DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/10/2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the IDS is enclosed herewith.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed March 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C § 112 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100039262, to Cameron et al. (hereinafter Cameron), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230144664, to Zeiler et al. (hereinafter Zeiler), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130324151, to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, and commensurate claims 8, and 14 Cameron discloses, A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to: (See at least paragraph [0062] “The computer-readable and computer-executable instructions can also reside on computer readable media such as a hard disk drive, floppy disk, magnetic, tape, Compact Disc, Digital Versatile Disc, and the like. The computer-readable and computer-executable instructions, which may reside on computer readable media, are used to control or operate in conjunction with, for example, component information unit 100.”).
obtain a current time (See at least paragraph [0075] “the timestamp can be generated locally such as by a clock”). and a time fence indicating a daily time period; (See at least paragraph [0080] “A time-fence as described herein can comprise a stored range set of ranges of allowed or disallowed times and/or dates of operation related to the component.”).
determine whether the current time is within the time fence; (See at least paragraph [0079] [0080]“a violation of a preset threshold or range is determined by sensor module 140.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0041] “Motion sensor 142 senses movement or a cessation of movement of a component with which component information unit 100 is coupled. Roll ball switches, tilt switches, vibration switches, centrifugal switches, optical roll ball switches, mercury switches, accelerometers, and strain gauges are some examples of sensors which can be utilized as motion sensor 142. However, other well known mechanisms for sensing motion can be employed as motion sensor 142. In one embodiment, sensor module 140 determines whether a measurement from motion sensor 142 violates a preset threshold, preset range, preset time-fence, or preset geo-fence.”)
upon determining that the current time is within the time fence, operate a battery powering a detachable unit in a high-power mode, (See at least paragraph [0080] “the notification message indicates that motion has been sensed at a time which violates a preset time of operation envelope (e.g., a time-fence) stored within component information unit 100. A time-fence as described herein can comprise a stored range set of ranges of allowed or disallowed times and/or dates of operation related to the component..”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0033] “ mesh network device is configured to spend most of its time in a powered down state to conserve energy, and only wakes up into a powered up state on an ad hoc basis in response to a triggering event as described above.”). wherein the detachable unit is configured to be mounted on a vehicle designed to execute construction tasks, (See at least paragraph [0045] “component monitor 300 is configured as a hand held portable device. In another embodiment, component monitor 300 is coupled with an item of construction equipment or with a vehicle such as an inventory positioning vehicle which is utilized to transport or position construction equipment components such as component 200.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0056] [FIG.4] “FIG. 4 shows a component monitor 300 coupled with a forklift 400,”). Still further, (See at least paragraph [0058] [FIG.6] “FIG. 6 shows a component monitor 300 coupled with a crane 600, in accordance with an embodiment. By way of example and not of limitation, crane 600 is shown as a tower crane. It is appreciated that crane 600 can be any type of crane, including, but not limited to: a wheel mounted crane, a truck mounted crane, a crawler mounted crane, a gantry crane, an overhead crane, a monorail carrier, a stiff legged derrick, a straddle crane, a crane with a fixed boom, a crane with a telescoping boom, and a crane with a hoist but no boom. As shown in FIG. 6, component monitor 300 is coupled with crane cab 610, but may be coupled with some other portion of crane 600. In one embodiment, crane 600 is used as an inventory positioning vehicle which moves construction equipment components (e.g., component 200) from location to location in inventory movements in a component storage area.”).
upon determining that the current time is outside the time fence, (See at least paragraph [0080] “A time-fence as described herein can comprise a stored range set of ranges of allowed or disallowed times and/or dates of operation related to the component.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0045] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an example component monitor 300, in accordance with an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, component monitor 300 comprises a mesh network device 310, a GNSS receiver 320, a storage module 330, a signal module 340, and a communication module 350 (which may comprise or be coupled with one or more communication mechanisms). In one embodiment, component monitor 300 is configured as a hand held portable device. In another embodiment, component monitor 300 is coupled with an item of construction equipment or with a vehicle such as an inventory positioning vehicle which is utilized to transport or position construction equipment components such as component 200.”). operate the battery powering the detachable unit in a low-power mode, (See at least paragraph [0066] “component information unit 100 is in a low power or sleep mode which is used to conserve power (such as battery power). ”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0045] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an example component monitor 300, in accordance with an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, component monitor 300 comprises a mesh network device 310, a GNSS receiver 320, a storage module 330, a signal module 340, and a communication module 350 (which may comprise or be coupled with one or more communication mechanisms). In one embodiment, component monitor 300 is configured as a hand held portable device. In another embodiment, component monitor 300 is coupled with an item of construction equipment or with a vehicle such as an inventory positioning vehicle which is utilized to transport or position construction equipment components such as component 200.”).
when the battery powering the detachable unit is in the low-power mode, (See at least paragraph [0045] [0066] “component information unit 100 is in a low power or sleep mode which is used to conserve power (such as battery power). ”). detect, by an accelerometer an unusual operation associated with the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks, wherein the unusual operation includes a movement associated with the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks occurring outside of the time fence; (See at least paragraph [0041-0045] “ Motion sensor 142 senses movement or a cessation of movement of a component with which component information unit 100 is coupled. Roll ball switches, tilt switches, vibration switches, centrifugal switches, optical roll ball switches, mercury switches, accelerometers, and strain gauges are some examples of sensors which can be utilized as motion sensor 142. However, other well known mechanisms for sensing motion can be employed as motion sensor 142. In one embodiment, sensor module 140 determines whether a measurement from motion sensor 142 violates a preset threshold, preset range, preset time-fence, or preset geo-fence.”) Further, (See at least paragraph [0079] a notification message is transmitted in response to determining a violation of a preset envelope of operation in conjunction with the movement of the component.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0045] “component monitor 300 is coupled with an item of construction equipment or with a vehicle such as an inventory positioning vehicle which is utilized to transport or position construction equipment components such as component 200”)
upon detecting the unusual operation associated with the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks when the battery powering the detachable unit is in the low-power mode, generate a notification of the unusual operation;. (See at least paragraph [0079] “a notification message is transmitted in response to determining a violation of a preset envelope of operation in conjunction with the movement of the component. The notification message identifies the component and includes information regarding the type of envelope violated. The notification message and can also include other information, such as a location and/or timestamp associated with the envelope violation. This can comprise component information unit 100 transmitting a notification message to component monitor 300 (or other component monitor) or to another entity on a wireless mesh network when a violation of a preset threshold or range is determined by sensor module 140.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0066] “prior to wireless mesh network communication being initiated, component information unit 100 is in a low power or sleep mode which is used to conserve power (such as battery power). Component information unit 100 wakes up in response to one or more triggering events such as sensing of movement and/or sensing of another wireless mesh networking device within communication range.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0045] “component monitor 300 is coupled with an item of construction equipment or with a vehicle such as an inventory positioning vehicle which is utilized to transport or position construction equipment components such as component 200”)
and send the notification of the unusual operation to a server (See at least paragraph [0045] [0066] [0079] “a notification message is transmitted in response to determining a violation of a preset envelope of operation in conjunction with the movement of the component. The notification message identifies the component and includes information regarding the type of envelope violated. The notification message and can also include other information, such as a location and/or timestamp associated with the envelope violation. This can comprise component information unit 100 transmitting a notification message to component monitor 300 (or other component monitor) or to another entity on a wireless mesh network when a violation of a preset threshold or range is determined by sensor module 140.”).
Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, wherein the high-power mode is configured to enable a communication indicating a location associated with the designed to execute construction tasks; (See at least paragraph [0022] “The monitored tool includes a tracking unit and one of a power tool battery and a connector for receiving an external AC power source. The tracking unit includes an energy storage device that powers the tracking unit, a global positioning satellite (GPS) unit that determines the location of the monitored tool,”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0196] “As an example, in a normal mode, the gateway 615 may transmit messages between every 400 ms to 2000 ms,”). Still further, (See at least paragraph [0022] “the invention provides a tool tracking system including a monitored tool and a tool monitoring module. The monitored tool includes a tracking unit and one of a power tool battery and a connector for receiving an external AC power source. The tracking unit includes an energy storage device that powers the tracking unit, a global positioning satellite (GPS) unit that determines the location of the monitored tool, and a cellular unit that communicates the location of the monitored tool via a cellular network as position data.”). Lastly, (See at least paragraph [0198] [FIG.27] “FIG. 27 illustrates vehicle gateway 1050 having the gateway 615a integrated with a vehicle 1051”).
wherein the low-power mode is configured to conserve powering the battery and battery life; (See at least paragraph [0100] “In step 505, the tracking unit 150 determines whether the state of charge of the battery 160 has dropped below a low level threshold. If the battery 160 is low, the tracking unit 150 proceeds to step 510 where the timer length used in step 515 during a timer reset is increased to a second, longer timer. The longer timer reduces the amount of reporting by the tracking unit 150 to conserve energy.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0195] “The gateway 615a is operable to transmit this information to external devices, such as the tool monitoring server 140, smart phone 120, PC 135, and fob 610. Additionally, the gateway 615a is operable to enter into a low-power mode upon detecting that the lid 1008 and the job box 1001 are stationary. For example, if the lid 1008 remains shut and the job box 1001 remains stationary, the gateway 615a enters a low-power mode in which the frequency of transmissions by the gateway 615a is reduced.”).
Lee teaches, and increase a frequency of communication (See at least paragraph [0008-0009] [0027] “The value per ping is highest when the ping captures a business critical event in the field. The present disclosure provides an active RF tracking system in which the value per ping is increased (preferably optimized) by adjusting the ping rate under different conditions. In this disclosure, the ping rate, ping occurrence, and ping period is based on detected motion of the tagged asset”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0027] “The tracking devices and systems of this disclosure utilize an intelligent, active ping to increase the value per ping from the transmitter and provide a longer battery life for the battery-powered transmitter. The system utilizes a motion-based ping in which the ping rate (e.g., pings per minute, pings per hour) is adjusted ”). between the detachable unit and a wireless telecommunication network, (See at least paragraph [0008-0009] [0027] “System 10 uses an established wireless communication network 20 to identify the location of transmitter device 14 and convey that information to display 18. Examples of wireless RF communication networks 20 with which system 10 can function include CDMA/GMS, ZigBee, (Low Energy) BlueTooth (LBT), WiFi (sometimes referred to as WLAN), LTE, and WiMax.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0009] “The asset tracking device will send a ping to a remote host (i.e., receiver or a cellular communication tower)”). wherein the frequency is based on a parameter of the vehicle; (See at least paragraph [0008] “ In this disclosure, the ping rate, ping occurrence, and ping period is based on detected motion of the tagged asset.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0027] “The tracking devices and systems of this disclosure utilize an intelligent, active ping to increase the value per ping from the transmitter and provide a longer battery life for the battery-powered transmitter. The system utilizes a motion-based ping in which the ping rate (e.g., pings per minute, pings per hour) is adjusted based on predetermined events, specifically, the expected occurrence of an event (a business event) and/or physical movement or motion of the device. ”).
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron to incorporate the teachings of Zeiler, and Lee. The motivation to do so is explicitly stated within Lee, to optimize the tradeoff between conserving battery life and providing adequate tracking, Lee mention the problem with static ping rates, (See at least paragraph [0012] “Disadvantages of prior wireless data fetching systems (e.g., tracking systems) include having non-value added pings, which thus cause faster battery drainage, and having timed or scheduled pings unrelated to practical events (e.g., business logic or exception events), which thus reduce the value per ping”). Lee provides a solution, (See at least paragraph [0038] “To extend the life of the power source (i.e., battery 22), the active RF tracking system 10 of the present disclosure increases the value per ping by basing the ping rate and ping occurrence on probability of a desired business event and/or motion of the tagged asset. During periods of inactivity (i.e., no probability of a desired event and no motion of the asset), the transmitter device is in a power-saving sleep state or power-saving idle state”). Therefore, one ordinary in the art would recognize that incorporating Lee.s teaching to adjust the ping rate when the accelerometer detects unauthorized movements such as a vehicle will result in predictable and desired results of ensuring he server receives accurate logs, while minimizing the SOC of the vehicle battery when the vehicle is parked and within its time fence as in Cameron.
Regarding claim 2, and commensurate claims 9, and 15, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, comprising instructions to: while operating the battery powering the detachable unit in the low-power mode, reduce a frequency of communication between the detachable unit and a cell tower powering a wireless telecommunication network, wherein the communication is configured to indicate a location powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks. (See at least paragraph [0171] “In some embodiments, similar strategies for conserving power by reducing location determinations of the tool 605, fob 610, and gateway 615, whether by GPS or other techniques, based on an accelerometer output are implemented.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0091] “the center point 420 may be the location of a street address or geographic coordinates (i.e., longitude and latitude) entered by the user, such as the address or coordinates of a warehouse, a factory, a construction site, etc. In some embodiments, the center point 420 is tied to a GPS-enabled device that can periodically report its GPS coordinates and, therefore, the position of the center point 420 may be dynamic. For example, the GPS-enabled device may be a cell phone of a construction site supervisor, a vehicle, “)
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron for the same motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, and commensurate claims 10, and 16, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, comprising instructions to: while operating the battery powering the detachable unit in the low-power mode, reduce a frequency of communication between the detachable unit and a cell tower powering a wireless telecommunication network, (See at least paragraph [0171] “In some embodiments, similar strategies for conserving power by reducing location determinations of the tool 605, fob 610, and gateway 615, whether by GPS or other techniques, based on an accelerometer output are implemented.”). wherein the communication is configured to indicate a location powering vehicle designed to execute construction tasks. ; (See at least paragraph [0091] “the center point 420 may be the location of a street address or geographic coordinates (i.e., longitude and latitude) entered by the user, such as the address or coordinates of a warehouse, a factory, a construction site, etc. In some embodiments, the center point 420 is tied to a GPS-enabled device that can periodically report its GPS coordinates and, therefore, the position of the center point 420 may be dynamic. For example, the GPS-enabled device may be a cell phone of a construction site supervisor, a vehicle, “) and upon detecting the unusual operation powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks outside of the time fence, increase the frequency of communication between the detachable unit and the cell tower powering the wireless telecommunication network, thereby enabling more frequent tracking of the location of the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks. . (See at least paragraph [0111] “the tools 605 and fobs 610 have a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +10 dbm to balance energy efficiency and communication range, while the gateway 615 has a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +27 dbm to increase communication range”).
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron for the same motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, and commensurate claims 17, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, comprising instructions to: upon detecting the unusual operation powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks when the battery powering the detachable unit is in the low-power mode, determine whether the current time is within a predetermined time period to the time fence; and upon determining that the current time is within the predetermined time period to the time fence, avoid generating the notification of the unusual operation. (See at least paragraph [0171] “as no motion is being detected by the accelerometer, one can infer that the puck repeater 866 has not moved, and the most recent GPS location determined remains accurate. In some embodiments, similar strategies for conserving power by reducing location determinations of the tool 605, fob 610, and gateway 615, whether by GPS or other techniques, based on an accelerometer output are implemented.”).
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron for the same motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, and commensurate claims 11, and 18, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, wherein the detachable unit includes a radio, (See at least paragraph [0018] “The remote monitoring device of the tool tracking system includes a cellular communications radio that communicates with the gateway device via the cellular network, and a tool monitoring module.”) an accelerometer configured to detect the unusual operation, and the battery. (See at least paragraph [0100] “movement data from an accelerometer of the tool 105 may be used to reduce the rate of communications from the tool 105. For instance, if the accelerometer indicates that the tool 105 has not moved recently, the tool 105 does not determine or output location data, since the location data would be duplicative of the previous output. This determination may be made after step 465 and before step 470. For instance, after the timer is determined to have elapsed in step 465, the controller 220 determines whether movement has occurred since the previous timer expiration. If movement has occurred, the method proceeds to step 470; if not, the method returns to step 460 to reset the timer..”)
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron for the same motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, and commensurate claims 12, and 19, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, comprising instructions to: while operating the battery powering the detachable unit in the low-power mode, reduce a frequency of communication between the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks and a cell tower powering the wireless telecommunication network, wherein the communication is configured to indicate a location powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks; and upon detecting the unusual operation powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks outside of the time fence, increase a frequency of the communication between the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks and the cell tower powering the wireless telecommunication network, thereby enabling more frequent tracking of the location of the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks, wherein the frequency of the communication between the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks and the cell tower powering the wireless telecommunication network is positively correlated with a value of the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks. (See at least paragraph [0022] “he accelerometer 1026 is used in the vehicle gateway 1050 similar to how it is used in the job box gateway 1000 to detect movement of the vehicle gateway 1050. However, the top surface 1052 of the vehicle 1051 does not open; rather, the back door (not shown) opens to provide access to tools 605, materials, etc. within the vehicle 1051. Accordingly, in some embodiments, the accelerometer 1026 is located separate from the gateway 615a on an access door of the vehicle 1051. The accelerometer would remain in communication with the gateway 615a, whether wirelessly or via wired connection, to provide acceleration signals related to both the vehicle 1051 as a whole and the opening/shutting of the access door. The accelerometer 1026 on the vehicle gateway 1050 is, thus, similarly able to be used cause the gateway 615a to enter into a low-power mode.”)
Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, SOC battery systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Cameron for the same motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, and commensurate claims 13, and 20, Cameron as modified by Zeiler, and Lee teaches the disclosed claims of claim 1, Cameron fails to explicitly disclose, however Zeiler teaches, comprising instructions to: while operating the battery powering the detachable unit in the low-power mode, reduce the frequency of communication between the detachable unit and a cell tower powering a wireless telecommunication network, wherein the communication is configured to indicate a location powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks; and upon detecting the unusual operation powering the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks outside of the time fence, (See at least paragraph [0088] “A time-component may also be associate with a boundary threshold. The security actions taken may vary depending on the threshold that is exceeded. For instance, if a large number of tools are moved outside of the boundary 397 nearly simultaneously (e.g., twenty tools within five minutes of each other), it could indicate that a large theft may be in progress, and authorities (i.e., the police) may be contacted. If a modest number of tools exceed the boundary over the course of a week, an email or text message may be sent to the owner to indicate a summary of the activity and possibly highlight long-term trends. Additionally, security actions taken in response to exceeded thresholds may vary depending on the time of day. For instance, if a worksite is generally only operating during the day (e.g., 7:00 am to 5:00 pm), but a tool is moved beyond the boundary 397 at midnight, authorities may be contacted immediately and the owner may be called with an automatic voice message. In contrast, if a tool is moved beyond the boundary 397 at noon, the owner may receive a text message, and authorities are not immediately contacted.”) increase the frequency of communication between the detachable unit and the cell tower powering the wireless telecommunication network up to 10 times per minute, thereby enabling more frequent tracking of the location of the vehicle designed to execute construction tasks. (See at least paragraph [0111] “the tools 605 and fobs 610 have a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +10 dbm to balance energy efficiency and communication range, while the gateway 615 has a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +27 dbm to increase communication range”).
Conclusion
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666