DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the amended claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been fully considered in view of new grounds of rejection by relying on the teachings of Scalisi et al. (US 20200082679 A1) in view of Howarter et al. (US 20080129498 A1), Wisdom (US 20170196195 A1), and Schairer et al. (US 20200211546 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi et al. (US 20200082679 A1) in view of Howarter et al. (US 20080129498 A1) and Wisdom (US 20170196195 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi discloses a system, comprising:
one or more memories ([0437]); and
at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories ([0437]) and configured to perform operations comprising:
detecting an activation of a user interface element of a smart doorbell (202, 212, and 218 of figs. 1 and 3, [0010], [0275], and [0289] a motion detector of the doorbell; [0051] and [0278], and [0283] a button being pressed by a visitor); and
in response to detecting the activation of the user interface element (e.g. 212 and 218 of fig. 2):
receiving, from a device external to the housing ([0056], [0294], and [0347] a remote computer performs an image recognition to indicate the presence of the visitor), an indication that a first user that activated the user interface element of the smart doorbell has been recognized via facial recognition ([0228] and [0263] the user activated the doorbell system by pressing the doorbell button or triggering a motion or proximity sensor; [0056], [0294], and [0347] the remote computer performs the image recognition to indicate the presence of the visitor. It is noted that paragraph [0294] of Scalisi discloses the security system 202 can use any type of identity recognition technology, such as facial recognition, to determine an indication of an identity of a visitor as disclosed in U.S. Nonprovisional patent application Ser. No. 14/612,376, which is the patent application publication (US 20150145993 A1); filed Feb. 3, 2015; and entitled DOORBELL COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS AND METHODS. The entire contents of patent application Ser. No. 14/612,376 are incorporated by reference herein. Furthermore, the patent application publication (US 20150145993 A1) discloses the functionality module of the security system, 202 and 2510 of fig. 25, the service provider is remote from the security system and comprises the operating module, 202, 2604, and 2624 of fig. 26, and paragraphs [0498]-[0499] that describe the service provider is remote from the security system and comprises the operating module that may have facial recognition functionality capable of identifying a potential visitor. Facial recognition may also be used to determine if a human is present; and the operating module may be configured to communicate and interact with the functionality module of the security system, as well as the remote computing device);
determining that a first doorbell chime ([0018]-[0019], [0276], and [0285] a first sound) is to be activated based on the received indication ([0015] a sound emitted by a speaker of the chime in response to the doorbell detecting an indication of a presence of a visitor; [0294] the indication of the presence of the visitor is identified; [0276] to [0277]; and [0285] to [0286]) and a first rule of the one or more rules that is specific to the first user ([0040], [0049], [0350], and [0356] predetermined conditions are rules in variants as a visitation time, time of day, a period of days, a time on vacation; and figure 26 is one example for the various predetermined conditions as rules; [0357] For example, the first timeframe might include overnight and morning hours when the resident is either sleeping or getting ready for work. The first sound may thereby inform a visitor that the resident is busy and that the visitor should come back another time. As well, the second timeframe might include daytime hours, when the resident is away at work), wherein the first rule specifies the first doorbell chime is to be activated based on the first user activating the user interface element of the smart doorbell ([0015] and [0117] a first sound, [0276] in response to receiving the first indication of the visitor's presence, the security system 202 can emit a first sound with the speaker 488 (at step 562)), and wherein a second rule of the one or more rules that is specific to a second user different from the first user specifies a second doorbell chime is to be activated on the second user activating the user interface element of the smart doorbell ([0018]-[0019] recognizing, by a doorbell, a first visitor; emitting the first sound from the chime in response to recognizing the first visitor; and emitting a second sound from the chime in response to not recognizing, by the doorbell, a second visitor, wherein the first sound and the second sound are different, [0293] if the security system 202 detects a second visitor, such as an unknown party (e.g. a solicitor), the security system 202 can emit an unfriendly sound, no matter how the second visitor approaches the home, or during what time of day);
causing a second signal to be transmitted to activate the first doorbell chime ([0018] and [0019] a doorbell system to emit a first sound from a chime. Methods can include recognizing, by a doorbell, a first visitor; emitting the first sound from the chime in response to recognizing the first visitor; [0053], [0276], and [0293] emit certain sounds in response to detecting the specific visitors).
It is noted that Scalisi does not teach transmitting, by a wireless interface of the smart doorbell, a first signal to at least one video camera that is not included within the housing, wherein the first signal is a wireless signal that causes the at least one video camera to activate and provide a video stream.
Howarter teaches transmitting, by a wireless interface of the smart doorbell, a first signal to at least one video camera that is not included within the housing, wherein the first signal is a wireless signal that causes the at least one video camera to activate and provide a video stream ([0005] a doorbell may indicate that an individual is present at the doorbell. The doorbell sends a signal indicating the doorbell is activated. A wireless camera may communicate with the doorbell for recording security content of the individual at the doorbell. The wireless camera records the security content when the signal is received. A cell phone may communicate with the wireless camera an indicates to a user that the signal is received and displays the security content to the user; [0038] The doorbell 308 communicates with the front door camera 304 and other wireless devices, such as the wireless router 110 of FIG. 1 for sending and receiving data. For example, when the doorbell 308 is pushed or activated by an individual, the doorbell may instruct the front door camera to stream live data, record a video, or take a still image of the person at the door 306 to send to the cell phone 312 or the set top box 103 of FIG. 1. The doorbell 308 may be equipped to send and receive network signals directly or through broadcast devices using protocols such as Bluetooth.RTM., WiFi, WiMAX.TM., CDMA, GSM, and other wireless protocols and standards; [0061] The signal may be sent by a transceiver of the doorbell. The signal may be sent directly to another device or may be sent through an interconnected wireless network. For example, the signal may be sent to a wired or wireless camera, a set top box, a home router, a home computer, a television, or a cell phone. The signal may activate a wireless camera and set top box for streaming security content to the set top box and connected television. The doorbell may also include a camera that records or streams wireless images from the doorbell as part of the signal).
Taking the teachings of Scalisi and Howarter together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless interface of the smart doorbell for transmitting the wireless signal to activate the wireless, 304 and 308 of fig. 3, of Howarter into the doorbell system of Scalisi to provide additional security to individuals by making security content more readily available both within the home and at remote locations.
It is noted that Scalisi and Howarter are silent about a cameraless doorbell; determining a number of times the first doorbell chime is to be activated based on a third rule of the one or more rules; and causing a second signal to be transmitted in accordance with the number of times to repeatedly activate the first doorbell chime.
Wisdom teaches a cameraless doorbell ([0029] a door bell system); determining a number of times the first doorbell chime is to be activated based on a third rule of the one or more rules ([0028] a predetermined number of times; [0029] the playback module 16 is operatively connected to a door bell system (not shown) of an enclosure); and causing a second signal to be transmitted in accordance with the number of times to repeatedly activate the first doorbell chime ([0028] the playback module 16 is configured to repeat playback of the selected audio message a predetermined number of times upon activation of the pressure-sensing switch 24, the first signal of the pressure-sensing switch is wired and/or wireless to be transmitted to the playback module to repeatedly play the selected audio message with the number of times; [0029] the playback module 16 is operatively connected to a door bell system (not shown) of an enclosure).
Taking the teachings of Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cameraless doorbell with the determined number of times to repeatedly playback the doorbell chime of Wisdom onto the doorbell system of Scalisi and Howarter to reduce cost and to enable a user of the doorbell system to select the number of times the playback module plays the selected audio message.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Scalisi and Howarter teach the system of claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi further teaches wherein the one or more rules further specify a time period within which the first doorbell chime may be activated, and wherein determining that the first doorbell chime is to be activated based on the one or more rules comprises: determining that the activation of the user interface element of the smart doorbell is detected during the time period ([0044], [0285], and [0357] For example, the first timeframe might include overnight and morning hours when the resident is either sleeping or getting ready for work. The first sound may thereby inform a visitor that the resident is busy and that the visitor should come back another time. As well, the second timeframe might include daytime hours, when the resident is away at work).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom teach the system of claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi further teaches wherein the one or more rules further specify which doorbell chime from a plurality of doorbell chimes is to be activated based on a time period in which the user interface element of the smart doorbell is activated ([0291] and [0293]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom teach the system of claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi further teaches wherein causing the first signal to be transmitted to activate the first doorbell chime comprises at least one of: causing the first signal to be transmitted to a doorbell chime speaker external to the housing via a wired connection; or wirelessly transmitting the first signal to a wireless speaker external to the housing (448b of fig. 3 and 33, the chime 302 that may include a speaker 488b configurable to emit sounds and wireless communications with the doorbell, 230 of fig. 34, [0375] and [0376]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom teach the system of claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi further teaches the operations further comprising: transmitting a second wireless signal to a display device external to the housing that causes the display device to perform at least one of: transitioning itself to a power on state; or displaying the video stream (203 computing device of figs. 3 and 34).
Regarding claims 21-23, Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom teach the system of claims 1, 8, and 15, Scalisi further teaches the operations further comprising: determining a duration the first doorbell chime is to be played back based on the one or more rules ([0285] the security system 202 can be configured to receive an indication of a visitor's presence at a first time of day (at step 570). The first time of day can occur between sunrise and sunset, or any other time of day. In response to receiving the indication of the visitor's presence at the first time of day, the security system 202 can emit a first sound with the speaker 488 (at step 572)).
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi et al. (US 20200082679 A1) in view of Howarter et al. (US 20080129498 A1) and Wisdom (US 20170196195 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, and further in view of Schairer et al. (US 20200211546 A1).
Regarding claims 24-26, Scalisi, Howarter, and Wisdom are silent about wherein at least one of the one or more rules is determined utilizing a machine learning model.
Schairer teaches wherein at least one of the one or more rules is determined utilizing a machine learning model ([0063] in various implementations one or more rules can be supplemented or replaced by one or more trained machine learning models).
Taking the teachings of Scalisi, Howarter, Wisdom, and Schairer together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning models of Schairer into the doorbell system of Scalisi and Howarter and Wisdom to set up rules for the doorbell more effective so that this can also conserve network resources by reducing a quantity of commands that need to be transmitted in various situations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siminoff (US 20180268674 A1) discloses the process may also detect the visitor's presence when the visitor presses a doorbell button of the A/V recording and communication device (e.g., if the A/V recording and communication device is a video doorbell). As soon as the visitor's presence is detected, the process may send, at block 520, identification data to one or more servers that may be capable of identifying and/or assigning a threat level to the person of the person's face recognition.
Bart et al. (US 20180350213 A1) discloses the control unit 112 may utilize facial recognition software to identify matches in the captured images and the stored images of known users.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425