DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9 – 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 December 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, as represented in at least Fig. 3a, in the reply filed on 22 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Regarding Claim 5,
This claim recites the limitation “a separating layer”; however, no such layer is found in at least Fig. 3a of the elected Species I.
Regarding Claim 7,
This claim recites the limitation “a third section having a third height”; however, no such section is found in at least Fig. 3a of the elected Species I.
Regarding Claim 15,
This claim recites the limitation “an undoped GaN layer”; however, no such layer is found in at least Fig. 3a of the elected Species I.
Therefore, the above limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HYBRID P-GAN GATE GAN HEMT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 7, & 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by OH (US 20210336045 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
OH discloses:
A field effect transistor (FET) device (Fig. 22: 600), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 23: 110);
a gallium nitride (GaN) structure (Fig. 25: 120/130/640s; Par. 130) covering a portion of the substrate;
a gate metal layer (Fig. 25: 650/660; Par. 131 & Fig. 2: 150/160; Par. 84 – 88, where 650/660 & 150/160 comprise the same materials, respectively; Par. 107 & 111) on top of the GaN structure;
wherein the GaN structure comprises:
at least one first section (Fig. 25: 640 under horizontal 640/650 interface) having a first height, and
a second section (Fig. 25: 640 under horizontal 640/660 interface) having a second height that is smaller than the first height;
wherein a first interface (Fig. 25: 640/650 interface) between the at least one first section of the GaN structure and the gate metal layer has ohmic contact properties (Par. 131); and
wherein a second interface (Fig. 25: 640/660 interface) between the second section of the GaN structure and the gate metal layer has non-ohmic contact properties (Par. 132).
Regarding Claim 2,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim1,
wherein the first interface forms an ohmic contact (Par. 131), and/or
wherein the second interface forms a Schottky junction (Par. 132) or a p-n junction.
The Examiner requests, in response to this Office Action, Applicant cancel the limitation “or a p-n junction” from Lin. 3 of Claim 2, as this limitation is not drawn to elected Species I but is, instead, drawn to non-elected Species II – V.
Regarding Claim 4,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the GaN structure comprises a plurality of first sections that are separated from each other (As seen in Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 5,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein a separating layer (Fig. 25: 660) is arranged around the first interface on the GaN structure to physically separate the first interface from the second interface (As seen in Fig. 22, 23, & 25).
Regarding Claim 6,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the GaN structure comprises a sloped transition region from the first section to the second section.
(Fig. 25: the GaN structure comprises a vertically sloped and instantaneous transition region from the first section to the second section.)
Regarding Claim 7,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the GaN structure further comprises a third section (Fig. 25: 130) having a third height that is different from the first and the second height (As seen in Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 17,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the FET device is a GaN-gate high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) device (Par. 71).
Regarding Claim 18,
OH discloses:
Method of fabricating a field effect transistor (FET) device (Fig. 5 – 8), comprising the steps of:
providing a substrate (Fig. 5: 110);
forming a gallium nitride (GaN) structure (Fig. 5 – 6: 140; Par. 82) on top of the substrate,
wherein the GaN structure comprises at least one first section (Fig. 7: section of 140 under 150) having a first height, and a second section (Fig. 7: section of 140 not under 150) having a second height that is smaller than the first height;
forming a gate metal layer (Fig. 7 – 8: 150/160; Par. 84 – 88) on top of the GaN structure;
wherein a first interface (Fig. 8: 140/150 interface) between the at least one first section of the GaN structure and the gate metal layer has ohmic contact properties (Par. 85), and
wherein a second interface (Fig. 8: 140/160 interface) between the second section of the GaN structure and the gate metal layer has non-ohmic contact properties (Par. 87).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH.
Regarding Claim 3,
OH does not disclose:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the first interface makes up less than 10% of a total interface area between the GaN structure and the gate metal layer, the total interface area comprising the first interface and the second interface.
However, OH does disclose simulated data (Fig. 4; Par. 94) providing the relationship between gate leakage current and the percentage the second interface—and, thus, the first interface—makes up of the total interface area between the GaN structure and the gate metal layer, the total interface area comprising the first interface and the second interface.
Further, this data is provided for the scenario where the first interface makes up 7% (Fig. 4: 93% trendline) of the total interface area between the GaN structure and the gate metal layer, the total interface area comprising the first interface and the second interface.
As such, OH recognizes the percentage the first interface makes up of the total interface area between the GaN structure and the gate metal layer, the total interface area comprising the first interface and the second interface, is a result effective variable, as said percentage provides a means to balance the amount of gate leakage current and turn-on resistance reduction (OH Par. 97). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a value of said percentage in OH to fall within the claimed range as a means to strike a desired balance between gate current leakage and turn-on resistance reduction.
Claims 8, 15, 16, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH in view of OKAWA (US 20160380091 A1).
Regarding Claim 8,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the GaN structure comprises a p-doped GaN, pGaN, layer (Fig 25: 640; Par. 130)
OH does not disclose:
wherein a concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer is higher in a region below the first interface than in a region below the second interface.
OKAWA discloses:
wherein a concentration of p-dopants (As seen in Fig. 9) in the pGaN layer (Fig. 9: 34; Par. 33 & 51) is higher in a region (Fig. 9: 34a) below the first interface (Fig. 9: 38a) than in a region (Fig. 9: 34b) below the second interface (Fig. 9: 37a).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of OH with those of OKAWA to enable a concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer to be higher in a region below the first interface than in a region below the second interface in OH according to the teachings of OKAWA for the further advantage of suppressing undesirable gate-leakage current (OKAWA Par. 51). Further still, a higher concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer below the first interface is known in the art to improve the ohmic characteristics of said first interface.
Regarding Claim 15,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 8,
wherein the GaN structure further comprises an undoped GaN layer (Fig. 25: 120; Par. 75).
Regarding Claim 16,
OH discloses:
The FET device of claim 1,
wherein the gate metal layer is formed by a metal stack (As seen in Fig. 25),
OH does not disclose:
wherein the metal stack comprises any one of the following material combinations: Ni/Au, Ni/Ag, Pd/Au, Cr/Au, Pt/Au, Ti/Pt/Au, Ni/Si, W/Si, Ti/Al, Ti/Al/Ti, or TiN/AI/TiN.
OKAWA discloses:
wherein the metal stack (Fig. 9: 37/38) comprises any one of the following material combinations: Ni/Au, Ni/Ag, Pd/Au, Cr/Au, Pt/Au, Ti/Pt/Au, Ni/Si, W/Si, Ti/Al, Ti/Al/Ti, or TiN/AI/TiN (Par. 35: 38 may comprise Pt, Pb, or an alloy thereof & Par. 36: 37 may comprise Ni, W, Ti, Al, or an alloy thereof).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of OH with those of OKAWA to enable the metal stack to comprise Ti/Al or Ti/Al/Ti in OH according to the teachings of OKAWA, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable material combinations for the metal stack. As such, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try said material combinations in order to determine which yields the best device functionality.
Regarding Claim 19,
OH discloses:
The method of claim 18,
wherein the GaN structure comprises a p-doped GaN, pGaN, layer (Fig 2: 140; Par. 82);
OH does not disclose:
wherein a concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer is higher in a region below the first interface than in a region below the second interface.
OKAWA discloses:
wherein a concentration of p-dopants (As seen in Fig. 9) in the pGaN layer (Fig. 9: 34; Par. 33 & 51) is higher in a region (Fig. 9: 34a) below the first interface (Fig. 9: 38a) than in a region (Fig. 9: 34b) below the second interface (Fig. 9: 37a).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of OH with those of OKAWA to enable a concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer to be higher in a region below the first interface than in a region below the second interface in OH according to the teachings of OKAWA for the further advantage of suppressing undesirable gate-leakage current (OKAWA Par. 51). Further still, a higher concentration of p-dopants in the pGaN layer below the first interface is known in the art to improve the ohmic characteristics of said first interface.
Conclusion
/K.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898