Detailed Action
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application DE 10 2022 209 801.3 filed on 9/19/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application has been received. Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority DateTo be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application JP 2021108104 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language application and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Objections to the Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as —Prior Art—because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84©) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections -- 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US Pub 20190081171), hereinafter referred to as Watanabe.
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe teaches a semiconductor component (Watanabe, 100c, Fig. 20, para. 97) configured as a trench metal insulator semiconductor field effect transistor (MISFET), comprising:
a substrate made of gallium nitride (GaN) (Watanabe, SB, Fig. 20, paara.45);
a drift layer situated on the substrate (Watanabe, 3, Fig. 20, para. 57);
a barrier layer (Watanabe, 4, Fig. 20, para. 50);
and a source region situated above the barrier layer (Watanabe, 5, Fig. 20, para. 72),
the source region including a gate trench that extends from the source region into the barrier layer (Watanabe, 11, Fig. 20 para. 54, 55),
wherein a trench base of the gate trench is situated in the barrier layer, and provided below the trench base and the gate trench is an n-doped region (Watanabe, Fig. 20, the trench base extends through barrier label 4 and into 13) ,
the n-doped region at least partially laterally enclosing the trench base (Watanabe, Fig. 20, 13 partially laterally encloses the base of 11),
the n-doped region is created using implantation and extends into the drift layer (Watanabe, para. 91, 100).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, wherein the n-doped region laterally encloses a lower section of the gate trench up to a predefined height that is above a gate oxide layer that is formed in the trench base (Watanabe, para. 91. discusses the lower end of the groove (trench) terminating in the n-doped region and Fig. 20 shows the n-doped region terminating at a height above the gate oxide layer (Watanabe, 7, Fig. 20))
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, wherein the n-doped region is formed at a boundary region between the barrier layer and the drift layer (Watanabe, Fig. 20, shows 13 between 3 and 4 in the z axis (see diagram above)), and the n-doped region has a larger width extension than the gate trench (Watanabe, Fig. 20, 13 is wider than 11).
Claim Rejections -- 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of JIANG, et al.: "A Novel SiC Trench MOSFET Structure with Enhanced Short Circuit Robustness," IEEE Workshop on Wide Bandgap Power Devices and Applications in Asia (WiPDS Asia), (2021), pp. 440-443, hereinafter referred to as Jiang.
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, but does not teach, wherein the barrier layer includes an area, neighboring the drift layer, with increased p-doping compared to a remaining portion of the barrier layer.
However, Jiang teaches a MOSFET structure with a gate structure (Jiang, Gate oxide, Fig. 1) in a barrier layer (Jiang, Pwell, Fig 1.(b)) where the gate structure is partially laterally surrounded by and n-doped region (Jiang, N-implanted, Fig. 1(b)), which contacts the drift layer (Jiang, SiC N-epi layer, Fig. 1(b)) wherein the barrier layer includes an area (Jiang, P 1*1018 cm-3 Fig. 1 (b)), neighboring the drift layer, with increased p-doping compared to a remaining portion of the barrier layer (Jiang, Fig. 1, the ratio is approximately 20:3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the MOSFET of Watanabe with the heavily p-doped layer of Jiang, thereby optimizing on-resistance, breakdown voltage and maximum electric field in the gate oxide (Jiang, I. A. Key Parameters of Device).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Jiang and Darwish et al. (US Pub 20040227182), hereinafter referred to as Darwish.
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, but does not teach wherein an n-doping of then-doped region is selected to be so high that it overcompensates for a p-doping of the barrier layer.
However, Darwish teaches a heavily n-doped region (Darwish, 130, Fig. 12O) below a gate structure where the increased doping decreases the on-resistance and increases current spreading (Darwish, paras. 65 and 77).
Additionally, Jiang teaches that the on-resistance is reduced and the electrical field is increased as the n-dopant concentration is increased, with the optimal performance occurring where the n-dopant concentration is 2*1017 cm-3. This is higher than the P-well value of 1.5*1017 cm-3.
Thus, the dopant concentration of the n-doped region is not merely a process parameter but a result-effective variable:If too low, the p-dopants in the barrier level will overcome it.If too high, the maximum electric field in the gate oxide will be too high and potentially damage the device (Jiang, I. Introduction and Fig. 7). Within the optimal window, the on resistance, electric field and breakdown voltage are mutually optimized. Because the prior art recognizes that the dopant levels in the n-doped region directly affects on-resistance, electric field strength and breakdown voltage, and the prior art shows the electric field strength rising as the dopant concentration increases (Jiang, Fig. 7), leading to damage to the device, the dopant concentration is a result-effective variable. Therefore, it wouldhave been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this variable through routineexperimentation. The selection of a concentration sufficient to overcome the barrier layer, while avoiding damage would be a predictable result of such optimization, absent evidence of unexpected results or criticality associated specifically with overcoming the p-doped region.(See MPEP 2144.05 II).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Darwish.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, but does not teach wherein the drift layer, except for n-doped regions that extend into the drift layer, is free of deeper p-doped regions, situated therein.
However, Darvish teaches a MOSFET device, with an n-doped region (Darwish, 130, 116, Fig. 12O) below the gate structure, and there are no p-doped regions below the drift layer (Darwish, 116, 12O).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the MOSFET of Watanabe with the arrangement of Darwish in order to decreases the on-resistance and increases current spreading (Darwish, paras. 65 and 77).
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe teaches the semiconductor component as recited in claim 12, wherein the n-doped region is created using implantation into an epitaxial layer (Watanabe, EP, Fig. 20, paras 83, 91).
Watanabe is silent on whether the material of the epitaxial layer is silicon.
However, Darwish teaches a MOSFET where the substrate may be silicon (Darwish, para. 3).
Therefore it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to select the silicon of Darwish as the epitaxial layer of Watanabe, allowing cells to be more densely packed and reducing the on-resistance of the device (Darwish, para. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Barringhaus (US Pub. 20240088288) teaches a power transistor with a gallium nitride substrate and p-type shielding on a transistor.
Roy et al.(US Pub. 20230035144) teaches a gallium nitride substrate and a gate structure with a shielding region that can be either p-type or n-type depending whether it is an n-channel or p-channel device.
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893