DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/14/2023, 09/22/2023, 05/30/2024, 10/22/2024, 10/23/2024, 07/21/2025, and 01/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 09/14/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 09/14/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 205645910 U, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized by comprising:
a battery cell (Wang, battery cell, [0027]) comprising a first wall (Wang, battery top, [0032]), wherein the first wall is provided with a pressure relief mechanism (Wang, the flame-retardant device 23 is located below the top cover plate 21 and is disposed corresponding to the explosion-proof valve 22. This device can both promptly retard the flame and prevent sparks generated inside the battery cell 1 from spreading when the explosion-proof valve 22 is opened, [0032], Figure 1),
the pressure relief mechanism being configured to be actuated when internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, so as to relieve the internal pressure (Wang, When the temperature of the battery cell 1 rises to the melting point of the flame-retardant housing 231 and the explosion-proof valve 22 is not breached by the gas generated by the temperature rise of the battery cell 1, the weak area 2312 first melts and releases the flame retardant 232 into the interior of the battery cell 1, [0034], Figure 1 and 5);
a firefighting pipe configured to accommodate a firefighting medium, wherein the firefighting pipe is configured to discharge the firefighting medium when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated (Wang, When the temperature of the battery cell 1 rises to the melting point of the flame-retardant housing 231 and the explosion-proof valve 22 is not breached by the gas generated by the temperature rise of the battery cell 1, the weak area 2312 first melts and releases the flame retardant 232 into the interior of the battery cell 1, [0034], Figure 1 and 5); and
a fixing member disposed between the first wall and the firefighting pipe (Wang, the flame-retardant box 231 is fixed to the top cover plate 21 by the cooperation of the buckle 212 and the snap hole 2314d, [0040]], Annotated Figure 2 below), wherein
the fixing member is configured to fix the firefighting pipe (Wang, In order to facilitate fixing the flame-retardant box 231 to the top cover plate 21, the extension portion 2314b of this application is provided with a snap hole 2314d, and the top cover plate 21 is provided with a corresponding buckle 212, [0040], Annotated Figure 2 below); and, wherein
the firefighting pipe comprises a first restraint member, and the fixing member comprises a second restraint member, wherein the first restraint member and the second restraint member fit with each other to restrict the firefighting pipe in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the first wall, and the second direction is parallel to the first wall and perpendicular to an extending direction of the firefighting pipe (Wang, In order to facilitate fixing the flame-retardant box 231 to the top cover plate 21, the extension portion 2314b of this application is provided with a snap hole 2314d, and the top cover plate 21 is provided with a corresponding buckle 212, [0040], Annotated Figure 2 below).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the first restraint member is a single-claw structure, the single-claw structure comprising a connecting portion and a first claw portion, wherein the connecting portion is formed by a pipe wall of the firefighting pipe extending along the second direction, the first claw portion is connected to the connecting portion and extends toward the battery cell, and the first claw portion is snap-fitted with the second restraint member (Wang, In order to facilitate fixing the flame-retardant box 231 to the top cover plate 21, the extension portion 2314b of this application is provided with a snap hole 2314d, and the top cover plate 21 is provided with a corresponding buckle 212, [0040], Annotated Figure 4 below, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the second restraint member is a slot structure, the slot structure comprising a first slot wall and a second slot wall arranged in the second direction, wherein the first slot wall and the second slot wall are configured to clamp the first claw portion to restrict the firefighting pipe in the first direction and the second direction (Wang, The flame-retardant box 231 is fixed to the top cover plate 21 by the cooperation of the buckle 212 and the snap hole 2314d, [0040], Annotated Figure 2 above and Annotated Figure 3 below).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that an end of the first slot wall and/or the second slot wall away from the battery cell is provided with a first protrusion, and an end of the first claw portion close to the battery cell is provided with a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion fitting with each other to restrict the firefighting pipe in the first direction (Wang, the buckle 212 is provided on the top cover plate 21 corresponding to the card hole 2314d, and extends towards the direction close to the battery cell 1, and the flame-retardant box 231 in this application can be fixedly connected to the top cover 21 by snap-fit, [0041], Annotated Figure 2; the Examiner notes that the card hole, or claimed slot wall, must have a protrusion to “correspond” to the protrusion of the buckle, or second restraint, in order to fix it in place).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that an end of the first protrusion away from the battery cell is provided with a first slope, and an end of the second protrusion close to the battery cell is provided with a second slope, the first slope and the second slope corresponding to each other and each being oblique to a plane perpendicular to the first wall (Wang, the buckle 212 is provided on the top cover plate 21 corresponding to the card hole 2314d, and extends towards the direction close to the battery cell 1, and the flame-retardant box 231 in this application can be fixedly connected to the top cover 21 by snap-fit, [0041], Annotated Figure 2; the Examiner notes that the card hole, or claimed slot wall, must have a protrusion to “correspond” to the protrusion of the buckle, or second restraint, in order to fix it in place).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the first restraint member is a double-claw structure, the double-claw structure comprising a connecting portion and a first claw portion and a second claw portion arranged in the second direction, wherein the connecting portion is formed by a pipe wall of the firefighting pipe extending along the second direction, and the first claw portion and the second claw portion are connected to the connecting portion and extend toward the battery cell; and the first claw portion and the second claw portion are configured to clamp the second restraint member to restrict the firefighting pipe in the first direction and the second direction (Wang, first and second claw, Annotated Figures 2-4 above).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the second restraint member is a snap-fit structure, the snap-fit structure comprising a first snap-fit portion and a second snap-fit portion arranged in the first direction, wherein the first snap-fit portion is formed by the fixing member extending along a direction leaving the battery cell, the second snap-fit portion is provided at an end of the first snap-fit portion away from the battery cell, a size of the second snap-fit portion is not smaller than that of the first snap-fit portion in the second direction, and the first claw portion and/or the second claw portion is snap-fitted with the second snap-fit portion (Wang, first and second claw, Annotated Figures 2-4 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that an end of the first claw portion and/or the second claw portion close to the battery cell is provided with a third protrusion; and the second snap-fit portion comprises a fourth protrusion protruding in the second direction relative to the first snap-fit portion, and the fourth protrusion and the third protrusion fit with each other to restrict the firefighting pipe in the first direction (Wang, the buckle 212 is provided on the top cover plate 21 corresponding to the card hole 2314d, and extends towards the direction close to the battery cell 1, and the flame-retardant box 231 in this application can be fixedly connected to the top cover 21 by snap-fit, and first and second claw, [0041], Annotated Figures 2-4 above; the Examiner notes that the card hole, or claimed slot wall, must have a protrusion to “correspond” to the protrusion of the buckle, or second restraint, in order to fix it in place).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that an end of the third protrusion close to the battery cell is provided with a third slope, and an end of the fourth protrusion away from the battery cell is provided with a fourth slope, the third slope and the fourth slope corresponding to each other and each being oblique to a plane perpendicular to the first wall (Wang, the buckle 212 is provided on the top cover plate 21 corresponding to the card hole 2314d, and extends towards the direction close to the battery cell 1, and the flame-retardant box 231 in this application can be fixedly connected to the top cover 21 by snap-fit, and first and second claws, [0041], Annotated Figures 2-4 above; the Examiner notes that the card hole, or claimed slot wall, must have a protrusion to “correspond” to the protrusion of the buckle, or second restraint, in order to fix it in place).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the firefighting pipe comprises at least one pair of the first restraint members, and each pair of the first restraint members is located on two sides of the firefighting pipe in the second direction, respectively; and the fixing member comprises at least one pair of the second restraint members, and each pair of the second restraint members is provided corresponding to each pair of the first restraint members (Wang, pairs of restraint members are provided on both sides, Annotated Figure 2-4).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the firefighting pipe comprises a first pipe wall and a second pipe wall facing away from each other in the first direction, the first pipe wall being farther away from the battery cell than the second pipe wall, wherein thickness of the first pipe wall is greater than that of the second pipe wall (Wang, the bottom surface of the flame-retardant box body is provided with a weak area, and the thickness of the weak area is less than the thickness of the bottom surface on which it is located, specifically, the thickness of the weak area 2312 is preferably 0.05 mm, and the thickness of other areas of the flame-retardant housing 231 is preferably 0.1 mm, [0009, 0034]), and/or the first pipe wall is provided with a reinforcing member (Wang, the flame-retardant box 231 includes a lid 2314, [0036], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that in the second direction, a size of the first pipe wall is greater than that of the second pipe wall (Wang, length/size of first wall is greater than second wall, Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding an electric apparatus, characterized by comprising the battery, wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy to the electric apparatus (Wang, electric vehicles and energy storage stations generally require large-capacity lithium-ion batteries as their power source, and a secondary battery that can effectively improve battery safety performance is provided, [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 205645910 U, hereinafter Wang), as applied to Claim 1, and in view of Kragh (US 20240039076 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]). Wang is silent regarding the slot structure extends along a third direction, and the first claw portion is able to slide in the slot structure along the third direction, wherein the third direction is parallel to the first wall and parallel to the extending direction of the firefighting pipe.
Kragh discloses a battery (Kragh, battery arrangement, Abstract), characterized in that the slot structure extends along a third direction, and the first claw portion is able to slide in the slot structure along the third direction, wherein the third direction is parallel to the first wall and parallel to the extending direction of the firefighting pipe (Kragh, the first and second sliding members 17a, 17b are configured with matching geometric features that allows for gripping into each other and holding the thermal structural elements 9 in place but at the same time allows for sliding, [0082], Annotated Figure 9 below and Figure 10; the Examiner notes that sliding corresponds to the claimed third direction).
Kragh teaches that the sliding members 17a, 17b are configured with an essentially T-shaped sliding members with angled portions 17c, 17d that hinders other movement (Kragh, [0082], Figure 10).
Wang and Kragh are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery with thermal structural elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the T-shaped sliding members of Kragh in the battery top cover of Wang, in order to allow for sliding while also hindering other movement.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the double-claw structure extends along a third direction, and the second restraint member is able to slide in the double-claw structure along the third direction, wherein the third direction is parallel to the first wall and parallel to the extending direction of the firefighting pipe (Kragh, the first and second sliding members 17a, 17b are configured with matching geometric features that allows for gripping into each other and holding the thermal structural elements 9 in place but at the same time allows for sliding, and first and second claw, [0082], Annotated Figure 9 and Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Wang, secondary battery, [0008]), characterized in that the first restraint member extends along the third direction, and the first restraint member and the firefighting pipe have a same extending length in the third direction, wherein the third direction is parallel to the first wall and parallel to the extending direction of the firefighting pipe (Kragh, a number of batteries, arranged next to each other, with a top surface, Abstract, Figure 1; the Examiner notes that the battery and top surface are arranged in the claimed third direction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20160079639 A1 discloses a multi-cell energy storage device includes a plurality of cooling fins and a cooling tube configured to transfer heat from the cooling fins to a flow of coolant within the cooling tube, and each cooling fin includes a metallic substrate and a cooling tube gripping feature (Abstract).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752