DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 05, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 and 26-30 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, 26-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et. al. (US 20230062775 A1), hereinafter Hsu.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a substrate (Fig 1N substrate 112, [0014]) comprising: a core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]) comprising a cavity (Fig 1D cavity hole 118, [0018]); a region (Fig 1D region R1, [0018]) comprising a passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) located at least partially in the cavity (Fig 1D cavity hole 118, [0018]) of the core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]), wherein the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) comprises a first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and a second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]); one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035], encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]; It is known in the art that epoxy is a dielectric material; adhesive 400 and layer 500 may both be epoxy as disclosed in the paragraphs cited) coupled to the (i) core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]; the one or more dielectric layers are coupled to the cavity substrate through dielectric layer 122), (ii) the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and (iii) the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), wherein a first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is located between the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]); and a plurality of interconnects (Fig 1N conductive pads 350, [0048]) located at least partially in the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) comprises a first front side (Fig 3A side opposite backside 200-BS, [0035]) and a first back side (Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]), wherein the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]) comprises a second front side (Fig 3A side opposite backside 300-BS, [0035]) and a second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]), and wherein the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches the first passive device (Fig 3A side opposite backside 200-BS, [0035]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu teaches the first back side (Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]) of the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) faces toward (Fig 3A) the second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]) of the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), and wherein the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches (i) the first back side(Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]) of the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and (ii) the second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]) of the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu teaches the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) includes a first deep trench capacitor device (Fig 4A capacitor 210, [0028]), and wherein the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]) includes a second deep trench capacitor device (Fig 4A capacitor 310, [0034]; structure may be similar to device component 200, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu teaches the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) includes a first block core layer (Fig 5A passivation layer 260, [0027]) and a second block core layer (Fig 5A passivation layer 360, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu teaches the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) include a first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and a second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]), and wherein the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is located between the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), wherein the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is part of the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]), and wherein the second dielectric layers (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches (i) the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and (ii) the core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu teaches the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is different from (the first dielectric layer includes epoxy, [0035] and [0036]; the second dielectric layer includes a polymer such as polyimide, [0042]) the second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu teaches the plurality of interconnects (Fig 1N conductive pads 350, [0048]) are configured to be electrically coupled ([0053]) to the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu teaches the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) laterally surrounds (Fig 1F, 122R and 122F) the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu fails to teach the substrate is implemented in a device selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle.
The recitation calling for “the substrate is implemented in a device selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle” does not distinguish over the cited reference regardless of the function allegedly performed by the claimed device, because only the device per se is relevant, no matter which of the device’s functions is referred to in the claim, and if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended function, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). In the instant application, implementing the substrate in an electronic device does not differentiate the claimed device Hsu since it requires merely using the substrate in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, Hsu teaches a package (Fig 1O package substrate 190A, [0072]) comprising: an integrated device (Fig 1N component 191, [0070]); and a substrate (Fig 1N substrate 112, [0014]) coupled to the integrated device (Fig 1N component 191, [0070]) through at least a plurality of solder interconnects (Fig 1N conductive connectors 188F, [0066]), the substrate (Fig 1N substrate 112, [0014]) comprising: a core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]) comprising a cavity (Fig 1D cavity hole 118, [0018]); a region (Fig 1D region R1, [0018]) comprising a passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) located at least partially in the cavity (Fig 1D cavity hole 118, [0018]) of the core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]), wherein the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) comprises a first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and a second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]); one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035], encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]; It is known in the art that epoxy is a dielectric material; adhesive 400 and layer 500 may both be epoxy as disclosed in the paragraphs cited) coupled to the (i) core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]; the one or more dielectric layers are coupled to the cavity substrate through dielectric layer 122), (ii) the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and (iii) the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), wherein a first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is located between the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]); and a plurality of interconnects (Fig 1N conductive pads 350, [0048]) located at least partially in the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu teaches the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) comprises a first front side (Fig 3A side opposite backside 200-BS, [0035]) and a first back side (Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]), wherein the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]) comprises a second front side (Fig 3A side opposite backside 300-BS, [0035]) and a second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]), and wherein the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches the first passive device (Fig 3A side opposite backside 200-BS, [0035]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu teaches the first back side (Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]) of the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) faces toward the second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]) of the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), and wherein the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches (i) the first back side(Fig 3A backside 200-BS, [0035]) of the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and (ii) the second back side (Fig 3A backside 300-BS, [0035]) of the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu teaches the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023])includes a first deep trench capacitor device (Fig 4A capacitor 210, [0028]), and wherein the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]) includes a second deep trench capacitor device (Fig 4A capacitor 310, [0034]; structure may be similar to device component 200, [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu teaches the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]) includes a first block core layer (Fig 5A passivation layer 260, [0027]) and a second block core layer (Fig 5A passivation layer 360, [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu teaches the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) include a first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and a second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]), and wherein the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is located between the first passive device (Fig 1E device component 200, [0023]) and the second passive device (Fig 1E device component 300, [0023]), wherein the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is part of the first portion (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035]) of the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]), and wherein the second dielectric layers (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is coupled to and touches (i) the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and (ii) the core layer (Fig 1D cavity substrate 120, [0018]).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu teaches the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is different from (the first dielectric layer includes epoxy, [0035] and [0036]; the second dielectric layer includes a polymer such as polyimide, [0042]) the second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Hsu teaches the plurality of interconnects (Fig 1N conductive pads 350, [0048]) are configured to be electrically coupled ([0053]) to the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu teaches the one or more dielectric layers (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] , encapsulation layer 500, [0036], and dielectric layer 122, [0042]) laterally surrounds (Fig 1F, 122R and 122F) the passive component block (Fig 1E semiconductor device 600, [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu fails to teach the substrate is implemented in a device selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle.
The recitation calling for “the substrate is implemented in a device selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle” does not distinguish over the cited reference regardless of the function allegedly performed by the claimed device, because only the device per se is relevant, no matter which of the device’s functions is referred to in the claim, and if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended function, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). In the instant application, implementing the substrate in an electronic device does not differentiate the claimed device Hsu since it requires merely using the substrate in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 26, Hsu teaches a boundary interface (Fig 1N) between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and the second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Regarding claim 27, the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) is a first type of a dielectric layer (the first dielectric layer includes epoxy, [0035] and [0036]), and wherein the second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]) is a second type of a dielectric layer (the second dielectric layer includes a polymer such as polyimide, [0042]).
Regarding claim 29, Hsu teaches a boundary interface (Fig 1N) between the first dielectric layer (Fig 1N adhesive 400, [0035] and encapsulation layer 500, [0036]) and the second dielectric layer (Fig 1N dielectric layer 122, [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et. al. (US 20230062775 A1), hereinafter Hsu, in view of LV (CN 116130444 A).
Regarding claim 28, Hsu fails to teach the first portion of the one or more dielectric layers includes one of at least prepreg and/or Ajinomoto Build-up Film (ABF).
Regarding the choice of including Ajinomoto build-up film in the first portion of the one or more dielectric layers, this particular material would have been obvious to try. Hsu teaches the adhesive 400 can be epoxy or a die attach film ([0035]). Further, Hsu teaches the encapsulation layer 500 can be a resin such epoxy or a molding underfill ([0036]) to encapsulate the passive devices ([0036]). In addition, Hsu teaches the dielectric layer 122 can be formed of Ajinomoto build-up film or a polymer such as those listed for the encapsulation layer ([0042]). Lv teaches it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that dielectric materials such as epoxy resin or Ajinomoto build-up film could be used as adhesive or underfill ([n0064]). In pursuing a material to cover and physically connect the passive devices, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to use the list of materials provided by Hsu and Lv. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the adhesive and coating properties would be achieved equally, regardless of which of these materials is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Regarding claim 30, Hsu fails to teach the first portion of the one or more dielectric layers includes one of at least prepreg and/or Ajinomoto Build-up Film (ABF).
Regarding the choice of including Ajinomoto build-up film in the first portion of the one or more dielectric layers, this particular material would have been obvious to try. Hsu teaches the adhesive 400 can be epoxy or a die attach film ([0035]). Further, Hsu teaches the encapsulation layer 500 can be a resin such epoxy or a molding underfill ([0036]) to encapsulate the passive devices ([0036]). In addition, Hsu teaches the dielectric layer 122 can be formed of Ajinomoto build-up film or a polymer such as those listed for the encapsulation layer ([0042]). Lv teaches it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that dielectric materials such as epoxy resin or Ajinomoto build-up film could be used as adhesive or underfill ([n0064]). In pursuing a material to cover and physically connect the passive devices, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to use the list of materials provided by Hsu and Lv. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the adhesive and coating properties would be achieved equally, regardless of which of these materials is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §102 section starting on page 8, filed August 05, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 USC §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of Hsu.
The amended limitation involving dielectric layer has been interpreted to use different dielectric layers of Hsu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813