Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Campbell did not disclose a mixture of multiple different chemical substances.
In response, the Examiner takes position that Campbell suggested that the fluid inside the secure volume was a coolant. It is known in the art that a coolant fluid comprising several differently chemical substances such as ethylene glycol, water, corrosion inhibitor and other additives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 7, 9 – 13, 17 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 9904811).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell discloses a tamper-respondent assembly comprising:
a circuit board (circuit board 210, Fig. 6A), the circuit board including an electronic component (202);
an enclosure (enclosure 220) mounted to the circuit board to enclose the electronic component within a secure volume (secure volume 201), the secure volume being a sealed space;
a fluid (liquid 601, vapor 602) disposed within the secure volume; and
one or more sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting a change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of a tamper event (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose the fluid comprising a chemical mixture of multiple different chemical substances, the multiple different chemical substances having randomly generated concentrations within the chemical mixture.
Campbell suggests the fluid (601, 602) as a coolant fluid (column 11, line 11). It is known in the art that a coolant fluid comprising water, coolant substance such as ethylene glycol, corrosion inhibitor and many other additives. Campbell also suggests that the state of fluid is liquid, vapor or in between liquid or vapor (column 13, lines 2 – 10) depend upon the temperature of the components. This leads to the change in the concentration of the liquid as some of the liquid converted into vapor form leaving more concentrated substance behind.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a coolant with all the chemical substance of coolant inside the secure volume in order to prevent the overheating of the component on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Campbell further suggests the one or more sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) comprise one or more chemical sensors to facilitate detecting a change in concentration of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Campbell further suggests multiple sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of the tamper event, the one or more sensors being one or more sensors of the multiple sensors, and wherein the multiple sensors include a chemical sensor to facilitate detecting a change in concentration of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture within the secure volume, a pressure sensor to facilitate detecting a change in a pressure within the secure volume, and a temperature sensor to facilitate detecting a change in temperature within the secure volume (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Campbell further suggests a sensor card (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) disposed within the secure volume, the sensor card comprising the multiple sensors to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of the tamper event (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 6, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Campbell further suggests a monitor component (data processing system 1110, column 19, lines 15 - 25) to monitor one or more sensor signals of the one or more sensors, the monitor component comparing the one or more sensor signals of the one or more sensors to stored data representative, at least in part, of an initial chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid indicative of the tamper event (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 7, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6. Campbell further suggests the stored data further comprises stored data relating the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume to a determined pressure and temperature change profile of the fluid within the secure volume (column 19, lines 42 - 60).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Campbell further suggests the multiple chemical substances having the randomly generated concentrations within the chemical mixture of the fluid comprise respective randomized partial pressures of the fluid within the secure volume, and wherein the one or more sensors further facilitate detecting a change in a partial pressure of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell discloses a tamper-respondent assembly comprising:
a fluid (liquid 601, vapor 602) disposed within a sealed space of the tamper-respondent assembly to secure, at least in part, an electronic component (202).
one or more sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting a change in the chemical mixture of the fluid indicative of a tamper event into the sealed space of the tamper-respondent assembly (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose the fluid comprising a chemical mixture with multiple distinct chemical substances, the multiple distinct chemical substances having randomly generated concentrations within the chemical mixture.
Campbell suggests the fluid (601, 602) as a coolant fluid (column 11, line 11). It is known in the art that a coolant fluid comprising water, coolant substance such as ethylene glycol, corrosion inhibitor and many other additives. Campbell also suggests that the state of fluid is liquid, vapor or in between liquid or vapor (column 13, lines 2 – 10) depend upon the temperature of the components. This leads to the change in the concentration of the liquid as some of the liquid converted into vapor form leaving more concentrated substance behind.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a coolant with all the chemical substance of coolant inside the secure volume in order to prevent the overheating of the component on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 11, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Campbell further suggests multiple sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the sealed space indicative of the tamper event, the one or more sensors being one or more sensors of the multiple sensors, and wherein the multiple sensors comprise a chemical sensor to facilitate detecting a change in concentration of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture within the sealed space (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Campbell further suggests the multiple sensors further include a pressure sensor (pressure sensor, see abstract) to facilitate detecting a change in a pressure within the sealed space, and a temperature sensor (temperature sensor, see abstract) to facilitate detecting a change in temperature within the sealed space.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell discloses a method of fabricating a tamper-respondent assembly, the method comprising:
obtaining a circuit board (circuit board 210, Fig. 6A), the circuit board including an electronic component (202);
mounting an enclosure (enclosure 220) to the circuit board to enclose the electronic component within a secure volume (secure volume 201);
providing, via a fill port (fill port; column 14, line 60) into the secure volume, a fluid (liquid 601, vapor 602) within the secure volume;
providing one or more sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting a change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of a tamper event (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose the fluid comprising a chemical mixture with multiple different chemical substances, the multiple different chemical substances having randomly generated concentrations within the chemical mixture.
Campbell suggests the fluid (601, 602) as a coolant fluid (column 11, line 11). It is known in the art that a coolant fluid comprising water, coolant substance such as ethylene glycol, corrosion inhibitor and many other additives. Campbell also suggests that the state of fluid is liquid, vapor or in between liquid or vapor (column 13, lines 2 – 10) depend upon the temperature of the components. This leads to the change in the concentration of the liquid as some of the liquid converted into vapor form leaving more concentrated substance behind.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a coolant with all the chemical substance of coolant inside the secure volume in order to prevent the overheating of the component on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 17, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Campbell further suggests providing multiple sensors (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of the tamper event, the one or more sensors being one or more sensors of the multiple sensors, and wherein the multiple sensors include a chemical sensor to facilitate detecting a change in concentration of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture within the secure volume (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 18, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Campbell further suggests the multiple sensors further include a pressure sensor (see abstract) to facilitate detecting a change in a pressure within the secure volume, and a temperature sensor (see abstract) to facilitate detecting a change in temperature within the secure volume.
Regarding claim 19, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Campbell further suggests providing a sensor card (sensor 603, 604, 221, and detector 605) disposed within the secure volume, the sensor card comprising the multiple sensors to facilitate detecting the change in the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume indicative of the tamper event (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Regarding claim 20, Campbell discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Campbell further suggests the multiple chemical substances having the randomly generated concentrations within the chemical mixture of the fluid comprise respective randomized partial pressures (pressure of the fluid 600) of the fluid within the secure volume, and wherein the one or more sensors further facilitate detecting a change in a partial pressure of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances of the chemical mixture of the fluid within the secure volume (column 13, lines 31 - 55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 14 - 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1, 3, and 4, a combination of limitations that the sensor card has one main side and an opposite main side, and wherein one or more sensors of the multiple sensors are disposed on the one main side of the sensor card, and one or more other sensors of the multiple sensors are disposed on the opposite main side of the sensor card. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that multiple enclosures mounted to the circuit board, the enclosure mounted to the circuit board being one enclosure mounted to one side of the circuit board to enclosure the electronic component within the secure volume, and the multiple enclosures further comprising another enclosure mounted to another side of the circuit board to enclose another electronic component within another secure volume, the one side of the circuit board and the other side of the circuit board being opposite sides of the circuit board; a plurality of through-holes extending through the circuit board between the one side of the circuit board and the other side of the circuit board, the plurality of through-holes connecting in fluid communication the secure volume and the other secure volume on the opposite sides of the circuit board. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 13, a combination of limitations that mixing the fluid for providing into the secure volume, wherein mixing the fluid comprises: filling a mixing reservoir with the multiple chemical substances via respective mass flow controllers, wherein a flow rate of a chemical substance of the multiple chemical substances through a respective mass flow controller is set by a respective random number; and wherein the filling of the mixing reservoir with the multiple chemical substances is for a set time interval. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848