DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 5/29/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 7-18 have been withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kageyama US 2022/0102587 A1.
In re claim 1, Kageyama discloses (e.g. FIG. 1 & 7) a light-emitting device 30 (FIG. 7B) comprising:
a light-emitting element 10,44 (¶ 84, FIG. 1) comprising:
a semiconductor structure body 23 (¶ 45) comprising an n-side layer 21, a p-side layer 22, and an active layer 24 positioned between the n-side layer 21 and the p-side layer 22, the n-side layer 21 including an n-side exposed surface 21a exposed from the active layer 24 and the p-side layer 22 in a plan view, the semiconductor structure body 23 including a side surface (side surface of holes above 21a) connecting the n-side exposed surface 21a and an upper surface of the p-side layer 22,
an insulating film 14 covering at least the side surface of the semiconductor structure body 23, the insulating film 14 including:
a first opening 14a in which the n-side exposed surface 21a is exposed, and
a second opening 14b positioned above the upper surface of the p-side layer 22,
an n-side electrode 11 comprising:
a first part (part of 11 above 22 outside the holes) positioned above the upper surface of the p-side layer 22 with the insulating film 14 interposed therebetween,
a second part (part of 11 in holes above 21a) electrically connected with the n-side exposed surface 21a in the first opening and electrically connected with the first part (part of 11 above 22 outside the holes) located at the insulating film 14 covering the side surface of the semiconductor structure body 23, and
a third opening (opening defined by electrode 11 surrounding 12, see FIG. 1D) in which a side surface (e.g. a top side surface) of the insulating film 14 covering the side surface of the semiconductor structure body 23 is exposed from the n-side electrode (see FIG. 1B, a portion of the top side surface the insulating film 14 along a right side surface of the hole above 21a is exposed by the opening of electrode 11), and
a p-side electrode 12 electrically connected with the p-side layer 22 in the second opening 14b; and
a light-reflective member 34 (¶ 91) contacting the side surface of the insulating film 14 in the third opening (34 covering and contacting all exposed surfaces of the light-emitting element including the exposed top side surface of insulating film 14 in the opening in electrode 11).
In re claim 2, Kageyama discloses (e.g. FIG. 1B) further comprising: a light-reflective electrode 28 (¶ 63) located between the p-side electrode 12 and the upper surface of the p-side layer 22 and electrically connected with the p-side layer 22 and the p-side electrode 12.
In re claim 3, Kageyama discloses (e.g. FIG. 1B, 1E & 1F) wherein: the light-reflective electrode 28 includes a fourth opening 28a in which the n-side exposed surface 21a is exposed, and
a portion of an outer edge of the third opening (opening in electrode 11 surrounding 12, see FIG. 1A) is positioned further outward than an outer edge of the fourth opening 28a in a plan view (top/bottom edge of electrode 11 opening is further outward than any of the openings 28a as shown in FIG. 1A).
In re claims 4-6, Kageyama discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1 & 5A-5D) wherein: the second part (part of electrode 11,511 in holes above 21a,521a) is positioned between the third opening (left side opening in electrode 511 surrounding left side electrode 512 shown in FIGs. 5A & 5C) and the p-side electrode (right side electrode 512 in FIGs. 5A & 5C) in a plan view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kageyama does not teach “a side surface” of the insulating film 14 is exposed from the first electrode 11 and the light reflective member 34 does not contact the “side surface” of the insulating film 14 because the “side surface” is already covered by first electrode 11 (Remark, page 9).
This is not persuasive. A “side surface” is broadly understood to mean any of the top side surface, bottom side surface, left side surface, or right side surface of an object. As such, the claimed “side surface” can be referring to a top side surface. Kageyama’s insulating film 14 has a top side surface is exposed by the opening in first electrode 11 that surrounds second electrode 12. A part of the top side surface of the insulating film is exposed through the opening in the first electrode 11. Furthermore, the light-reflective member 34 that is formed to cover and contact all exposed surfaces of the light-emitting element, including the exposed top side surface of insulating film 14 in the opening of the first electrode 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896