Earliest Priority Date
The priority date of this case is 07/05/2019 from provisional application 62/871,023
Status of Claims
Claims 1, and 3-20 are presented and have been examined.
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, and 14-15 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsmon (US 2019/0228571) in view of Moriya (US 2009/0326713).
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsmon in view of Moriya in view of Ogale (US 2019/0034794).
Response to Arguments
The applicant has argued that the amendments made to the independent claims overcomes the currently rendered rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. These arguments are moot, however, as a new grounds of rejection has been identified in a renewed search necessitated by said amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references of IDS filed 04/15/2025 have been considered in this action.
All references of IDS filed 11/07/2024 have been considered in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsmon in view of Moriya.
As per Claim 1:
Atsmon discloses the following limitations:
“A method, comprising: receiving… instructions … to add one or more synthetic objects to one or more locations in a map;… ”
Atsmon Paragraph [0124] which describes Figure 1 discloses generating a modified simulated environment (i.e. a map) by interjecting synthetic objects into a simulated environment.
“, generating synthetic track data… the synthetic track data corresponding to simulated trajectories of the simulated machine and including synthetic sensor data corresponding to the one or more synthetic objects”
Atsmon Paragraph [0137] discloses a simulated vehicle passing along a simulated trajectory producing simulated sensor data corresponding to said trajectory.
“and performing, but the simulated machine, one or more navigation, localization, or control operations based at least on the synthetic track data..”
Atsmon Paragraph [0137] discloses moving an emulated vehicle along a route in accordance with the virtual objects placed arbitrarily in the simulated environment.
“evaluating performance of the one or more navigation, localization, or control operations as performed by the simulated machine; updating control software of an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine based at least on the performance as evaluated, wherein the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine performs one or more navigation, localization, or control operations using the control software as updated”
Atsmon Paragraph [0030] discloses using the system to evaluate performance of autonomous systems. Paragraph [0136] at least discloses updating simulator and control software.
Atsmon does not disclose the following limitations that Moriya teaches:
“via a user interface, user instructions, the user instructions including one or more first inputs to add one or more synthetic objects to one or more locations in a map; and one or more second inputs corresponding to one or more routes of a simulated machine, at least one of the one or more locations of the one or more synthetic objects being along at least one of the one or more routes; modifying the map to include the one or more synthetic objects based at least one the one or more first inputs, generating synthetic track data corresponding to the map based at least on the one or more first inputs and the one or more second inputs”
Moriya Figures 19A-19E suggests a system in which synthetic objects, in this protrusions, are added to objects alongside a route of a robot via inputs from a user interface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Atsmon with the modifiability disclosed by Moriya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing for editable map environments for navigation of autonomous systems.
With regards to Claim 3, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the generating the synthetic track data is performed within a simulation environment generated based at least on the modified map.”
Atsmon Paragraph [0124] which describes Figure 1 discloses generating a modified simulated environment (i.e. a map) by interjecting synthetic objects into a simulated environment.
With regards to Claim 6, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the modifying of the map includes one or more of: adding respective point cloud representations corresponding to the one or more synthetic objects to point cloud data corresponding to the map; or updating landmark map data corresponding to the map to include respective location information of the one or more synthetic objects.”
Atsmon Paragraph [0084] discloses inserting synthetic objects into positions within a virtual simulated environment.
As per Claim 7:
Atsmon discloses the following limitations:
“A processor comprising: processing circuitry to cause performance of operations comprising: receiving user instructions for editing a map by adding one or more synthetic objects to one or more locations in the map; generating a modified map based at least on including the one or more synthetic objects at the one or more locations … generating a simulated environment using the modified map; generating, based at least on a simulated trajectory of a simulated machine within the simulation environment, synthetic track data corresponding to the simulated trajectory and including synthetic sensor data corresponding to the one or more synthetic objects; and performing one or more operations based at least on the synthetic track data, the one or more operations including updating control software of a machine based at least on performance of the simulated machine with respect to the simulated trajectory, wherein the machine performs one or more navigation, localization, or control operations using the control software as updated.
Atsmon Paragraph [0124] which describes Figure 1 discloses generating a modified simulated environment (i.e. a map) by interjecting synthetic objects into a simulated environment. Paragraph [0137] discloses a simulated vehicle passing along a simulated trajectory producing simulated sensor data corresponding to said trajectory. Paragraph [0137] discloses moving an emulated vehicle along a route in accordance with the virtual objects placed arbitrarily in the simulated environment. Paragraph [0030] discloses using the system to evaluate performance of autonomous systems. Paragraph [0136] at least discloses updating simulator and control software.
Atsmon does not disclose the following limitations that Moriya suggests:
“generating a modified map based at least on including the one or more synthetic objects at the one or more locations according to the user instructions…”
Moriya Figure 19 discloses generating a modified map including synthetic objects based on user instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Atsmon with the modifiability disclosed by Moriya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing for editable map environments for navigation of autonomous systems.
With regards to Claim 8, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the user instructions further define one or more of: the simulated trajectory; one or more lane elements corresponding to the simulated trajectory; or one or more waypoints constraining the simulated trajectory.”
Atsmon Paragraph [0137] discloses instructions to move a simulated vehicle along a simulated trajectory. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have user instructions defining simulation parameters.
With regards to Claim 9, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the operations further comprise evaluating performance of the one or more navigation, localization, or control operations as performed by the simulated machine”
Atsmon Paragraphs [0088]-[0089] discloses evaluating performance of an autonomous driving system based on the simulation.
With regards to Claim 10, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the synthetic track data includes simulated sensor data generated using the simulated machine.”
Atsmon Paragraph [0137] discloses a simulated vehicle passing along a simulated trajectory producing simulated sensor data corresponding to said trajectory.
With regards to Claim 13, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
As per Claim 14:
Atsmon disclose the following limitations:
“a system comprising: one or more processing units to perform operations comprising: generating… a modified map based at least on including in the map the one or more synthetic objects at the one or more locations within the map; generating synthetic track data using the modified map, the synthetic track data corresponding to a particular simulated trajectory for the simulated machine and including synthetic sensor data corresponding to the one or more synthetic objects in the modified map; and performing, by the simulated machine, one or more navigation, localization, or control operations based at least on the synthetic track data, wherein an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine performs one or more navigation, localization, or control operations based at least on an evaluated performance of the one or more navigation, localization, or control operations as performed by the simulated.”
Atsmon Paragraph [0124] which describes Figure 1 discloses generating a modified simulated environment (i.e. a map) by interjecting synthetic objects into a simulated environment. Paragraph [0137] discloses a simulated vehicle passing along a simulated trajectory producing simulated sensor data corresponding to said trajectory. Paragraph [0137] discloses moving an emulated vehicle along a route in accordance with the virtual objects placed arbitrarily in the simulated environment. Paragraph [0030] discloses using the system to evaluate performance of autonomous systems. Paragraph [0136] at least discloses updating simulator and control software.
Atsmon does not disclose the following limitations that Moriya suggests:
“providing a user interface that displays a map and that allows a user to interactively perform, with respect to the map, one or more of: select one or more simulated trajectories of a simulated machine, place one or more synthetic objects within the map; or identify one or more lane elements affected by the one or more synthetic objects; generating, based at least on user input provided via the user interface, a modified map…”
Moriya Figures 19A-19E suggests a system in which synthetic objects, in this protrusions, are added to objects alongside a route of a robot via inputs from a user interface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Atsmon with the modifiability disclosed by Moriya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing for editable map environments for navigation of autonomous systems.
With regards to Claim 15, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 8 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 16, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 9 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 17, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 20, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsmon in view of Finocchio in view of Ogale (US 2019/0034794).
With regards to Claim 4, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Ogale does disclose:
“wherein the one or more operations include using the synthetic track data as training data for updating one or more parameters of one or more neural networks.”
Ogale Paragraph [0112] discloses training a neural network based off of synthetic trajectories of simulated vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Atsmon in view of Finocchio with the neural training disclosed by Ogale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing for the use of large datasets when making navigation decisions.
With regards to Claim 5, Atsmon in view of Finocchio discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4 but does not disclose the following limitations that Ogale does disclose:
“wherein the one or more neural networks, after updating, are deployed in one or more real-world machines for use in performing one or more navigation operations.”
Ogale Paragraph [0006] discloses using the trained neural networks to perform navigation operations of real-world vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Atsmon in view of Finocchio with the neural training disclosed by Ogale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing for the use of large datasets when making navigation decisions.
With regards to Claim 11, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 12, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 18, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 19, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Relevant References
Rathod (US 2018/0350144)
Related to virtual simulations of real-world environments.
Wei (US 2016/0314224)
Related to autonomous vehicle simulation system.
Langseth (US 2013/0178257)
Related to virtual objects in augmented realities.
Finocchio (US 2012/0154373)
Related to machine learning graphical processes.
Vincent (US 10,825,247)
Related to graphical user interfaces displaying graphical representations of the world.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658