DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, 10-12 and 15-20 in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 12 states “wherein the first side is characterized by a width of greater than 4 µm”, there is no proper antecedent basis in the specification for the claimed limitation. The disclosure states at ¶[0030] “In further embodiments, a first width of the first side, extending between pixel isolation structure 220a to pixel isolation structure 220b, is less than a second width of the second side extending between the same pixel isolation structures 220a-b. In additional embodiments, the first width may be less than or about 4 μm, less than or about 3.5 μm, less than or about 3 μm, less than or about 2.5 μm, less than or about 2 μm, less than or about 1.5 μm, less than or about 1 μm, or less.”. The disclosure supports the limitation for the first side having a width of less than or about 4µm, but provides no support for the first side having a width greater than 4µm.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Paragraph [0030] states “the pixel isolation structures 220a-b form sidewalls of the photoluminescent region 216”. The drawings do not include the reference signs 220a-b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 states “a quantum dot material operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is shorter than the first wavelength of light”, which raises the issue of indefinite.
Applicant’s specification at ¶[0037] states “In further embodiments, the sequential operations may include forming first photoluminescent material 318a that includes red light emitting quantum dots in a first photoluminescent region 316a of the pixel structure 300, forming a second photoluminescent material 318b that includes green light emitting quantum dots in a second photoluminescent region 316b of the pixel structure, and forming a third photoluminescent material 318c that includes blue light emitting quantum dots in a third photoluminescent region 316c of the pixel structure.”. Moreover, as stated in claim 15, the light emitting diode structure generates ultraviolet emission, as such, it is unclear how the first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure can possibly be converted to a second wavelength of light of a shorter wavelength than ultraviolet, when using the red, green or blue light emitting quantum dots converting materials. For examination purposes, the second wavelength of light will be construed as longer than the first wavelength in accordance with the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maekawa et al. (JP 2020-145425 A).
Regarding claim 1, Maekawa discloses a pixel structure (Fig. 11) comprising a light emitting diode structure (100uv, Fig. 11) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); a photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (28) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (100uv) and the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23), wherein the first bandpass filter (28) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); and a second bandpass filter (25UV) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) as the first bandpass filter, wherein the second bandpass filter (25UV) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0119]).
Regarding claim 6, Maekawa discloses a pixel structure wherein the photoluminescent material in the photoluminescent region comprises a quantum dot material (¶[0053]) operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is longer than the first wavelength of light.
Regarding claim 15, Maekawa discloses a display component comprising: a plurality of pixel structures (6, 7, 8, Fig. 2), wherein each of the pixel structures comprises: a light emitting diode structure (100uv, Fig. 11) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); a photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (28) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (100uv) and the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23), wherein the first bandpass filter (28) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); and a second bandpass filter (25UV) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) as the first bandpass filter, wherein the second bandpass filter (25UV) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0119]).
Regarding claim 17, Maekawa discloses a display component wherein, in each of the pixel structures, the photoluminescent material in the photoluminescent region comprises a quantum dot material (¶[0053]) operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is wavelength of light, and the light emitting diode structure is a micro-light-emitting diode structure (¶[0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Maekawa discloses a display component wherein the display component is operable to be incorporated into an augmented reality display device (¶[0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2014/0319553) in view of Maekawa et al. (JP 2020-145425 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure (30, Fig. 3) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0045]); a photoluminescent region (34) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (32) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (30) and the photoluminescent region (34), wherein the first bandpass filter (32) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0051]); and a second bandpass filter (39) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (34) as the first bandpass filter (32), wherein the second bandpass filter (39) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0053]). Ye fails to state wherein the light emitting diode is a pixel structure.
Maekawa discloses a pixel structure (Fig. 11) comprising a light emitting diode structure (100uv, Fig. 11) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); a photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (28) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (100uv) and the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23), wherein the first bandpass filter (28) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); and a second bandpass filter (25UV) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) as the first bandpass filter, wherein the second bandpass filter (25UV) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0119]). Maekawa acknowledges the use of the disclosed light emitting diode structure similar to Ye as pixel elements of a display device, as such, one skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate using the light emitting diode structure of Ye as pixel structure in display devices. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to use the light emitting diode disclosed by Ye as a pixel structure as exemplified by Maekawa in order to act as light emitting devices in an image display device.
Regarding claim 2, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the photoluminescent region (34) includes a first side adjacent to the first bandpass filter (32) and a second side adjacent to the second bandpass filter (39), wherein the second side of the photoluminescent region is wider than the first side (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the photoluminescent region (34) further includes a first sidewall (23) in contact with the first bandpass filter (32), and wherein the first sidewall (23) and the first bandpass filter (32) are characterized by a tilting angle of greater than 90 (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the pixel structure further comprises a microlens structure (81), and wherein the second bandpass filter (79) is positioned between the microlens structure (81) and the photoluminescent region (76).
Regarding claim 5, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the pixel structure further comprises a protection region (31) positioned between the light emitting diode (30) structure and the first bandpass filter (32).
Regarding claim 6, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the photoluminescent material is operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is longer than the first wavelength of light. Ye fails to exemplify the photoluminescent material comprises a quantum dot material.
Maekawa discloses a pixel structure wherein the photoluminescent material in the photoluminescent region comprises a quantum dot material (¶[0053]) operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is longer than the first wavelength of light. It is considered within the capabilities of one skilled in the art the selection of a material based on its known suitability for an intended application as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to have a quantum dot material as disclosed by Maekawa in the light emitting diode structure of Ye in order to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is longer than the first wavelength of light, since the selection of known materials for a known purpose is within the skill of the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ye fails to exemplify wherein the photoluminescent region is characterized by a depth between the first side and the second side that is greater than or about 1 µm and the first side is further characterized by a width across the photoluminescent region of less than or about 30 µm. One skilled in that art would have reasonably contemplate optimizing the depth and width of the photoluminescent region within the claimed ranges in order to adjust the overall size of the photoluminescent region used in microLEDs displays. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the photoluminescent region having a depth between the first side and the second side that is greater than or about 1 µm and the first side having a width across the photoluminescent region of less than or about 30 µm, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 10, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure wherein the photoluminescent region includes a third side that includes a sidewall region (23) between the first side and the second side of the photoluminescent region, and wherein a tilting angle between the first side and the third side is greater than 90 deg (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 11-12, Ye fails to exemplify wherein the first side is characterized by a width of less than or about 4 µm, or wherein the first side is characterized by a width of greater than 4 µm. One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate adjusting the width of the first side of the photoluminescent region within the claimed ranged in order to optimize the light incident surface of the photoluminescent region, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the first side having a width of less than or about 4 µm, or a width of greater than 4 µm in order to optimize the light incident surface of the photoluminescent region, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Ye discloses a light emitting diode structure (30, Fig. 3) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0045]); a photoluminescent region (34) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (32) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (30) and the photoluminescent region (34), wherein the first bandpass filter (32) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0051]); and a second bandpass filter (39) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (34) as the first bandpass filter (32), wherein the second bandpass filter (39) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0053]). Ye fails to state wherein the light emitting diode is a pixel structure. Ye fails to exemplify a display component comprising: a plurality of pixel structures, and wherein the display component is operable to be incorporated into an augmented reality display device.
Maekawa discloses a display component comprising: a plurality of pixel structures (6, 7, 8, Fig. 2), wherein each of the pixel structures comprises: a light emitting diode structure (100uv, Fig. 11) operable to generate ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); a photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) containing a photoluminescent material (¶[0046]); a first bandpass filter (28) positioned between the light emitting diode structure (100uv) and the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23), wherein the first bandpass filter (28) is operable to transmit ultraviolet light (¶[0118]); and a second bandpass filter (25UV) positioned on an opposite side of the photoluminescent region (21a, 22, 23) as the first bandpass filter, wherein the second bandpass filter (25UV) is operable to transmit visible light (¶[0119]), wherein the display component is operable to be incorporated into an augmented reality display device (¶[0007]). Maekawa acknowledges the use of the disclosed light emitting diode structure similar to Ye as pixel elements of a display device, as such, one skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate using the light emitting diode structure of Ye as pixel structure in display devices. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to use the light emitting diode disclosed by Ye as a pixel structure as exemplified by Maekawa in order to act as light emitting devices in an image display device.
Regarding claim 16, Ye discloses a display component wherein the pixel structures further include a first side of the photoluminescent region (34) adjacent to the first bandpass filter (32) and a second side of the photoluminescent region (34) adjacent to the second bandpass filter (39), wherein the second side is wider than the first side (Fig. 3), and wherein the photoluminescent region (34) further includes a first sidewall (23) in contact with the first bandpass filter (32), and the first sidewall (23) and the first bandpass filter (32) are characterized by a tilting angle of greater than 90 (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Ye discloses a display component wherein, in each of the pixel structures, the photoluminescent material is operable to absorb a first wavelength of light from the light emitting diode structure and emit a second wavelength of light that is longer than the first wavelength of light, and the light emitting diode structure is a micro-light-emitting diode structure. Ye fails to exemplify the photoluminescent material comprises a quantum dot material
Regarding claim 18, Ye fails to disclose wherein the display component is characterized by a pixel density of greater than or about 3000 pixels-per-inch. One skilled in the art would reasonably contemplate optimization of the pixel density of the display within the claimed range in order to achieve know operation standards for high resolution and image sharpness of the image display, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a pixel density of greater than or about 3000 pixels-per-inch in order to achieve high resolution and image sharpness of the image display, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 19, Ye fails to disclose wherein the display component is characterized by an optical density of greater than or about 1. One skilled in the art would have reasonable contemplate adjust the optical density of the display component within the claimed range in order to customize the transmission of the light passing through each of the bandpass filters, as an obvious matter of design engineering It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an optical density of greater than or about 1 in order to customize the transmission of the light passing through each of the bandpass filters, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (KR 2020-0051197 A) discloses a light emitting element comprising: a first pixel including a first light emitting structure, a first color conversion layer on the first light emitting structure, and a first multilayer filter on the first color conversion layer; and a second pixel including a second light emitting structure, a second color conversion layer on the second light emitting structure, and a second multilayer filter on the second color conversion layer.
Choi (KR 2012-0077187 A) discloses a light emitting device comprising a light emitting diode chip, a glass encapsulating material covers the light emitting diode chip, a wavelength conversion layer formed on the upper side of the glass encapsulating material and a filter layer formed in the glass encapsulating material.
Yoneda (WO 2011/016433 A1) discloses an LED light emitting device provided with a base having a recessed portion that is open at the upper end surface thereof, and an LED element mounted on the bottom surface of the recessed portion, a sealing member having a light transmissive property and sealing the LED element, a short wavelength transmission filter, and a wavelength conversion member that contains phosphor in this order from the bottom surface side of the recessed portion.
Kuo et al. (TW I830395 B) discloses a display device including a substrate, a first light emitting unit, a first bandpass filter and a first light conversion layer, the first bandpass filter is disposed on the first light emitting unit and has a first cutoff wavelength, the first light conversion layer is disposed on the first bandpass filter and configured to convert the first light beam into a first conversion light beam.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879