DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0257583).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park et al. (‘583) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text, a display device (10) comprising: a display panel (100); and a protective layer (300) contacting a rear surface (no number) of the display panel, and comprising: a high modulus protective portion (351) on the rear surface of the display panel; and a low modulus protective portion (352) spaced from the rear surface of the display panel with the high modulus protective portion interposed therebetween.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the low modulus protective portion contacts a rear surface of the high modulus protective portion.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion comprise an organic material (paragraph 0116, “cellulose acetate”).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion comprise a same material. The limitation of “a degree of curing of the high modulus protective portion is different from a degree of curing of the low modulus protective portion” appears to be a product by process limitation and has not been afforded patentable weight.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Park et al. (‘583) teaches a thickness of the low modulus protective portion is about 50% or less than a sum of a thickness of the high modulus protective portion and the thickness of the low modulus protective portion (see paragraph 0111, it can be the same thickness which could make it 50% or less).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion are provided in plurality, and wherein the high modulus protective portions and the low modulus protective portions are alternately arranged on the rear surface of the display panel.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Park et al. (‘583) teaches one of the low modulus protective portions defines a rear surface of the protective layer.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the protective layer further comprises a barrier layer (no number) comprising an inorganic material, and contacting the high modulus protective portion and the rear surface of the display panel (paragraph 0092).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Park et al. (‘583) teaches in figure 8 the display panel comprises: a base substrate (SUB); pixels (EML) above the base substrate; and an encapsulation layer (ENL) above the pixels.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Park et al. (‘583) teaches the base substrate comprises a synthetic resin layer.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Park et al. (‘583) teaches an input-sensing layer (TSL) above the display panel.
Regarding independent claim 17, Park et al. (‘583) teaches in figures 3, 8 and the corresponding text, a display device (10) comprising: a flexible base substrate (SUB) comprising an upper surface (no number) and a rear surface (no number); light-emitting elements (EML) above the upper surface of the flexible base substrate; a barrier layer (no number, paragraph 0092)) contacting the rear surface of the flexible base substrate, and comprising an inorganic material (polymide polymer material); a first protective portion (351) contacting the barrier layer, and comprising an organic material (paragraph 0116, “cellulose acetate”) ; and a second protective portion (352) below the first protective portion, and comprising an organic material, wherein a modulus of the second protective portion is less than a modulus of the first protective portion.
Regarding independent claim 20, Park et al. (‘583) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text, a display device (10) comprising: a display panel (100); and a protective layer (300) contacting a rear surface (no number) of the display panel, and comprising: an upper portion (351) below the rear surface of the display panel; and a lower portion (352) below the upper portion, defining a rear surface (no number) of the protective layer, and having a lower modulus than a modulus of the upper portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 11-12, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0257583), of record above, in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0155821).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Park (‘583) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a variance in modulus in the low modulus protective portion in a thickness direction of the protective layer is greater than a variance in modulus in the high modulus protective portion in the thickness direction of the protective layer.
Further regarding dependent claim 6, Kim et al. (‘821) teaches in figure 5A and the corresponding text, a display device in which a variance in modulus in the low modulus protective portion in a thickness direction of the protective layer is greater than a variance in modulus in the high modulus protective portion in the thickness direction of the protective layer for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the variance in modulus of the protective layers of Kim in the protective layers in the display of Park for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Regarding dependent claim 7, the actual variance between the low and high layers is an obvious choice is design based upon the size of the display.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 6 above.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Park (‘583) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the protective layer further comprises an intermediate modulus protective portion between the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion, and having a modulus that is less than a modulus of the high modulus protective portion, and greater than a modulus of the low modulus protective portion.
Further regarding dependent claim 11, Kim et al. (‘821) teaches in figure 5A and the corresponding text, a display device in which the protective layer further comprises an intermediate modulus protective portion between the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion, and having a modulus that is less than a modulus of the high modulus protective portion, and greater than a modulus of the low modulus protective portion for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the intermediate modulus protective portion between the high modulus protective portion and the low modulus protective portion of Kim in the protective layers in the display of Park for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kim et al. (‘821) teaches the high modulus protective portion, the intermediate modulus protective portion, and the low modulus protective portion are provided in plurality, and wherein the high modulus protective portions, the intermediate modulus protective portions, and the low modulus protective portions are alternately arranged on the rear surface of the display panel along a thickness direction of the display panel.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 11 above.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Park (‘583) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a color filter layer above the display panel.
Further regarding dependent claim 16, Kim et al. (‘821) teaches in figure 5A and the corresponding text, a display device comprising a color filter layer (200) above the display panel for the purpose of effectively emitting various colors.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the color filter of Kim in the display panel of Park for the purpose of effectively emitting various colors.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Park (‘583) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the modulus in the second protective portion changes along a thickness direction of the second protective portion by increasing toward the first protective portion.
Further regarding dependent claim 18, Kim et al. (‘821) teaches in figure 5A and the corresponding text, a display device in which the modulus in the second protective portion changes along a thickness direction of the second protective portion by increasing toward the first protective portion for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the second protective portion changes along a thickness direction of the second protective portion by increasing toward the first protective portion of Kim in the display panel of Park for the purpose of preventing cracking when folding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2023/0174826 teaches the state of the art of a protection layer on a display device.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875