DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The following are claim interpretations throughout this application:
“iron core” is understood to reference the extent of an electromagnet other than its coils. This is supported by Fig. 2, which notes that both parts (24) and (25) are part of the core.
“excitation coil” is understood to reference the coil portion of an electromagnet.
“beam passing gap” is understood to mean an area through which a beam could pass, notwithstanding other structures that may or may not be added therein.
“a main vacuum duct” and “sub-vacuum duct” are understood to indicate a tube or elongated chamber. No pressure state is understood to be claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 11339998A [Okuda] in view of US 5,117,194 [Nakanishi].
Regarding Claim 1:
Okawa teaches an electromagnet comprising:
a core (Fig. 1 (1’, 3)) provided with at least one beam passing gap for travel of a separated charged particle beam, in addition to a main region for travel of the charged particle beam (see gaps in annotated Fig. 1 below);
an excitation coil wound around the iron core (Fig. 1 (9, 2));
a main vacuum duct, provided in the main region of the iron core, inside which the charged particle beam travels (see annotated Fig. 1 above and the duct corresponding to main beam passing gap); and
a sub-vacuum duct, provided in the beam passing gap of the iron core, inside which the separated charged particle beam travels (see annotated Fig. 1 above and the duct corresponding to separated beam passing gap).
However, Okawa fails to teach that the core is an iron core.
Like both Okawa and the instant invention, Nakanishi describes electromagnets in a particle accelerator. Nakanishi teaches cores made of iron. 6:4-14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to follow the teachings of Nakanishi regarding the composition of magnetic elements, and modify the core and poles of Okawa such that they are made of iron. One would have been motivated to do so since Nakanishi demonstrates that using iron for its magnetic properties is effective in the context of an electromagnet.
Regarding Claim 2:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches electromagnet according to claim 1, wherein the iron core is provided with a plurality of the beam passing gaps. As can be seen in Okawa Fig. 1 above, there are any number of gaps through which a beam could be made to pass.
Regarding Claim 3:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the electromagnet according to claim 1, wherein the iron core is provided with at least one beam non-passing gap through which the charged particle beam does not travel. As can be seen in Okawa Fig. 1 above, there are a number of gaps through which a beam could be made to pass, but through which no beam is passed. For example, the gap to the right of the main gap between the two poles (3).
Regarding Claim 4:
The modified invention of claim 3 teaches the electromagnet according to claim 3, wherein the at least one beam non-passing gap is provided with a structure similar in configuration to the sub-vacuum duct provided in the at least one beam passing gap. The structures are similar at least in that they both include a the same space between poles (3).
Regarding Claim 5:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the electromagnet according to claim 1, wherein the iron core has at least one support member, disposed thereon, for respectively supporting a periphery of the at least one beam passing gap or a periphery of at least one beam non-passing gap. Poles (3) and Poles next to (9) meet this limitation.
Regarding Claim 6:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches a charged particle accelerator comprising an electromagnet according to claim 1. Okawa [0001]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2017/0339778 A1.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881