Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a minimum lateral distance between a first end surface of a p-doped region of the pn or pin junction and a second end surface of an n-doped region of the pn or pin junction is in a range from 0.5 to 3 times a diffusion length of at least one of the p-doped regions or the n-doped region must be shown due to being unclear in the drawings as to the lateral distances between the p and n-doped regions referred to in the limitation, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi et al. (US Patent Pub 20150014705 A1) in view of Sakurai et al. (US Patent Pub 20060215341 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaguchi teaches a power semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor body (Fig. 1, semiconductor body 1);
a wiring area over a first surface of the semiconductor body (Fig. 1, wiring area 15);
an active area in the semiconductor body (Fig. 1, active area 12)
a current sensing element including a pn or pin junction (Fig. 2, Current sensing element 102. Paragraph 0030 teaches 102 is part of 1. Paragraph 0051 teaches 1 can be a PN junction. Therefore, 102 can include a PN junction);
and an optical window configured to allow electromagnetic radiation caused by an on-current of the bipolar power semiconductor element to pass to the current sensing element (Kaguchi, Fig. 1 teaches an optical window (portion of 12 not including 102 and 101) that allows electromagnetic radiation (light) emitted by bipolar power semiconductor element 101 to propagate through the active body 12 to current sensing element 102).
Kaguchi fails to specifically teach a first load electrode in the wiring area, and a second load electrode at a second surface of the semiconductor body;
However, Sakurai teaches a bipolar power semiconductor device having a first load electrode in the wiring area, an active area in the semiconductor body, and a second load electrode at a second surface of the semiconductor body (Sakurai, Fig. 2, area above top surface of semiconductor body (102, 101, and 100) is the wiring area. First load electrode 121 in wiring area, active area 102, and second load electrode 122 at bottom surface of semiconductor body (102, 101, and 100)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakurai into the method of Kaguchi by forming the IGBT semicondcuctor device with the bipolar power semiconductor element having a first load electrode in the wiring area, an active area in the semiconductor body, and a second load electrode at a second surface of the semiconductor body. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving device response and reliability (Sakurai, paragraph 0046).
Regarding Claim 3, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the current sensing element is arranged in the wiring area (Sakurai, Fig. 2, a portion of current sensing element (region labeled sense IGBT) arranged in wiring area).
Regarding Claim 5, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a surface of the current sensing element is textured (Sakurai, Fig. 2. 121, which is part of current sensing element (region labeled sense IGBT) is above the semiconductor body (102, 101, and 100). Therefore, the current sensing element is textured).
Regarding Claim 7, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising deep level impurities in the current sensing element (Sakurai, fig. 2, layers 100, 101, and 102 are all doped regions containing deep level impurities).
Regarding Claim 11, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein an equipotential plane in the pn or pin junction is predominantly parallel to a vertical direction (Sakurai, Fig. 2. PN junction between 103B and 104B consists of two vertical portions and only one horizontal portion. Therefore, the equipotential plane at the PN junction between 103B and 104B is predominately parallel to a vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 26, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the optical window provides a direct path from the bipolar power semiconductor element to the current sensing element (Kaguchi, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 teaches optical window (portion of 12 between 101 and 102) allows light emitted from bipolar power semiconductor element 101 to travel in a direct path to current semiconductor element 102).
Claim(s) 2 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Moody (US Patent 5,726,481 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the optical window comprises semiconductor material of the semiconductor body (Kaguchi, Figs. 1 and 2 teach the optical window (portion of 12 between 101 and 102) is part of the semiconductor body 1 and therefore comprises semiconductor material of the semiconductor body).
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fails to teach the materials the optical window comprises a dielectric material arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body.
However, Moody teaches a IGBT power semiconductor device having a dielectric material arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body (Moody, Fig. 1 teaches dielectric material 2 arranged between the current sensing element D1 and semiconductor body 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Moody into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the IGBT power semiconductor device having a dielectric material arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view of Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of screening the sensitive element from electrical noise (Moody, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 21, Kaguchi in view of Moody teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the dielectric material is a local oxidation of silicon (LOCOS) arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body (Moody, Fig. 1 and Column 12 ln 7-8 teach the dielectric material 2 is formed of silicon dioxide, which is an dielectric arranged between current sensing element D1 and semiconductor body 10).
Furthermore, the limitation “local oxidation of silicon (LOCOS)” is being viewed as a descriptive label for the material layer and is not being given patentable weight. A layer being utilized as part of a local oxidation of silicon (LOCOS) is a process that would be viewed as a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.
Regarding Claim 22, Kaguchi in view of Moody teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the dielectric material is a shallow trench isolation (STI) arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body (Moody, Fig. 1 and Column 12 ln 7-8 teach the dielectric material 2 is formed of silicon dioxide, which is a dielectric material arranged between current sensing element D1 and semiconductor body 10).
Furthermore, the limitation “shallow trench isolation (STI)” is being viewed as a descriptive label for the material layer and is not being given patentable weight. A layer being utilized as part of shallow trench isolation (STI) is a process that would be viewed as a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.
Regarding Claim 23, Kaguchi in view of Moody teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the dielectric material is a planar dielectric arranged between the current sensing element and the semiconductor body (Moody, Fig. 1 and Column 12 ln 7-8 teach the dielectric material 2 is formed of silicon dioxide, which is a dielectric material that has a side that is planar arranged between current sensing element D1 and semiconductor body 10).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Wood (US Patent Pub 20160005732 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fails to specifically teach the device having the pn or pin junction is a monocrystalline or a polycrystalline or a nanocrystalline silicon pn or pin junction.
However, Wood teaches a power semiconductor device with a polysilicon pn junction (Wood, Fig. 4b-4c. Paragraph 0177 teaches 4b and 4c are polysilicon PN junctions. Paragraph 0034 teaches these PN junctions (or “emitters”) are coupled to the current sensing element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Wood into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the pn or pin junction is a monocrystalline or a polycrystalline or a nanocrystalline silicon pn or pin junction. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of achieve higher gain at higher current densities (Wood, paragraph 0177).
Claim(s) 6 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Cardwell et al. (US Patent Pub 20210020798 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fail to teach a power semiconductor device further comprising a reflection layer configured to reflect the electromagnetic radiation back into the optical window.
However, Cardwell teaches a power semiconductor device comprising a reflection layer configured to reflect the electromagnetic radiation back into the optical window (Cardwell, Fig. 2, reflection layers 113 and 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Cardwell into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the power semiconductor device having a reflection layer configured to reflect the electromagnetic radiation back into the optical window. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of defining a reflector for reflecting light within the device (Cardwell, paragraph 0076).
Regarding Claim 27, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and in further view of Cardwell teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the optical window provides an indirect path from the bipolar power semiconductor element to the current sensing element, and wherein the indirect path is based on reflections of the electromagnetic radiation by reflective elements over the first surface and over the second surface (Cardwell, fig. 2 teaches an reflective elements 113 and 114 over a first surface of 111 and a second surface of 101 configured to reflect electromagnetic radiation. The combination of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Cardwell would teach the optical window of Cardwell directing electromagnetic radiation (light) via an indirect path by utilizing reflective layers to direct light from the bipolar semiconductor element (Kaguchi, element 101) to the current sensing element (Kaguchi, element 102), both located in element 12 of Kaguchi).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Uchida et al. (US Patent Pub 20220216056 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the IGBT power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fails to teach the IGBT power semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor body is a silicon semiconductor body and the deep level impurities include at least one of selenium, sulfur, thallium, and zinc.
However, Uchida teaches an IGBT power semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor body is a silicon semiconductor body and the deep level impurities include at least one of selenium, sulfur, thallium, and zinc (Uchida, Fig. 22A, semiconductor body 10. Paragraph 0051 teaches 10 is formed of a semiconductor material such as silicon. Paragraph 0053 teaches 10 can be doped with selenium or sulfur).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Uchida into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the power semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor body is a silicon semiconductor body and the deep level impurities include at least one of selenium, sulfur, thallium, and zinc. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of tuning the power semiconductor device performance (Uchida, paragraph 0053).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Pub 20210202341 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fails to teach the current sensing element including a plurality of the pn or pin junctions connected in series or in parallel.
However, Kim teaches a power semiconductor device having a current sensing element including a plurality of the pn or pin junctions connected in series or in parallel (Kim, Fig. 7, current sensor element 22 including a plurality of pn junctions connected in series).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the current sensing element including a plurality of the pn or pin junctions connected in series or in parallel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of tailoring the forward voltage to a particular sensing circuitry (Kim, paragraph 0065).
Regarding Claim 10, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fail to teach a surface recombination reduction structure on a surface of the current sensing element.
However, Kim teaches a power semiconductor device having a surface recombination reduction structure on a surface of the current sensing element (Kim, Fig. 5, current sensing element (layers 54, 52, 58, 60, 50B, and 44). Paragraph 0060 teaches surface recombination reduction structure 58, which can be SiO2, is on a surface of the current sensing element. Paragraph 0036 of the Applicant’s own specification teaches that the surface recombination structure may include one or more thin dielectric layers of SiO2, therefore 58 is a surface recombination structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming a surface recombination reduction structure on a surface of the current sensing element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of providing the current sensing element with increased shielding (Kim, paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 24, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Kim, teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the surface recombination reduction structure comprises one or more layers of SiO2, SiN, or Al2O3 (Kim, paragraph 0060 teaches surface recombination structure 58 can be SiO2, therefore the surface recombination reduction structure comprises one or more layers of SiO2).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Kim as applied to claims 9-10 and 24 above, and further in view of Fay et al. (US Patent 5,025,298).
Regarding Claim 25, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Kim teach the power semiconductor device of claim 10.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Kim fail to teach the surface recombination structure has a thickness in a range from 1nm to 100 nm.
However, Fay et al. teaches a power semiconductor device with a sensing unit having a pn junction wherein the surface recombination reduction structure has a thickness in a range from 1 nm to 100 nm (Fay, Fig. 4 teaches surface recombination structure 140. Column 7 lines 3-5 teach 140 is formed of SiO2 and has a thickness between 30 nm to 80 nm, which is within the claimed thickness range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Fay into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai and Kim by forming the surface recombination structure having a thickness in a range from 1nm to 100 nm. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fay in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of providing a method for adjusting device characteristics such as thermal impedance (Fay, Column 6 lines 58-62).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi in view of Sakurai as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, and 26 above, and further in view of Laven et al. (US 20160352326 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Kaguchi in view of Sakurai teaches teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kaguchi in view of Sakurai fails to teach the current sensing element is thermally coupled to the semiconductor body of the power semiconductor device.
However, Laven teaches an IGBT semiconductor device wherein the current sensing element is thermally coupled to the semiconductor body (Laven, paragraph 0136 teaches all electrodes are thermally coupled to the semiconductor body, including the current sensing element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Laven into the method of Kaguchi in view of Sakurai by forming the power semiconductor device wherein the current sensing element is thermally coupled to the semiconductor body. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaguchi in view if Sakurai in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of better adjusting the electrical performance of the device (Laven, paragraph 0136).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that an illustration is not necessary for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that a minimum lateral distance between a first end surface of a p-doped region of a pn or pin junction and a second end surface of an n-doped region of the pn or pin junction may be in a range from 0.5 to 3 times a diffusion length of at least one of the p-doped region or the n-doped region. However, a minimum lateral distance between a first end surface of a p-doped region of the pn or pin junction and a second end surface of an n-doped region of the pn or pin junction is in a range from 0.5 to 3 times a diffusion length of at least one of the p-doped regions or the n-doped region must be shown due to being unclear in the drawings as to the lateral distances between the p and n-doped regions referred to in the limitation.
Applicant argues that Kaguchi does not teach the wide gap semiconductor material can be a PN junction diode. However, Paragraph 0030 teaches current sensing elemt 102 is part of the semiconductor body 1. Paragraph 0051 teaches 1 can be a PN junction. Therefore, 102 can include a PN junction.
Applicant also argues that that the optical window of Kaguchi is not configured to allow electromagnetic radiation caused by an on-current of Kaguchi’s IGBT main body to pass to the current sensing element. However, Kaguchi, Fig. 1 teaches an optical window (portion of 12 not including 102 and 101) that allows electromagnetic radiation (light) emitted by bipolar power semiconductor element 101 to propagate through the active body 12 to current sensing element 102.
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899