DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear what “a fixing seat disposed to the second shell” is supposed to mean. It is treated as “a fixing seat disposed on the second shell” as is consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzbetak et al (US 2008/0171970) in view of Garbez et al (US 2018/0008758).
Regarding claim 1, Luzbetak discloses a breast milk collection device, comprising: a first shell 202/208, a second shell 206, and a membrane 100; a middle portion of the first shell provided with a milk suction passage 209 and a milk accumulation chamber 704 outwardly formed by a side wall of the milk suction passage (fig 7B), and a side end of the milk accumulation chamber provided with an opening through the first shell (fig 7B, opening which leads to 210); a fixing seat 402 disposed to/on the second shell (fig 9), and the second shell hermetically connected to the first shell (fig 8); the membrane having a negative pressure diaphragm 106/108/110 (fig 6A) and an annular one-way valve diaphragm 101 connected to an outer edge of the negative pressure diaphragm (fig 6A) that the negative pressure diaphragm is installed on the fixing seat with an adjustable angle (figs 8 and 9 which shows membrane 100 movement) and closely contacts the first shell to block the milk suction passage (fig 8); a negative pressure cavity formed between the negative pressure diaphragm and the second shell (figs 8 and 9, cavity membrane 100 moves in); the opening blocked by contact with the first shell by the one-way valve diaphragm (¶54); a negative pressure hole 708 disposed on the second shell (fig 8), wherein the negative pressure hole is connected to the negative pressure cavity (fig 8).
While Luzbetak substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose a milk storage cavity formed by the cooperation of the first shell and the second shell on an outside of the fixing seat; and a milk discharging hole, the milk discharging hole is connected to the milk storage cavity.
Garbez discloses a milk storage cavity formed by the cooperation of the first shell 12 and the second shell 32 on an outside of the fixing seat (fig 4); and a milk discharging hole 23 (¶24), the milk discharging hole is connected to the milk storage cavity (¶24). The reservoir system of Garbez allows it to be used discreetly by fitting within a woman’s brassiere, often under clothing (¶2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Luzbetak such that it comprises a milk storage cavity formed by the cooperation of the first shell and the second shell on an outside of the fixing seat; and a milk discharging hole, the milk discharging hole is connected to the milk storage cavity as taught by Garbez so that the device may be used discreetly by fitting within a woman’s brassiere, including under clothing.
Regarding claim 3, further comprises a plurality of reinforcing protrusions disposed on the one-way valve diaphragm (see annotated fig 1A below; fig 1B shows lower protrusion, with is the upper right arrow in the fig below, a little more distinctly).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first shell has a cover part (funnel portion of 202), a tube body (which forms cavity 209), and a membrane seat 502, which are integrally formed (¶49); the cover part is trumpet-shaped (fig 202); the milk suction passage is disposed from a middle portion of the cover part (fig 7B), and runs through the tube body and the membrane seat in turn (fig 7B); the milk accumulation chamber and the opening are disposed on the membrane seat (fig 7B); and the negative pressure diaphragm is in close contact with the membrane seat (fig 7B).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising: an annular groove disposed inside the fixing seat; an annular block disposed on the membrane seat, and the annular block surrounded outside the milk suction passage; and a bending portion disposed on the negative pressure diaphragm, and two sides of the bending portion are in close contact with a wall of the annular block and a wall of the annular groove respectively (fig 9, see region slightly left of region indicated as 502).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising: a convex ring disposed on the bending portion that the convex ring is in close contact with an inner wall of the annular groove (convex section of membrane which sits within bend, see fig 9).
Regarding claim 7, while Luzbetak substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose an annular sealing groove formed on the second shell; and an annular sealing ring formed by protrusions on the first shell, wherein the sealing ring is located inside the sealing groove.
Garbez discloses an annular sealing groove formed on the second shell 36 (¶28); and an annular sealing ring formed by protrusions on the first shell 38 (¶28), wherein the sealing ring is located inside the sealing groove (fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Luzbetak such that it includes an annular sealing groove formed on the second shell; and an annular sealing ring formed by protrusions on the first shell, wherein the sealing ring is located inside the sealing groove as taught by Garbez as part of the combination in claim 1 such the device may be used discreetly by fitting within a woman’s brassiere, including under clothing.
Regarding claim 8, while Luzbetak substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose a connecting part disposed on the second shell, wherein an end of the connecting part is provided with a connecting groove communicated with the milk discharging hole, and a wall surface of the connecting groove is provided with an internal thread.
Garbez discloses the milk discharging hole as being used to pour out milk by inverting the reservoir (¶48).
One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the milk discharging hole is open at all times and it may be desirable to plug during transportation (in the event the reservoir is inverted accidently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Luzbetak with a connecting part (in the form of a plug) disposed on the second shell, wherein an end of the connecting part is provided with a connecting groove communicated with the milk discharging hole, and a wall surface of the connecting groove is provided with an internal thread (to allow the plug to remain in place without sufficient force to overcome the thread/groove interaction of plug and hole) as suggested by Garbez to prevent accidental discharge of milk from the reservoir during transportation.
Regarding claim 9, further comprising: an annular sealing groove formed on the first shell; and an annular sealing ring formed by protrusions on the second shell, wherein the sealing ring is located inside the sealing groove (fig 9 of Luzbetak; alternatively see claim 7 above).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzbetak et al (US 2008/0171970) in view of Garbez et al (US 2018/0008758) and Xu (US 2024/0207493).
Regarding claim 2, while Luzbetak substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the second shell has a stopper protrusion on both sides of the opening, and the stopper protrusions are in contact with the one-way valve diaphragm.
Xu discloses a valve receptacle 326 (fig 1) which shows one stopper protrusion and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a mirror protrusion hidden by 322/324 in the figure as it intended to receive the valve (¶44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Luzbetak such that the second shell has a stopper protrusion on both sides of the opening, and the stopper protrusions are in contact with the one-way valve diaphragm as suggested by Xu to assist in maintaining the valve in the proper location.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzbetak et al (US 2008/0171970) in view of Garbez et al (US 2018/0008758) and Gossington et al (US 2025/0367352).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, while Luzbetak substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wherein an included angle formed between an axis of the negative pressure diaphragm and a normal line of the one-way valve diaphragm is within the range of -5° to 5°, nor wherein an included angle formed between an axis of the membrane seat and a normal line of the plane where the opening is located is within the range of -5° to 5°.
Gossington discloses a breast pump where an included angle formed between an axis of the negative pressure diaphragm 172 and a normal line of the one-way valve diaphragm 162 (or 164) is within the range of -5° to 5° (negative pressure diaphragm and one-way valve diaphragm lie in same plane as per fig 3), and wherein an included angle formed between an axis of the membrane seat 119 and a normal line of the plane where the opening 122 is located is within the range of -5° to 5° (lie in same plane as per fig 3). The arrangement of Gossington is part of a design to provide efficient collection of milk while maintaining suction to a user’s nipple (¶10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Luzbetak such that an included angle formed between an axis of the negative pressure diaphragm and a normal line of the one-way valve diaphragm is within the range of -5° to 5°, and wherein an included angle formed between an axis of the membrane seat and a normal line of the plane where the opening is located is within the range of -5° to 5° as taught by Gossington to provide efficient collection of milk while maintaining suction to a user’s nipple; and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783