CTNF 18/467,984 CTNF 86192 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) . Regarding claim 1, Hoang discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device Fig 15 , comprising: a logic layer comprising a logic circuit Fig 15,1501b ; a first memory layer Fig 15,1501a at a first side of the logic layer Fig 15,1501b , the first memory layer comprising a first memory cell ¶0076; a second memory layer Fig 15,1503a at a second side of the logic layer Fig 15,1501b , the second memory layer comprising a second memory cell ¶0076, the second side opposing the first side Fig 15 ; and a bonding layer between the logic layer and the first memory layer, the bonding layer comprising a conductive structure that is coupled to the logic circuit and a first memory cell ¶0075-0077. Regarding claim 2, Hoang discloses wherein the bonding layer is a first bonding layer, the conductive structure is a first conductive structure, and the IC device further comprises: a second bonding layer between the logic layer and the second memory layer, the second bonding layer comprising a second conductive structure that is coupled to the logic circuit and a second memory cell ¶0047-0052, 0055, 0059, 0075-0076 Fig 15. Regarding claim 3, Hoang discloses wherein: the logic circuit comprises a transistor, the logic layer further comprises an additional conductive structure, and the additional conductive structure is at the first side of the transistor and is coupled to the conductive structure ¶0049-0052 Fig 8C. Regarding claim 6, Hoang discloses one or more additional memory layers at the first side or the second side of the logic layer, wherein the one or more additional layers are over the first memory layer or the second memory layer, and the one or more additional layers comprises additional memory cells coupled to the logic circuit Fig 15 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) in view of Cheng et al (US Publication No. 2020/0328180) . Regarding claim 4, Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the additional components. Whereas Cheng discloses wherein the logic layer further comprises a third memory cell, and the third memory cell is of a different type from the first memory cell or the second memory cell ¶0054 and 0064 Fig 4A-4B. Hoang and Cheng are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hoang because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Hoang and incorporate the teachings of Cheng to improve device performance. Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses wherein the first memory cell or the second memory cell is a DRAM cell, and the third memory cell is a SRAM cell ¶0054 and 0064 Fig 4A-4B . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) . Regarding claim 7, Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the distance between conductive structures. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) in view of Shao et al (US Publication no. 2023/0292486) . Regarding claim 8, Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the capacitor. Whereas Shao discloses wherein the first memory cell or the second memory cell comprises a transistor and a capacitor, the capacitor is coupled to an electrode of the transistor, the electrode is over a source region or drain region of the transistor ¶0128. Hoang and Shao are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hoang because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Hoang and incorporate the teachings of Shao to improve device performance. Regarding claim 9, Hoang discloses the first memory cell further comprises a bit line, and the bit line is coupled to the logic circuit and to an additional electrode of the transistor, and the additional electrode is over a channel region of the transistor ¶0033-0035, 0048, 0051, 0059 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) in view of Suthram et al (US Publication No. 2023/0420363) . Regarding claim 10, Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of transistor. Whereas Suthram discloses wherein the logic circuit comprises a P-type metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a N-type metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor ¶0183. Hoang and Suthram are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shao because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hoang and incorporate the teachings of Suthram as an alternative transistor known in the art to improve device performance . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al (US Publication no. 2023/0292486) in view of Hoang et al (US Publication No 2021/0342676) and Fan et al (US Publication no. 2023/0422520) . Regarding claim 11, Shao discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: an array of first transistors in a first layer Fig 4B, 20 , an individual first transistor coupled to a first bit line or a first word line in the first layer ¶0121-0126; an array of second transistors in a second layer Fig 4B, 21 , an individual second transistor coupled to a second bit line or a second word line in the second layer ¶0132-0135; and a group of third transistors in a third layer, an individual third transistor ¶0173-0175.Shao is silent on the arrangement of the third layer. Whereas Hoang discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: an array of first transistors in a first layer, an array of second transistors in a second layer, and a group of third transistors in a third layer, an individual third transistor is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein the third layer is between the first layer and the second layer, and the third transistor is coupled to the first bit line, the first word line, the second bit line, or the second word line Fig 15 ¶0033-0035, 0047- 0051, 0059. Shao and Hoang are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shao because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Shao and incorporate the teachings of Hoang to improve capacity. Shao and Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of transistor. Whereas Fan discloses an individual third transistor is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors ¶0092. Shao and Fan are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shao because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shao and incorporate the teachings of Fan as an alternative transistor known in the art to improve device performance. Regarding claim 12, Hoang discloses a fourth layer between the first layer and the third layer, the fourth layer comprising conductive structures coupled to the array of first transistors and to the group of third transistors Fig 15-18. Regarding claim 13, Hoang discloses a fifth layer between the second layer and the third layer, the fourth layer comprising conductive structures coupled to the array of second transistors and to the group of third transistors Fig 15-18. Regarding claim 14, Shao, Hoang and Fan discloses all the limitations but silent on the distance between conductive structures. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955). Regarding claim 15, Hoang in view of Shao discloses the third transistor is connected to a conductive structure in the third layer, the conductive structure is between the third transistor and the first layer, and the conductive structure is coupled to the array of first transistors Fig 15-18. Regarding claim 16, Shao discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device, the method comprising: forming an array of first transistors in a first layer Fig 4B, 20 ; forming a first bit line and a first word line in the first layer¶0121-0126; forming an array of second transistors in a second layer Fig 4B, 21 ; forming a second bit line and a second word line in the first layer¶0132-0135; forming transistors in a third layer¶0173-0175. Shao discloses all the limitations but silent on the bonding process. Whereas Hoang discloses forming transistors in a third layer and after the metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors are formed, forming the IC device by bonding the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer, wherein an individual metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor is coupled to the first bit line, the first word line, the second bit line, or the second word line, and the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer in the IC device Fig 15 ¶0033-0035, 0047- 0051, 0059. Shao and Hoang are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shao because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Shao and incorporate the teachings of Hoang to improve capacity. Shao and Hoang discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of transistor. Whereas Fan discloses an individual third transistor is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors ¶0092. Shao and Fan are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shao because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shao and incorporate the teachings of Fan as an alternative transistor known in the art to improve device performance. Regarding claim 17, Hoang in view of Fan discloses wherein bonding the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer comprises: forming a fourth layer between the first layer and the third layer, the fourth layer comprising conductive structures coupled to the array of first transistors and to the metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors Fig 15-18 ¶0033-0035, 0047- 0051, 0059. Regarding claim 18, Hoang in view of Fan discloses wherein bonding the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer further comprises: forming a fifth layer between the second layer and the third layer, the fourth layer comprising conductive structures coupled to the array of second transistors and to the metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors Fig 15-18 ¶0033-0035, 0047- 0051, 0059. Regarding claim 19, Shao, Hoang and Fan discloses all the limitations but silent on the distance between conductive structures. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955). Regarding claim 20, Hoang in view of Fan discloses forming a conductive structure between the metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and the first layer, wherein the conductive structure is connected to the metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and is coupled to the array of first transistors Fig 15-18 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTINE A ENAD whose telephone number is (571)270-7891. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7:30 am -4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynne Gurley can be reached at 571 272 1670. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 2 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 3 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 4 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 5 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 6 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 7 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 8 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 9 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/467,984 Page 10 Art Unit: 2811