DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending.
The abstract submitted on 09/12/2023 is accepted.
The oath submitted on 09/19/2023 is accepted.
The drawings submitted on 09/12/2023 are accepted.
No IDS was submitted.
No foreign priority has been claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20240049027 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20250038906 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method (Lin FIG. 13), comprising: receiving a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration from a base station (Lin, [0290] a UE could be configured/indicated to report CSI to a base station) in a subband full duplex (SBFD) system (Lin, [0176] for CSI reporting, a UE can be configured via higher layer signaling with one out of two possible subband sizes, where a subband is defined as NPRBSB contiguous PRBs and depends on the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part),
the CSI resource configuration being associated with one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set including at least one CSI-RS resource (Lin, [0178 - 0179] a CSI Reporting Setting configuration defines a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the bandwidth part, where the reportFreqConfiguration indicates the csi-ReportingBand as a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part for which CSI shall be reported),
a CSI-RS resource distribution indicates one or more frequency domain starting position and one or more total number of resource blocks of one or more partition of the respective CSI-RS resource set in CSI transmission slots (Lin, [0232] the bandwidth and initial common resource block (CRB) index of a CSI-RS resource within a BWP are determined based on the higher layer parameters nrofRBs and startingRB, respectively);
performing a channel measurement based on the one or more CSI-RS resource set and the CSI resource configuration (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource); and
transmitting a CSI report to the base station based on the channel measurement slots (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource).
Lin does not expressly disclose the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution.
Park et al. for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Park et al., [0141] a mixed (UL/DL) slot/symbol-type may indicate a slot/symbol that can be used for both DL and UL, each being allocated with non-overlapping, independent RB(s) on the slot/symbol, e.g., for XDD/SBFD, where a gNB may schedule UL and DL resources to UEs within the UL and DL non-overlapping subbands, respectively) discloses the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution (Park et al., [0141] a UE may receive configuration of a first set of RBs, for performing CSI-RS measurement, and may receive an indication of a second set of RBs, as DL RBs applicable to XDD/SBFD symbols, where the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs and might not include all the RBs in the first set of RBs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution as taught by Park et al. with the system of Lin in order to configure non-contiguous RBs as a second configuration (Park et al., [0141]).
Regarding claim 2, Lin - Park et al. disclose the first CSI-RS resource distribution is a contiguous CSI-RS resource distribution indicates a single frequency domain starting position and a single total number of resource blocks of the respective CSI-RS resource set (Lin, [0191] the first subband size is given by NPRBSB−(NBWP,istart mod NPRBSB) and the last subband size given by (NBWP,istart+NBWP,isize)mod NPRBSB if (NBWP,istart+NBWP,isize) mod NPRBSB ≠0 and NPRBSB if (NBWP,istart+NBWP,isize) mod NPRBSB ≠0).
Regarding claim 3, Lin - Park et al. disclose the second CSI-RS resource distribution is a discontiguous CSI-RS resource distribution indicates multiple frequency domain starting positions and multiple total number of resource blocks of respective multiple partitions of the respective CSI- RS resource set (Park et al., [0141] the second set of RBs may at least indicate available DL RB(s) and/or subband(s), or being not UL subband, of SBFD configuration, which may be indicated and/or configured in a BWP (pair) and/or in a CC/cell level, or in a system information block (SIB) and/or in a master information block (MIB), where the second set of RBs may comprise non-contiguous RBs). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Lin - Park et al. disclose each CSI-RS resource distribution is associated with one frequency domain occupation information element (Lin, [0232] the bandwidth and initial common resource block (CRB) index of a CSI-RS resource within a BWP are determined based on the higher layer parameters nrofRBs and startingRB, respectively within the CSI-FrequencyOccupation IE configured by the higher layer parameter freqBand within the CSI-RS-ResourceMapping IE).
Regarding claim 5, Lin - Park et al. disclose in response to periodic or semi-persistent reporting, skipping the channel measurement of the CSI transmission slots being overlapped with uplink slots (Lin[0297] the UE may skip/omit the report due to all or part of symbol(s) to be measured for a report/CSI being used for UL transmission in reference resource/valid downlink subframe).
Regarding claim 6, Lin - Park et al. disclose the CSI transmission slots being skipped are indicated by higher layer parameters (Lin, [0291] symbol(s) used for UL transmission could be configured by higher layer. Symbol(s) used for UL transmission could be indicated by a base station).
Regarding claim 7, Lin - Park et al. disclose the CSI transmission slots being skipped are indicated by a bitmap (Lin, [0117] the UE can be provided a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with the RB sets).
Regarding claim 8, Lin - Park et al. disclose in response to periodic or semi-persistent reporting, the performing of the channel measurement is based on at least two CSI-RS resource sets and the CSI resource configuration (Park et al., [0143] in response to receiving or being configured with the non-contiguous RBs for performing CSI-RS measurement, the UE may measure the CSI-RS over the non-contiguous RBs, based on the first set of RBs and/or the second set of RBs, derive a CSI, and report or transmit the CSI). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Lin - Park et al. disclose the at least two CSI-RS resource sets are enabled or disabled separately (Park et al., [0143] the CSI-RS measurement and CSI reporting behavior based on the non-contiguous RBs may be configured and/or indicated to the UE, based on an independent behavior, or a condition that the CSI-RS measurement is performed on a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Lin - Park et al. disclose each CSI-RS resource set is associated with one CSI report for transmitting to the base station (Park et al., [0143] the UE may receive an indication indicating a set of non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slots and a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or indicating a time offset or time domain pattern for when the indication of the non-XDD (or non-SBFD) and XDD/SBFD symbols/slots may apply). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Lin - Park et al. disclose at least one of the CSI-RS resource sets is based on a CSI-RS resource using contiguous resource blocks (Lin, [0176] for CSI reporting, a UE can be configured via higher layer signaling with one out of two possible subband sizes, where a subband is defined as NPRBSB contiguous PRBs).
Regarding claim 12, Lin - Park et al. disclose each CSI-RS resource set includes at least two CSI-RS resources (Lin, [0176] a subband is defined as NPRBSB contiguous PRBs and depends on the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part).
Regarding claim 13, Lin - Park et al. disclose the performing the channel measurement is based on only one of the at least two CSI-RS resources (Park et al., [0143] the UE may receive an indication indicating a set of non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slots and a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or indicating a time offset or time domain pattern for when the indication of the non-XDD (or non-SBFD) and XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots may apply). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Lin - Park et al. disclose only one CSI report is associated with the at least two CSI-RS resources for transmitting to the base station (Park et al., [0143] the CSI-RS measurement and CSI reporting behavior based on the non-contiguous RBs may be configured and/or indicated to the UE, based on an independent behavior, or a condition that the CSI-RS measurement is performed on a set of XDD/SBFD symbols/slots). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Lin - Park et al. disclose at least one of the at least two CSI-RS resources is using contiguous resource blocks (Park et al., [0088] a sub-band may be characterized by a starting RB and number of RBs for a set of contiguous RBs within a bandwidth part.). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Lin - Park et al. disclose the CSI resource configuration is further associated with multiple CSI-RS resources each covering a contiguous set of resource blocks (Park et al., [0144] if a measurement combining is allowed, based on a separate indication, the UE may measure CSI-RS, for example as a second CSI-RS measurement). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Lin - Park et al. disclose at least two CSI-RS resources are configured per CSI- RS resource set (Park et al., [0144] if a measurement combining is allowed, based on a separate indication, the UE may measure CSI-RS, for example as a second CSI-RS measurement). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Lin - Park et al. disclose exactly two CSI-RS resources are configured per CSI- RS resource set in response to the CSI-RS resource set is associated with a type II codebook Park et al., [0108] the CSI report configuration may comprise: CSI report quantity, (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), Layer Indicator (LI), etc.; CSI report type, aperiodic, semi persistent, periodic; CSI report codebook configuration, Type I, Type II, Type Il port selection, etc.; and/or CSI report frequency). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19 , Lin discloses an apparatus (Lin FIG. 2, UE 250), comprising circuitry (Lin FIG. 2, processor 270) configured to:
receive a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration from a base station (Lin, [0290] a UE could be configured/indicated to report CSI to a base station) in a subband full duplex (SBFD) system (Lin, [0176] for CSI reporting, a UE can be configured via higher layer signaling with one out of two possible subband sizes, where a subband is defined as NPRBSB contiguous PRBs and depends on the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part),
the CSI resource configuration being associated with one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set including at least one CSI-RS resource (Lin, [0178 - 0179] a CSI Reporting Setting configuration defines a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the bandwidth part, where the reportFreqConfiguration indicates the csi-ReportingBand as a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part for which CSI shall be reported),
a CSI-RS resource distribution indicates one or more frequency domain starting position and one or more total number of resource blocks of one or more partition of the respective CSI-RS resource set in CSI transmission slots Lin, [0232] the bandwidth and initial common resource block (CRB) index of a CSI-RS resource within a BWP are determined based on the higher layer parameters nrofRBs and startingRB, respectively);
perform a channel measurement based on the one or more CSI-RS resource set and the CSI resource configuration (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource); and
transmit a CSI report to the base station based on the channel measurement (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource).
Lin does not expressly disclose the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution.
Park et al. for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Park et al., [0141] a mixed (UL/DL) slot/symbol-type may indicate a slot/symbol that can be used for both DL and UL, each being allocated with non-overlapping, independent RB(s) on the slot/symbol, e.g., for XDD/SBFD, where a gNB may schedule UL and DL resources to UEs within the UL and DL non-overlapping subbands, respectively) discloses the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution (Park et al., [0141] a UE may receive configuration of a first set of RBs, for performing CSI-RS measurement, and may receive an indication of a second set of RBs, as DL RBs applicable to XDD/SBFD symbols, where the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs and might not include all the RBs in the first set of RBs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution as taught by Park et al. with the system of Lin in order to configure non-contiguous RBs as a second configuration (Park et al., [0141]).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Lin FIG. 2, processor 270) storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (Lin FIG. 2, memory 272), cause the processor to perform a method, the method comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) resource configuration from a base station (Lin, [0290] a UE could be configured/indicated to report CSI to a base station) in a subband full duplex (SBFD) system (Lin, [0176] for CSI reporting, a UE can be configured via higher layer signaling with one out of two possible subband sizes, where a subband is defined as NPRBSB contiguous PRBs and depends on the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part),
the CSI resource configuration being associated with one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set including at least one CSI-RS resource (Lin, [0178 - 0179] a CSI Reporting Setting configuration defines a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the bandwidth part, where the reportFreqConfiguration indicates the csi-ReportingBand as a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part for which CSI shall be reported),
a CSI-RS resource distribution indicates one or more frequency domain starting position and one or more total number of resource blocks of one or more partition of the respective CSI-RS resource set in CSI transmission slots (Lin, [0232] the bandwidth and initial common resource block (CRB) index of a CSI-RS resource within a BWP are determined based on the higher layer parameters nrofRBs and startingRB, respectively);
performing a channel measurement based on the one or more CSI-RS resource set and the CSI resource configuration (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource); and
transmitting a CSI report to the base station based on the channel measurement slots (Lin, [0246] the UE reports a CSI report only after receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource).
Lin does not expressly disclose the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution.
Park et al. for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Park et al., [0141] a mixed (UL/DL) slot/symbol-type may indicate a slot/symbol that can be used for both DL and UL, each being allocated with non-overlapping, independent RB(s) on the slot/symbol, e.g., for XDD/SBFD, where a gNB may schedule UL and DL resources to UEs within the UL and DL non-overlapping subbands, respectively) discloses the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution (Park et al., [0141] a UE may receive configuration of a first set of RBs, for performing CSI-RS measurement, and may receive an indication of a second set of RBs, as DL RBs applicable to XDD/SBFD symbols, where the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs and might not include all the RBs in the first set of RBs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the CSI resource configuration indicating a first CSI-RS resource distribution and a second CSI-RS resource distribution as taught by Park et al. with the system of Lin in order to configure non-contiguous RBs as a second configuration (Park et al., [0141]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chatterjee et al. (US 20230421222 A1) is cited to show a computer-readable storage medium stores instructions for execution by one or more processors of a UE to configure the UE for SBFD operation in a 5G NR network, and to cause the UE to decode RRC signaling received from a base station and including at least one CSI-RS resource set with time-frequency resource allocation associated with a CSI-RS transmission, where frequency resources may be divided into DL/UL/Flexible resources in different non-overlapped sub-bands corresponding to a set of physical resources within a carrier that are contiguous in frequency, which is similar to aspect of the claimed invention.
/L.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/KENNY S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416