Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed Dec. 13, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-13 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2021/0379807), further in view of Saito et al. (US 2008/0038393).
Regarding claim 1, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 4, an information processing device that receives an operation of setting an adjustment condition for an automatic adjustment function in an injection molding machine capable of automatically adjusting a molding condition (ABSTRACT), the information processing device comprising:
a display device ([0092], lines 1-9 (e.g., an input device and an output device can be connected to the interface (e.g., a display device) of the computing device)) configured to receive from a user ([0124] (i.e., a person determines relationships that are expressed in the form of matrices as shown in Fig. 8); It is noticed that, in [0124], the person or user or operator is following the matrices in Fig. 8 including the quality items such as void volume or dimensions to make a decision through the interface);
a quality item related to maintaining a quality of a molding product as the setting of the adjustment condition (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 4, a quality estimation unit 102 and a quality transition storage unit 103 can be considered as the input reception unit to receive the quality item (or data) from the detection data acquisition unit 101 ([0093])); and
an adjustment item as an adjustment target for maintaining the quality of the molding product ([0105] (e.g., the relationship storage unit 105 is stored with the modification amounts (i.e., related to the adjustment target) of the molding conditions); As illustrated in Fig. 8, the deviation or the modification amounts are listed which is also determined by the person or user or operator ([0124]));
an adjustment condition setting unit configured to set the adjustment condition according to received quality item and the received adjustment target in response to receiving the quality item and the adjustment target (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 4, a modification conditions determination unit 106 can be considered as the adjustment condition setting unit ([0093], [0107])).
However, Okubo does not explicitly disclose that, the display device/screen has a first display region including one or more first user interface elements to receive from a user quality information of a molding product and a second display region including one or more second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
In the same field of endeavor, injection molding machine, Saito discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, Fig. 3 shows an example of the molding condition setting frame (or screen). Set value columns for the set items designated to the installation setting, among other set items of the molding conditions, are displayed against gray backgrounds ([0049]). For example, the region related to ‘color change’ may be considered as the first user interface element for the user quality information of the molding product and the region of ‘automatic mold thickness adjustment’ may be considered as the second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okubo to incorporate the teachings of Saito to provide that the display device/screen has a first display region including one or more first user interface elements to receive from a user quality information of a molding product and a second display region including one or more second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product. Doing so would be possible to provide two selective modes of enabling or disabling rewriting the set values of the molding conditions, as recognized by Saito ([0016]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 6, the input reception unit receives an input of identification information of the quality item and an input of a possible range of an adjustment value for the quality item (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 6, the quality (e.g., mass or weight) of the mold product No. ([0098], line 4 (those plural mold products)) is illustrated ([0098]); It is noticed that, at least the numbers of those plural mold products are defined as their identifications; Here, symbols “Thmax” and “Thmin” represent an upper limit value and a lower limit value of an allowable quality range ([0098], lines 8-10); It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 6, “A1”, “A2”, and “A2” represent different stages of the mold products (i.e., identified by their numbers) having different quality such as abnormality (A2), standard quality (A1), and standard quality by +N% (A3) ([0099]); It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, for example, quality item Mass is determined by the person or user or operator through the interface ([0124])).
It is noticed that, the information related to the identifications of the molding products can be considered as the third user interface element to receive from the user.
Regarding claims 4, 5, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 6, 7, 8, the input reception unit receives an input of identification information of the adjustment item and an input of a possible range of a control value for the adjustment item and the second input reception unit receives a designation of a minimum value and a maximum value allowed as the control value in the input of the possible range of the control value (for example, the modification conditions determination unit 106 determines levels that are closest to deviations obtained by the tendency evaluation unit 104 and employs modification amounts of the molding conditions corresponding to each determined level. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, when the mass deviation is “+2.2%”, a mass deviation level “+2%” in the matrix shown in Fig. 8 is selected ([0107], lines 5-13); It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 6, “A1”, “A2”, and “A2” represent different stages of the mold products (i.e., identified by their numbers) having different quality such as abnormality (A2), standard quality (A1), and standard quality by +N% (A3) ([0099]); It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, for example, quality item Mass is determined by the person or user or operator through the interface ([0124])).
It is noticed that, the information related to the identifications of the molding products can be considered as the third user interface element to receive from the user.
Regarding claims 7, 8, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 4, 6, 7, 8, for example, the molding conditions determination assist device 3 is equipped with a computing device having a processor, a storage device, an interface, etc. and an input device and an output device that can be connected to the interface of the computing device. For example, the output device may be configured so as to include a display device ([0092], lines 3-9). Thus, as illustrated in Fig. 6, a first input unit for performing an input to the first input reception unit and a second input unit for performing an input to the second input reception unit are displayed in the display device. Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 6, symbol “Std” represents prescribed standard quality ([0098], lines 7-8) and can be considered as a reference value of a possible range of a control value specified based on an actual molding result in the adjustment item of the second input unit displayed according to the input on the first input unit.
It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, the person or user or operator determines relationships that are expressed in the form of matrices as shown in Fig. 8 and matrices as shown in Fig. 8 can be generated by machine leaning ([0124]). Thus, it is practical that the quality item Mass shown in Fig. 6 is displayed in the screen for the person or user or operator to monitor.
However, Okubo does not explicitly disclose that, the display device/screen has a first display region including one or more first user interface elements to receive from a user quality information of a molding product and a second display region including one or more second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
Saito discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, Fig. 3 shows an example of the molding condition setting frame (or screen). Set value columns for the set items designated to the installation setting, among other set items of the molding conditions, are displayed against gray backgrounds ([0049]). For example, the region related to ‘color change’ may be considered as the first user interface element for the user quality information of the molding product and the region of ‘automatic mold thickness adjustment’ may be considered as the second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
Regarding claims 9-10, Okubo discloses the display device for operating the injection molding machine. However, Okubo does not explicitly disclose a valid setting unit and an input fixing unit for operating the injection molding process. In the same field of endeavor, injection molding machine, Saito discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2a, 2b, 2c, in this case, Fig. 2b is displayed if the password that permits change of the set values for the set items designated to the installation setting is entered on the screen shown in Fig. 2a. If the installation setting unlock button 31 is depressed, moreover, the screen shown in Fig. 2c is displayed. If the change start button 33a is depressed, the installation setting is unlocked, whereupon the set values for the set items designated to the installation setting can be changed on each molding condition setting frame ([0071]). Thus, at least Saito provides the functions of both the valid setting unit and the input fixing unit for operators to lock or change the setting through the screen of the control device related to the molding process as needed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okubo to incorporate the teachings of Saito to provide a valid setting unit and an input fixing unit for operating the injection molding process through the screen of the computer device in the injection molding machine. Doing so would be possible to provide two selective modes of enabling or disabling rewriting the set values of the molding conditions, as recognized by Saito ([0016]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2021/0379807), further in view of Saito et al. (US 2008/0038393).
Regarding claim 11, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 4, an injection molding machine comprising:
an injection unit (as shown in Fig. 1);
a mold clamping unit (item 50 including 51, 52, and 53, Fig. 1 ([0080]));
a processing device (items 3, 4, and 5, Figs, 1, 4, 12 ([0138], [0139], [0140], [0141])) that receives an operation of setting an adjustment condition for the automatic adjustment function,
the processing device configured to receive from a user (e.g., a person determines relationships that are expressed in the form of matrices as shown in Fig. 8 ([0124]); It is noticed that, molding conditions (i.e., related to the process device) such as injection rate, holding pressure, etc. are involved in the process of the determination by the person):
a quality item related to maintaining a quality of a molding product as the setting of the adjustment condition (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 4, a quality estimation unit 102 and a quality transition storage unit 103 can be considered as the first input reception unit ([0093])), and
as an adjustment target for maintaining the quality of the molding product as the setting of the adjustment condition ([0105] (e.g., the relationship storage unit 105 is stored with the modification amounts (i.e., related to the adjustment target) of the molding conditions)); and
a control device that has the automatic adjustment function to set a molding condition and that controls the injection unit and the mold clamping unit according to the received quality item and the received adjustment target in response to receiving the quality item and the adjustment target (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 4, the control device 60 is running based on that a modification conditions determination unit 106 is inputted from the tendency evaluation unit 104 and the relationship storage unit 105 (here, the relationship storage unit is providing the required adjustment target) ([0093], [0105], [0107])).
However, Okubo does not explicitly disclose that, the display device/screen has a first display region including one or more first user interface elements to receive from a user quality information of a molding product and a second display region including one or more second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
In the same field of endeavor, injection molding machine, Saito discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, Fig. 3 shows an example of the molding condition setting frame (or screen). Set value columns for the set items designated to the installation setting, among other set items of the molding conditions, are displayed against gray backgrounds ([0049]). For example, the region related to ‘color change’ may be considered as the first user interface element for the user quality information of the molding product and the region of ‘automatic mold thickness adjustment’ may be considered as the second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
Regarding claims 12, 13, Okubo discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 4, the control device includes a notification unit that notifies a user when content of the adjustment by the automatic adjustment function satisfies a notification condition predetermined for the setting of the adjustment condition received by the processing device, wherein the control device stops operations of the injection unit and the mold clamping unit when content of the adjustment by the automatic adjustment function satisfies a stop condition predetermined for the setting of the adjustment condition received by the processing device ([]0079-[0081]). Thus, Okubo discloses that, in the control device 60, the function acquires various kinds information from the injection machine sensor 37 and the clamping device sensor 55 (i.e., it is noticed that, the clamping device sensors are capable of detecting a clamping force for the operating of the clamping device including its stop condition predetermined) and controls the drive device 36 of the injection machine 30 and the drive device 54 of the clamping device 50 so that they operate according to operation command data with the help from the molding conditions determination assist device 3 (as illustrated in Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/13/2025 have been fully considered.
In response to applicant’s arguments (as amended) in claims 1 and 11 that the base reference Okubo does not disclose that, the display device/screen has a first display region including one or more first user interface elements to receive from a user quality information of a molding product and a second display region including one or more second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product, it is persuasive.
However, in the same field of endeavor, injection molding machine, Saito discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, Fig. 3 shows an example of the molding condition setting frame (or screen). Set value columns for the set items designated to the installation setting, among other set items of the molding conditions, are displayed against gray backgrounds ([0049]). For example, the region related to ‘color change’ may be considered as the first user interface element for the user quality information of the molding product and the region of ‘automatic mold thickness adjustment’ may be considered as the second user interface elements to receive from the user adjustment information of the molding product.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741