DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19 in the reply filed on July 24th, 2026, are acknowledged. Claims 1, 7 and 19 have been amended. Claims 8, 13 and 18 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 6 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-16 and 18-19 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-16 and 19 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yandoc (US 2021/0296218, hereinafter as Yand ‘218) in view of Tay (US 2020/0273790, hereinafter as Tay ‘790) and further in view of Kuo (US 2001/0044167, hereinafter as Kuo ‘167).
Regarding Claim 1, Yand ‘218 teaches a lead frame (241; [0042]) for connecting a semiconductor die (HEMT die; [0042]) to a base plate (see para. [0049]), the lead frame (241) comprising:
one or more lead portions (pillars (209); [0045]) to connect the lead frame (source clip (204); [0045]) to the base plate (die pad (243); [0043]);
a first contact element (source clip (204); [0045]) to connect to a source (203; [0043]) of the semiconductor die (201; [0043]);
a second contact element (drain clip (228); [0042]) to connect to a drain (227; [0042]) of the semiconductor die (221; [0042]).
Thus, Yand ‘218 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the second contact element comprises at least two contact portions that in an assembled state of the lead frame each contact the drain of the semiconductor die with a contact area thereof, and wherein the contact areas of the respective contact portions are spaced apart from each other”.
Tay ‘790 teaches the second contact element comprises at least two contact portions (114; [0043]) that in an assembled state of the lead frame each contact the drain of the semiconductor die (110; [0045]) with a contact area thereof, and wherein the contact areas of the respective contact portions are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 1B and 1C; [0045]-[0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify by Yand ‘218 having the second contact element comprises at least two contact portions that in an assembled state of the lead frame each contact the drain of the semiconductor die with a contact area thereof, and wherein the contact areas of the respective contact portions are spaced apart from each other for the purpose of improving contact structure for power semiconductor packages (see para. [0002]) as suggested by Tay ‘790.
Thus, Yand ‘218 and Tay ‘790 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the at least three contact portions are arranged parallel to each other with a slit between each pair of neighboring contact portions”.
Kuo ‘167 teaches at least three contact portions (Fig. 3, (422); [0019]) are arranged parallel to each other with a slit between each pair of neighboring contact portions (see Fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify by Yand ‘218 and Tay ‘790 having the at least three contact portions are arranged parallel to each other with a slit between each pair of neighboring contact portions in order to facilitate connection of the terminal to the metal sheet (see para. [0008]) as suggested by Kuo ‘167.
Regarding Claim 2, Yand ‘218 teaches the lead frame (Fig. 5, (241); [0042]) is made as a single component.
Regarding Claim 3, Tay ‘790 teaches the connection between the second contact element and the semiconductor die is formed by a soldered connection between the contact areas of each of the contact portions and the drain of the semiconductor die (see para. [0055]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Tay ‘790 teaches at least one of the contact portions (114; [0043]) of the second contact element comprises an outgassing hole (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Yand ‘218, Tay ‘790 and Kuo ‘167 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “at least one of the contact portions of the second contact element has a width that is smaller than 0.4 mm”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a width of the contact portions of the second contact element is smaller than 0.4 mm on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a width of the contact portions of the second contact element is smaller than 0.4 mm in order to improve the performance of the lead frame.
Regarding Claim 7, Yand ‘218, Tay ‘790 and Kuo ‘167 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the slit has a width that is smaller than a width of the contact portion, and wherein between the width of the slit and the width of the contact portion is a ratio of between 0.1 and 0.3”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the slit has a width that is smaller than a width of the contact portion, and wherein between the width of the slit and the width of the contact portion is a ratio of between 0.1 and 0.3 on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a width of the slit is smaller than a width of the contact portion, and wherein between the width of the slit and the width of the contact portion is a ratio of between 0.1 and 0.3 in order to improve the performance of the lead frame.
Regarding Claim 9, Tay ‘790 teaches the lead frame is made of a material that comprises copper (see para. [0051]).
Regarding Claim 10, Yand ‘218 teaches the first and second contact element are mutually spaced apart in an assembled state of the lead frame (see Fig. 3F).
Regarding Claim 11, Tay ‘790 teaches the second contact element (114; [0043]) comprises a discrete number of individual contact portions (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding Claim 12, Yand ‘218 teaches at least two contact portions (204; [0043]) that in an assembled state of the lead frame each contact the source of the semiconductor die with a contact area thereof, and wherein the contact areas of the respective contact portions are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 3f).
Regarding Claim 14, Yand ‘218 teaches the connection between the second contact element (228) and the semiconductor die (221) is formed by a soldered connection between the contact areas of each of the contact portions and the drain of the semiconductor die (see Fig. 3a-3g; [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kuo ‘167 teaches the second contact element comprises between 3 and 10 individual contact portions (see Fig. 3).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select he second contact element comprises between 3 and 10 individual contact portions on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select he second contact element comprises between 2 and 10 individual contact portions in order to improve the performance of the lead frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-16 and 19, filed on July 24th, 2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893