DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Woo et al. (US 11,670,243).
Regarding independent claim 1, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text, a display device (DD) comprising: a display panel (DP) disposed in a receiving member (HU); a circuit board (FCB) coupled to the display panel; an optical layer (RPP) on the display panel; a conductive layer (ISU) on one surface of the optical layer facing the circuit board; and a pad (PP) disposed between the conductive layer and the circuit board, wherein the conductive layer contacts the receiving member.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the display panel comprises: a display element layer including a light emitting element (ED); a color filter layer (in RPP) on the display element layer; and an overcoat layer (resin layer in RPP) on the color filter layer.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the conductive layer is disposed between the optical layer and the overcoat layer.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the conductive layer is electrically connected to the circuit board through the pad.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the receiving member includes a conductive material (metal frame).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the display panel includes a display area including pixels and a non-display area surrounding at least one side of the display area.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches a light blocking pattern (black matrix of RPP) overlapping the non-display area in a plan view.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the light blocking pattern is disposed between the optical layer and the conductive layer.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches a protective layer (BML) at least partially covering the display panel and the circuit board.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the protective layer is disposed between the conductive layer and the circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (US 11,670,243), of record, in view of Jang et al. (CN1601349A).
Regarding independent claim 11, Woo et al. (‘243) similar to claim 1 above, teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the optical layer includes a first area having a first thickness and a second area having a second thickness less than the first thickness, and the second area of the optical layer overlaps the pad in a plan view.
Further regarding claim 11, Jang et al. (‘349A) teaches throughout the text a display device comprised of, in part, the optical layer includes a first area having a first thickness and a second area having a second thickness less than the first thickness, and the second area of the optical layer overlaps the pad in a plan view for the purpose of affecting the transmission of the light wavelengths.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the optical layer thickness of Jang in the RPP layer of Woo for the purpose of affecting the transmission of the light wavelengths.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches a light blocking pattern (black matrix of RPP) overlapping the non-display area in a plan view.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the light blocking pattern is disposed between the optical layer and the conductive layer.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches a protective layer disposed between the second area of the optical layer and the circuit board.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the protective layer at least partially covers the conductive layer.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the display panel comprises: a display element layer including a light emitting element (ED); a color filter layer (in RPP) on the display element layer; and an overcoat layer (resin layer in RPP) on the color filter layer.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the conductive layer is disposed between the optical layer and the overcoat layer.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches in figure 9 the light emitting element comprises: a first semiconductor layer; a second semiconductor layer; and an active layer disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the receiving member includes a conductive material.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Woo et al. (‘243) teaches the conductive layer contacts the receiving member.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875