further configured to: rotate a polarization of the transmit beam (18) to a particular polarization ([0059]); polarize the first component (28) of the return beam (36) such that a polarization of the first component (28) corresponds with the particular polarization of the transmit beam (18); and polarize the second component (28’) of the return beam (38) such that a polarization of the second component (28’) is orthogonal ([0074-0075]) to the particular polarization of the transmit beam (18).
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein: the first receive grating coupler (30) is spaced by a first distance from the transmitter (12), the first distance ([0028]) corresponding to a time delay ([0030], and [0085]) associated with a target range ([0028]) for detecting the object ([0097]); and the second receive grating coupler (30’) is spaced by a second distance ([0028]) from the transmitter (12), the second distance corresponding to the time delay ([0030], and [0085]) and a displacement of the second component relative to the first component by the optic module (34 and 40).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffner (US 20180356528, of record) herein after referred to as D1, further in view of Behzadi (US 11409000, of record) herein after referred to as D2, and still further in view of Mathews (US 20220187468, of record) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 18, an autonomous vehicle, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); comprising: a LIDAR sensor system (100/200/300), comprising: a transmit grating coupler (16) configured to output a transmit beam (18); a first receive grating coupler (30); a first receive grating coupler (30) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (16) by a first distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a first target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range from the lidar sensor system (10); and a second receive grating coupler (30’) spaced from the transmit grating coupler (26) by a second distance ([0028]; first and second distances) associated with a second target ([0097]; object distance and image distance) range; and an optic module (34 and 40) configured to: direct the transmit beam (18) for output towards and object ([0097]); receive a return beam (36 and 38) from reflection of the transmit beam (18) by the object ([0097]); and direct a first component (28) of the return beam (36) to the first receive grating coupler (30) and a second component (28’) of the return beam (38) to the second receive grating coupler (30’); a steering system ([0006]); and a controller ([0075] and [0083]) comprising one or more processors ([0075 and [0083]) configured to: determine at least one of a range ([0014]) to the object ([0097]) or a velocity of the object ([0097]) using the first component (28) and the second component (28’); and control operation of at least one of the steering system ([0006]) or the braking system responsive to the at least one of the range ([0014]) or the velocity ([0017]).
D1 does not expressly disclose a birefringent displacer wherein the transmit and return beams both travel through the displacer providing a displacement of a first component by at least the first distance and a displacement of a second component by at least the second distance.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a range and velocity detection apparatus, in at least (figure 3); comprising a PBS 360, wherein the transmit and return beams are received and either transmitted or separated to the desired path through birefringence.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the single optic for transmitting and receiving light through with the ability to steer light along the desired path by means of displacement as taught by D2 for the purpose of combining optics and reducing the size of the apparatus.
However, D1 in view of D2 fail to expressly disclose a braking system and vehicle controller; and control operation of the braking system responsive to the at least one of the range or the velocity.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an autonomous driving system, in at least ([0015], [0023] and [0035]) comprising a braking system ([0035]) and vehicle controller ([0035]); and control operation of the braking system ([0035]) responsive to the at least one of the range ([0038]) or the velocity ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, to provide the invention of D1, with the autonomous controls taught by the invention of D2, for the purpose of better utilizing a lidar system to man a vehicle autonomously.
With regard to claim 19, D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the LIDAR sensor system further comprises one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’), wherein the optic module (34 and 40) is between the transmit grating coupler (16) and the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’), and wherein the one or more scanning optics (14, 14’, 16, 26, 28, 28’) are configured to receive the transmit beam (18) from the optical module and output the transmit beam (18).
With regard to claim 20, D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a LIDAR system, in at least on of (figs. 1, 2; and [0059-0075]); wherein the LIDAR sensor system further comprises a chip ([0083]) made from a III-V semiconductor material, wherein the transmitter (12) and the receiver (22, 44, 46; and [0064]) are on the chip ([0083]).
Conclusion
/G.A.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872