Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants Argument: “It is respectfully submitted, however, that the lower electrode 210 and the intermediate electrode 310 of Park et al are not components of a "wiring line," but are electrodes.” (page 7)
Examiner’s Rebuttal: Please note that the BRI for a “wiring line” was used when interpreting claim 1. The BRI for “wiring line” is “any layer that contains electrical connections”. Please note that this BRI is in line with Applicant’s written description.
Thus, the designated first wiring line of prior art Park, used in previous rejection, which has at least first second and third conductive layer (CL1+ 210+310), are layers that contain electrical connections (i.e. wiring line).
Further, all three layers, CL1+ 210+310, extend in direction D1, as seen in fig. 22. It should be noted thar CL1 extends more in the direction D1, than 210 and 310. Please see rejection of newly amended claim 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (20210167130).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a magnetic memory device comprising:
a first wiring line (fig. 4: CL1 + 210 + 310) extending in a first direction;
a second wiring line (fig. 4: CL2 + 220) provided on an upper layer side of the first wiring line and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction; and
a memory cell provided between the first wiring line and the second wiring line and including a magnetoresistance effect element (par. 27-29; please note that MRAM is a type of VR) and a switching element (fig. 4: SW) which are stacked in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction,
wherein the first wiring line includes a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer provided on the first conductive layer and formed of a material containing carbon (C) (par. 25), and
both of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer extend in the first direction (CL1+ 210+310, extend in direction D1, as seen in fig. 22. It should be noted thar CL1 extends more in the direction D1, than 210 and 310).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein a resistivity of the first conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the second conductive layer (par. 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer is formed of a metal material containing a metal element (par. 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 3, wherein the metal element is tungsten (W) or copper (Cu) (par. 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein a pattern of the first conductive layer and a pattern of the second conductive layer are aligned with each other as viewed from the first direction (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein the switching element is provided on a lower layer side of the magnetoresistance effect element (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein the switching element changes from an off state to an on state when a voltage applied between two terminals thereof becomes equal to or higher than a threshold voltage (par. 29).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1, wherein the switching element includes an insulating switching material layer (par. 29).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 8, wherein a main ingredient of the switching material layer is silicon oxide (par. 29 teaches SW can be composed of both Si, O and As).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 9, wherein the switching material layer contains arsenic (As) (par. 29 teaches SW can be composed of both Si, O and As).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanaya (20220085281).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches a magnetic memory device of claim 1.
Park does not explicitly teach:
the magnetoresistance effect element includes a first magnetic layer having a variable magnetization direction, a second magnetic layer having a fixed magnetization direction, and a nonmagnetic layer provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer
Kanya teaches an MJT having the layers listed above (fig. 13B). Please note that Park and Kanya are related to similar fields of endeavor and the use of such an MJT, taught in Kanya, in Park would have been obvious due to MJTs ability to keep data without power, high sensitivity for sensors, low power use, and potential for faster/denser memory.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing, to utilize aforementioned teachings of the prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818