DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As of the amendment filed 3/20/26, claims 21 and 22 have been added, claims 17 and 19 have been canceled, and claim 16 has been amended. Therefore, claims 1-18 and 20-22 remain pending, with claims 1, 8, and 16 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ends with “conductive”. It should end with “conductive feature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2023/0369111).
As to claim 16, Choi teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 18), comprises:
a substrate (110, fig. 1, [0021]);
a transistor over the substrate (, fig. 1, [0021]);
an interlayer dielectric layer (14) over the transistor (fig. 18, [0025]);
an inter-metal dielectric layer (24) over and in contact with the interlayer dielectric layer (14, fig. 18, [0026]);
a conductive feature (27-1 or 27-2) extending through the inter-metal dielectric layer (24, [0027]), wherein a top surface of the conductive feature is narrower than a bottom surface of the conductive feature (fig. 18); and
dielectric liners (26) on opposite sidewalls of the conductive feature (fig. 18, [0035]).
As to claim 18, Choi further teaches a dielectric constant of the inter-metal dielectric layer (24, low-k material, [0031]) is lower than a dielectric constant of the dielectric liners (26, SiN, [0035]).
As to claim 20, Choi further teaches the conductive feature (27-1 or 27-2) includes a trapezoid cross-sectional profile (fig. 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed and claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claims 1-15, see office action dated 12/23/25 for reasons for allowance.
As to claim 21, Choi fails to teach the bottom surface of the conductive feature, bottom ends of the dielectric liners, and a bottom surface of the inter-metal dielectric layer are coterminous.
Claim 22 is allowable at least because it depends from allowable claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
3/30/26