Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, directed at the embodiment of Fig. 3A, is acknowledged. However, Claim 10 has not been withdrawn. Claim 10 is directed towards the GaN layer 15 having a pGaN portion 15-1 and an nGaN portion 15-2, which appears in Figs. 8a-8d which are incongruous with the embodiment of Fig. 3A. Therefore, claims 10-12 are considered withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20210336045 to Oh et al. (Oh) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20130320400 to Hurkx et al. (Hurkx).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 14 and 16, Oh teaches in Fig. 2 at least, a field effect transistor, (FET) device, and an associated method comprising:
a substrate 110;
a gallium nitride (GaN) structure 140, [0082] covering a portion of the substrate;
a gate metal layer 150/160 on top of the GaN structure;
wherein the gate metal layer comprises:
at least one first section 150 being formed from a first material composition [0085], and
a second section 160 being formed from a second material composition that is different from the first material composition [0088];
wherein a first interface between the GaN structure and the at least one first section of the gate metal layer has ohmic contact properties [0085]; and
wherein a second interface between the GaN structure and the second section of the gate metal layer has non-ohmic (Schottky, relevant to Claims 14 and 16) contact properties [0086].
Oh does not explicitly teach that the at least one first section and the second section are arranged adjacent to one another on the GaN structure such that an upper surface of the at least one first section is free from being covered by the second section.
However, in analogous art, Hurkx teaches in Fig. 7 at least a Schottky electrode 120 adjacent to an ohmic electrode 130 such that an upper surface of the at least one first section is free from being covered by the second section. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to include the teaching of Hurkx to simplify the gate structure of Oh by reducing patterning steps required to form the structure of Oh.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of Claim 1 and method of Claim 14 wherein the at least one first section of the gate metal layer is formed from a first metal stack [0085], and/or wherein the second section of the gate metal layer is formed from a second metal stack [0088].
Regarding Claim 9, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of Claim 1 wherein the GaN structure comprises a p-doped GaN, pGaN, layer [0085].
Regarding Claim 13, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of Claim 1 wherein the FET device(10) is a GaN-gate high electron mobility transistor, HEMT,(HEMT) device.
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of Claim 1 and method of Claim 14 but does not explicitly teach that the first interface makes up less than 10% of a total interface area between the GaN structure and the gate metal layer, the total interface area comprising the first interface and the second interface.
However, Oh teaches that the ratio between the Schottky and Ohmic regions directly affects leakage current [0090] and is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to achieve application specific results (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding Claim 8, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of Claim 7 but does not explicitly teach that the first metal stack and/or the second metal stack comprises any one of the following material combinations: Ni/Au, Ni/Ag, Pd/Au, Cr/Au, Pt/Au, Ti/Pt/Au, Ni/Si, W/Si, Ti/Al, Ti/Al/Ti, or TiN/Al/TiN. However, Oh teaches throughout the importance of the differing work function between the first 150 and second 160 portions of the gate metal and the depletion forming layer 140 in contact. Oh further teaches that either portion may be formed of various materials to achieve that end [0085,0088]. Therefore, the person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Oh may select materials according to the teachings of Oh to achieve the stated benefits and arrive at the various combinations claimed.
Regarding Claim 20, Oh and Hurkx teach the FET device of claim 1, wherein the at least one first section and the second section are arranged non-overlappingly adjacent to one another and have an equal thickness (see Fig. 7 of Hurkx).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVREN SEVEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812