DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 2013/0028013).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses, in FIGS. 1 and 2A-2C and in related text, a magnetic memory device comprising:
an electrode (11, 13); and
a magnetoresistance effect element (41, 10 ,42) provided on the electrode,
wherein
the electrode includes a first electrode portion (11) and a second electrode portion (13) provided between the magnetoresistance effect element and the first electrode portion and containing a metal element selected from molybdenum (Mo) and ruthenium (Ru) (see Ikeda, [0011], [0026]-[0027], [0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses the device of claim 1.
Ikeda discloses a hard mask (cap layer 14) provided on the magnetoresistance effect element (41, 10 ,42) (see Ikeda, FIG. 1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses the device of claim 1.
Ikeda discloses wherein the magnetoresistance effect element includes a first magnetic layer (42) having a variable magnetization direction (63), a second magnetic layer (41) having a fixed magnetization direction (62), and a nonmagnetic layer (10) provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer (see Ikeda, FIGS. 2A-2C, [0027], [0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses the device of claim 1.
Ikeda discloses a switching element (111) connected in series to the magnetoresistance effect element (110) (see Ikeda, FIG. 7, [0071]-[0072]).
Claims 1, 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamane (US 2012/0056283).
Regarding claim 1, Yamane discloses, in FIGS. 2-3 and in related text, a magnetic memory device comprising:
an electrode (14); and
a magnetoresistance effect element (15, 16, 17) provided on the electrode,
wherein
the electrode (14) includes a first electrode portion (Ta) and a second electrode portion (Ru) provided between the magnetoresistance effect element and the first electrode portion and containing a metal element selected from molybdenum (Mo) and ruthenium (Ru) (see Yamane, [0087]-[0092], [0192]-[0197]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamane discloses the device of claim 1.
Yamane discloses a hard mask (cap layer 18) provided on the magnetoresistance effect element (15, 16, 17) (see Yamane, FIG. 3, [0192]-[0197]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamane discloses the device of claim 1.
Yamane discloses wherein the magnetoresistance effect element includes a first magnetic layer (17) having a variable magnetization direction, a second magnetic layer (15) having a fixed magnetization direction, and a nonmagnetic layer (16) provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer (see Yamane, FIGS. 2-3, [0087]-[0090]).
Regarding claims 6-7, Yamane discloses the device of claim 1.
Yamane discloses a switching element (selection transistor including gate electrode 1, source region 7, drain region 8) connected in series to the magnetoresistance effect element (3), a first wiring line (6) extending in a first direction; and a second wiring line (9) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the magnetoresistance effect element and the switching element are provided between the first wiring line and the second wiring line (see Yamane, FIG. 1, [0155]-[0160], [0177]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Yun (US 2019/0140163).
Regarding claim 2, Yamane discloses the device of claim 1.
Yamane discloses the first electrode portion contains Tantalum (Ta) (see Yamane, FIG. 3, [0192]-[0197]).
Yamane does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electrode portion contains carbon (C).
Yun teaches that electrode material can be tantalum or carbon (see Yun, [0027]). Therefore, Yun teaches wherein the first electrode portion contains carbon (C).
Yamane and Yun are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Yamane with the features of Yun because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamane to include wherein the first electrode portion contains carbon (C), as taught by Yun, because it is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (as an electrode of a magnetic memory device). See MPEP § 2143.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Chuang (US 2022/0157886).
Regarding claim 4, Yamane discloses the device of claim 1.
Yamane discloses the magnetoresistance effect element (15, 16, 17) and the lower electrode (14) (see Yamane, FIGS. 2-3 and discussion on claim 1 above).
Yamane does not explicitly disclose a sidewall insulating layer provided along a side surface of the magnetoresistance effect element and a side surface of the second electrode portion.
Chuang teaches a sidewall insulating layer (SiN layer 210) enclosing a magnetic memory element (190’) and its lower electrodes (180’) (see Chuang, FIG. 9, [0028], [0034], [0038]). Therefore, Chuang together with Yamane teaches a sidewall insulating layer provided along a side surface of the magnetoresistance effect element and a side surface of the second electrode portion.
Yamane and Chuang are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Yamane with the features of Chuang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamane to include a sidewall insulating layer provided along a side surface of the magnetoresistance effect element and a side surface of the second electrode portion, as taught by Chuang, in order to provide a spacer layer (see Chuang, [0038]).
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811