DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/14/2023, 11/25/2024, and 10/30/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “connector” (Claim 1 – should be shown and labeled in Fig.4 in order to understand the invention) and “a cover-shaped member” (Claim 10 – see below 35 USC 112 rejection) all options must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a movable base configured to carry a battery that is provided with a connector” (line 2-3) is unclear and should be rewritten as: “a movable base configured to carry a battery, wherein the battery is provided with a connector.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a protective apparatus provided on the movable base, configured to protect the connector, and comprising a drive mechanism and a covering member” (line 4-5) is unclear and should be rewritten as: “a protective apparatus provided on the movable base, configured to protect the connector of the battery, and wherein the protective apparatus comprises a drive mechanism and a covering member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation in line 3: “the rotating shaft, one end” should be rewritten as: “the rotating shaft, the one end.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “being both open” is unclear and should be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of the rotating shaft…means of the gear” in claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the open-ended clause “a protective apparatus…configured to protect" (line 4) which is unclear and overly broad and renders the claims indefinite, since it's not clear whether the claimed "protection" is actually taking place or not. It has been held that the open-ended recitations stating that an element is capable to perform a function (e.g., "configured to", "adapted to", etc.) are not the positive limitations but only require the ability to so perform. They do not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. See In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138. Just because something is "configured to" do something (i.e. is "capable of" doing something), doesn't actually mean it does it. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). The Office hereby notes that "configured to" does not explicitly denote how features(s) are constructed and/or associated with other claimed limitations; whereas the claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions. If a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, then the claim may be deemed indefinite. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential). Applicant is required to use definitive and positive statements while reciting the structure and functions of the claimed apparatus (e.g. "a locking arm chamfer [that is configured to engage] --engaging-- the lock pin chamfer"). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation: "mounted at", which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation: "means of the rotating shaft…means of the gear", which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation: "the connecting rod" (line 6), which is of unclear antecedent basis, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The limitation should most likely be rewritten as: “the first connecting rod”, however appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitation: " wherein the covering member is a cover-shaped member configured to cover over the connector" (line 2), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boyce et al. (US 12,030,402 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Boyce discloses: A battery swap device (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 328), comprising: a movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 328+440+etc.) configured to carry a battery (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 380) that is provided with a connector (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 501) configured to transfer electric energy (See, e.g., Fig.1-28); and a protective apparatus (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 430+464+360+452) provided on the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), configured to protect the connector (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and comprising a drive mechanism (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 430+464) and a covering member (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 476+442+452+456+458+360), the drive mechanism being configured to drive the covering member to move to cover or uncover the connector (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Boyce discloses: wherein the protective apparatus has an extended state in which the covering member extends out of the movable base to cover the connector (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and a retracted state in which the covering member is retracted to the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Boyce discloses: wherein the movable base has an accommodating space (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 440+360), and in the retracted state, the covering member is at least partially located in the accommodating space (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Boyce discloses: wherein in the retracted state, the covering member is located on a side surface of the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and in the extended state, the covering member is located above the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Boyce discloses: further comprising at least one of: a first detection unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 468+489+442+490) configured to output a first signal in response to the protective apparatus being detected to be in the extended state (See, e.g., Fig.1-28); or a second detection unit configured to output a second signal in response to the protective apparatus being detected to be in the retracted state.
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Boyce discloses: wherein one end of the drive mechanism is mounted at the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and the covering member is connected to another end of the drive mechanism (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Boyce discloses: wherein the drive mechanism comprises a drive member (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 430+464), a first connecting rod (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 360+450+456), and a second connecting rod (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 360+450+456), one end of the first connecting rod and one end of the second connecting rod being separately hinged to the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 459), another end of the first connecting rod and another end of the second connecting rod being separately hinged to the covering member (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 459), and the drive member being configured to drive the first connecting rod to rotate around a hinge point at which the first connecting rod is hinged to the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Boyce discloses: wherein the drive mechanism further comprises: a rotating shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 450), one end of the first connecting rod being hinged to the movable base by means of the rotating shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and the rotating shaft being fixed to the first connecting rod (See, e.g., Fig.1-28); and a gear and a rack meshing with each other (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 450+452), the gear being fixed to the rotating shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and the drive member being configured to drive the rack to move so as to swing the connecting rod by means of the gear (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Boyce discloses: wherein the drive mechanism further comprises a sliding rail (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 448+382+360) and a slider (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 448+382+360) cooperating with each other (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), the slider being fixedly connected to the movable base (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and the rack being fixedly connected to the sliding rail (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Boyce discloses: wherein the covering member is a cover-shaped member (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 476+442+452+456+458+360) configured to cover over the connector (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Boyce discloses: wherein the covering member comprises a top plate, an end plate, and two side plates (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 442+452+456+458+476+360), the two side plates being connected to opposite sides of the top plate (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), the end plate being provided at one end of the top plate and connected to the top plate and the two side plates (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), and a side of the covering member opposite the top plate and a side of the covering member opposite the end plate being both open (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, Boyce discloses: A battery swap system (See, e.g., Fig.1-28), comprising: a battery swap platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 324); a battery pick-and-place device (See, e.g., Fig.1-28, 444+468); and the battery swap device according to claim 1, wherein the battery swap device is configured to move between the battery swap platform and the battery pick-and-place device to transfer a battery (See, e.g., Fig.1-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613