DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US Pub 2015/0302621 (hereafter Liu) and further in view of Dotan-Cohen et al. US Pub 2024/0223726 (hereafter Dotan-Cohen).
As per claim 1, Liu teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method, comprising: establishing a collaborative session on a primary user's virtual desktop with one or more secondary users, wherein a graphical user interface (GUI) of the virtual desktop is streamed to a virtual desktop client running on a client device of the primary user and to a virtual desktop client running on a client device of each of the one or more secondary users (para[0011-0013, 0053-0055], FIG. 1, client device (primary user) runs virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) to provide access to a remote desktop (secondary users), where the second display duplicates the desktop of the first display);
after the collaborative session has been established and while the GUI of the virtual desktop is being streamed to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users, monitoring, by a virtual desktop agent operating in the virtual desktop, applications executing in the virtual desktop to detect whether a predesignated sensitive application is opened in the virtual desktop; detecting that the predesignated sensitive application is open in the virtual desktop (para[0012-0015, 0043-0045, 0050-0055, 0058], once VDI client is connected to VDI host agent, the second display displays the GUI of the virtual desktop of the first display, and detects sensitive application is opened where a list (predesignated) of sensitive application is stored accessible by VDI client to detect the sensitive applications).
Liu does not explicitly teach temporarily stopping transmission of the GUI to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users, while maintaining the collaborative session active for the primary user, presenting, during the collaborative session, a warning dialog in the virtual desktop requesting the primary user to select how to handle the predesignated sensitive application, receiving a selection from the primary user specifying how to handle the predesignated sensitive application while the transmission of the GUI to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users remains stopped, handling the predesignated sensitive application according to the selection from the primary user, and after handling the predesignated sensitive application according to the selection from the primary user, resuming transmission of the GUI of the virtual desktop to the virtual and in response to detecting that the predesignated sensitive application is open in the virtual desktop, desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users within the collaborative session without re-establishing the collaborative session.
However, Dotan-Cohen teaches temporarily stopping transmission of the GUI to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users, while maintaining the collaborative session active for the primary user (para[0023, 0028-0031, 0139-0140], FIG. 3, meeting presentation is streamed to online viewers, and when a sensitive content is detected, removes visual aspects of sensitive content (while maintaining the session active));
presenting, during the collaborative session, a warning dialog in the virtual desktop requesting the primary user to select how to handle the predesignated sensitive application; receiving a selection from the primary user specifying how to handle the predesignated sensitive application while the transmission of the GUI to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users remains stopped (para[0140-0142], FIG. 3, 313, sensitivity control GUI element is displayed to the presenter, and sensitivity mitigation action selected from the user input is applied)
handling the predesignated sensitive application according to the selection from the primary user (para[0142], Selection of the customization control 312 allows the user to then select alternative sensitivity mitigation actions, such as blurring or obscuring visual aspects of the sensitive content);
and after handling the predesignated sensitive application according to the selection from the primary user, resuming transmission of the GUI of the virtual desktop to the virtual desktop client of each of the one or more secondary users within the collaborative session without re-establishing the collaborative session (para[0140-0142, 0160-0162], FIG. 7, generate a modified meeting presentation based on the sensitivity mitigation action selected from the user and providing the modified meeting presentation to the viewer of the meeting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s teaching to Liu’s invention in order to improve the functionality of content presented to viewers and enhancing computing services for a user, which provides a modified meeting presentation that sanitizes an occurrence of unwanted content in the meeting, based on a sensitivity mitigation action being applied to at least partially removed the unwanted or otherwise sensitive content associated with the meeting (para[0022]).
As per claim 2, Liu and Dotan-Cohen teach the method of claim 1, and Dotan-Cohen teaches wherein the warning dialog in the virtual desktop with a warning message indicating that the sensitive application is open in the virtual desktop (para[0140-0142], FIG. 3, 313, sensitivity control GUI element is displayed to the presenter, a warning message indicating that the sensitive application is opened)
As per claim 3, Dotan-Cohen teaches the dialog in the virtual desktop that provides the primary user with one or more options for handling the open sensitive application, the options including one or more of: to minimize the sensitive application; to close the sensitive application; to pop-out the sensitive application from the remote desktop in a separate window; to stop sharing the virtual desktop with collaborators; or to continue sharing the virtual desktop without taking action; and handling the open sensitive application according to the primary user's selection in the dialog (para[0140-0142], FIG. 3, 313, sensitivity control GUI element is displayed to the presenter, and sensitivity mitigation action selected from the user input is applied, where the actions includes removing visual content).
As per claim 6, Liu teaches detecting that a predesignated sensitive application is open in the virtual desktop (para[0012-0015, 0043-0045, 0050-0055, 0058], once VDI client is connected to VDI host agent, the second display displays the GUI of the virtual desktop of the first display, and detects sensitive application is opened where a list (predesignated) of sensitive application is stored accessible by VDI client to detect the sensitive applications).
In addition, Dotan-Cohen teaches further comprising, prior to establishing the collaborative session on the primary user's virtual desktop: receiving a request from the primary user to invite the one or more secondary users into the collaborative session (para[0048, 0069, 0077], meeting data includes attendees/invitees, where the invitees who are online viewers of the meeting presentation receives meeting invite attachments regarding the meeting).
in response to detecting that the sensitive application is open in the virtual desktop, presenting a dialog in the virtual desktop that provides the primary user with one or more options for handling the open predesignated sensitive application, the options including one or more of: to minimize the predesignated sensitive application; to close the predesignated sensitive application; to pop-out the predesignated sensitive application from the remote desktop in a separate window; to stop sharing the virtual desktop with collaborators; or to continue sharing the virtual desktop without taking action (para[0140-0142], FIG. 3, 313, sensitivity control GUI element is displayed to the presenter, and sensitivity mitigation action selected from the user input is applied, where the actions includes removing visual content);
and handling the open predesignated sensitive application according to the primary user's selection in the dialog before streaming the GUI of the virtual desktop to the virtual desktop client of any of the one or more secondary users (para[0142], Selection of the customization control 312 allows the user to then select alternative sensitivity mitigation actions, such as blurring or obscuring visual aspects of the sensitive content);
As per claim 7, Liu teaches further comprising: sending a list of predesignated sensitive applications that includes the predesignated sensitive application by the virtual desktop client of the primary user to the virtual desktop; and monitoring the virtual desktop to detect when an application in the list of predesignated sensitive applications is opened (para[0012-0015, 0043-0045, 0050-0055, 0058], once VDI client is connected to VDI host agent, the second display displays the GUI of the virtual desktop of the first display, and detects sensitive application is opened where a list (predesignated) of sensitive application is stored accessible by VDI client to detect the sensitive applications).
As per claim 8, it is a computing device claim of claim 1 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 9, it is a computing device claim of claim 2 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 10, it is a computing device claim of claim 3 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 13, it is a computing device claim of claim 6 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 14, it is a computing device claim of claim 7 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 15, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim of claim 1 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 16, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim of claim 2 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 17, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim of claim 3 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim of claim 6 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Dotan-Cohen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chittampally et al. US Pub 2022/0414241 (hereafter Chittampally).
Reference Chittampally was cited in the previous office action.
As per claim 5, Liu and Dotan-Cohen teach the method of claim 1, but they do not explicitly teach comprising: popping-out the opened predesignated sensitive application from the virtual desktop in a separate window by: closing the opened predesignated sensitive application in the virtual desktop; and launching the predesignated sensitive application as a virtual application in a new window on the primary user's client device.
However, Chittampally teaches further popping-out the opened predesignated sensitive application from the virtual desktop in a separate window by: closing the opened predesignated sensitive application in the virtual desktop; and launching the predesignated sensitive application as a virtual application in a new window on the primary user's client device. (para[0028-0029], FIG. 2, item 212b is a sensitive application which is moved from the virtual desktop to other new window of the primary user device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chittampally’s teaching to Liu and Dotan-Cohen’s invention in order to provide a method to automatically hide predetermined sensitive items from a screen sharing session with other users over a network to avoid inadvertently revealing private data to remote parties when the user forgets to close sensitive items while sharing the screen, which can results in serious consequences both monetary or security (para[0003-0005, 0025]).
As per claim 12, it is a computing device claim of claim 5 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 19, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim of claim 5 above, thus it is rejected for the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMY E LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195