The amendment and response filed on May 26, 2026 are received.
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application, claims 4-15 are withdrawn from further consideration (see Restriction/Election below), and claims 1-3 and 16-19 are being examined.
Answer to Arguments:
Withdrawn Rejection(s):
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones, et al. (Fire and Materials, 2018, Vol. 42, p. 816 – 882), is withdrawn due to the amendment to claim 1 (i.e., inserting --, wherein the biofiller comprises rye berry grain--) filed on 05/26/2026.
Applicant arguments with respect to the above-mentioned 102 rejection is moot, because the rejection is withdrawn due to the amendment to claim 1 (i.e., inserting --, wherein the biofiller comprises rye berry grain--), filed on 05/26/2026, and further in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant's amendment to claim 1 (i.e., inserting --, wherein the biofiller comprises rye berry grain--), necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 2, the limitation ”wherein the biofiller is an organic filler, an inorganic filler, or a combination thereof”, fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim 1 upon which it depends, because the limitation “an organic filler, an inorganic filler, or a combination thereof” in claim 2 is broader than “rye berry grains” in claim 1 (as amended).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xing et al. ( Xing, Yangang, et al. "Growing and testing mycelium bricks as building insulation materials." IOP conference series: earth and environmental science. Vol. 121. No. 2. IOP Publishing, 2018, p. 1-6).
Regarding claim 1, Xing et al. disclose a mycelium composite material comprising: a fungi generated mycelium fiber matrix; and a biofiller dispersed within the matrix, wherein the biofiller provides a structural element and nutrition source for the fungi and the mycelium fibers bind the biofiller, wherein the biofiller comprises rye berry grains (mycelium bricks/blocks comprising well colonized rye grains, etc.) (See for example, p. 2 paragraph 2.3. and p. 4 figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Xing et al. disclose the mycelium composite material of claim 1, wherein the biofiller is an organic filler, an inorganic filler, or a combination thereof (composite material comprising colonized rye grains and wheat straw) (See for example, , p. 2 paragraph 2.3.).
Regarding claim 3, Xing et al. disclose the mycelium composite material of claim 1, further including a core of fungi colonized substrate encased by a water-repellant fungi skin, wherein the core and skin include a mycelium fiber network (mycelium bricks/blocks) (See for example, p. 2 paragraph 2.3. and p. 4 figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Xing et al. disclose the mycelium composite material of claim 1, being heated to kill any living microbes in the mycelium composite (rye grains substrates sterilized by autoclaving before use, etc.) (See for example, p. 2 paragraphs 2.3.).
Regarding claim 19, Xing et al. disclose the mycelium composite material of claim 1, provided on or within a building envelope (mycelium bricks/blocks) (See for example, p. 2 paragraph 2.3. and p. 4 figure 2).
Xing et al. disclose therefore anticipate the claimed mycelium composite material.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 16-19 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 17 and 19 above, and further in view of previously cited Jones, et al. (Fire and Materials, 2018, Vol. 42, p. 816 – 882) and Freshcap (Freshcap.com. Understanding Mushroom Substrates, 2017, 13 pages of PDF).
The teachings of Xing et al. with respect to the limitations of claims 1-3 and 17, and 19 were discussed above in detail.
Xing et al. do not teach the biofiller includes a source of silica in the nutrition source to enhance fire resistance of the mycelium composite (claim 16), and the mycelium composite material being pressure molded to enhance mechanical strength of the mycelium composite material (claim 18).
However, regarding claim 16, Jone set al. teach a mycelium composite material wherein the biofiller includes a source of silica in the nutrition source to enhance fire resistance of the mycelium composite (composite constituents rice hull and glass fines containing silica) (See for example, p. 819 left-hand column 3.1 2nd paragraph and p. 823 right-hand column 4. Conclusion).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention knowing that including a source of silica in the nutrition source in the biofiller enhanced the fire resistance of the mycelium composite (teachings of Jones et al.) would have been motivated to apply the teachings of prior art and modify the biofiller in the composite material taught by Xing et al. by including a source of silica in the nutrition source in the biofiller with a reasonable expectation of success in providing the claimed mycelium composite of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Freshcap teaches pressure molding mycelium composite material (sawdust fruiting blocks substrate sterilized by heating under pressure at 15 psi, which is equivalent of 103.4 kPa, and sterilization under 250 F which is equivalent to 121.1 °C) (See for example, p. 4 last paragraph -Continued on p. 5 1st paragraph).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to apply the known technique of pressure molding taught by the prior art (as taught by Freshcap) to the mycelium composite of Xing et al. with biofiller with a reasonable expectation of success in pressure molding the mycelium composite to enhance mechanical strength of the mycelium composite material and provide the claimed mycelium composite of claim 18.
Conclusion(s):
No claims is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KADE ARIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651