DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s argument and amendment received on 08/04/2026 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1-10, 12, and 17-20 had been cancelled. Claims 11 and 14 have been amended. New claims 21-33 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-16, and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al (US 2014/0018150) in view of Eby et al (US 10,796,523) and Lim et al (US 8,847,895).
Regarding claims 11, 24, 25, 27, 28, and 31-33: Wells et al discloses an electronic gaming system (see figure 1A; paragraph [0041], showing a gaming machine 10 of one embodiment of the present invention includes a cabinet or housing 12 that houses exterior display device 18a, intermediate display device 18b, interior display device 18c, touchscreen 16, and a processor ) comprising: a display device (see figure 1A; paragraph [0041], showing a gaming machine 10 of one embodiment of the present invention includes a cabinet or housing 12 that houses exterior display device 18a, intermediate display device 18b, interior display device 18c, touchscreen 16, and a processor ); a button deck comprising an upper surface covering substantially all of the button deck and a touchscreen layer underneath the upper surface, wherein the touchscreen layer comprises a display panel and an input area, wherein the button deck is composed of transparent material (see figure 1A, 3; paragraphs [0041], [0080], showing for example, the front video display device 90 may include video images of a plurality of player selectable buttons to allow the player to control the play of the slots game. The buttons may include a "See Pays" button 302, a "Cash Out" button 304, a "Spin" button 306, and a "Max Bet" button 308. Player information may also be generated as a video image 310 on the front video display device 90); a bracket for mounting the button deck to a front edge of the display device and suspending the button deck in front of the display device, wherein the button deck appears to be floating when viewed from above the electronic gaming device (see paragraph [0052], showing an mechanical support such as an underlying structure or frame); and a game controller comprising at least one processor in communication with a memory, wherein the game controller is configured to: receive a touch input proximate to at least one of the display panel and the input area (see paragraph [0049], showing the gaming machine processor enable the processor to detect a player pressing on an area of the display screen (and, for some touchscreens, how hard a player is pushing on a particular area of the display screen). Using one or more programs stored within memory of the gaming machine, the processor enables a player to activate game elements or functions by applying pressure to certain portions of touchscreen); and in response to the touch input, control a display of a plurality of game aspects on the display device (see paragraph [0049], showing the gaming machine processor enable the processor to detect a player pressing on an area of the display screen).
In an analogous invention, Lim et al teaches an upper transparent surface, a lower transparent surface, a forward edge extending from the upper transparent surface to the lower transparent surface, a touchscreen layer positioned between the upper transparent surface and the lower transparent surface (see claim 21 of Lim et al, showing a rigid, transparent lower substrate; a deformable, transparent upper substrate which is spaced apart from the lower substrate; a plurality of driving electrodes comprising at least one first electrode formed on the lower substrate and at least one second electrode formed on the upper substrate; and an elastic layer comprising a plurality of elastic spacers dispersed in a gap between the upper substrate and the lower substrate, and fluid filled in the gap, wherein when a driving voltage is applied to an entire area or a partial area of the plurality of driving electrodes, the upper substrate locally presses the fluid by electrostatic force which arises across driving electrodes to which the driving voltage is applied, so that the upper substrate is protruded upward in an area where the electrostatic force is not exerted, wherein the protruded area of the upper substrate delimits an input button area, and wherein when a pressure exceeding a threshold value is sensed on the input button area).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Wells’ gaming device as taught by Eby’s power source and electronic device charging for the purpose of having a system that charges and provide power transfer to an electronic device connected to the gaming device. This yields the expected result of improving the gaming device and increasing the user satisfaction and enjoyment of the device.
Regarding claim 13: Wells et al discloses wherein the button deck comprises a glass material (see paragraph [0035], showing the display with the input button and screen including a top glass or a belly glass).
Regarding claims 14 and 21: Wells et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Wells et al did not disclose wherein the button deck further comprises a charging element configured to transfer energy to a battery-powered device positioned in proximity to the charging element, wherein the button deck further comprises a wire mesh under substantially all of the touchscreen layer, wherein the wire mesh provides power to the display panel, the input area, and the charging element.
In an analogous invention, Eby et al teaches wherein the button deck further comprises a charging element configured to transfer energy to a battery-powered device positioned in proximity to the charging element (see figure 1; abstract; column 6, lines 20-42, showing the electronic device interface 20 that is supported by the gaming device 10, the electronic device, E may be charged by or receive power directly from the power source, AC, due to the power source, AC, being directly connected to the connection hardware), wherein the button deck further comprises a wire mesh under substantially all of the touchscreen layer, wherein the wire mesh provides power to the display panel, the input area, and the charging element (see figure 8; abstract; column 5, lines 23-46, showing the connection hardware 30 may include any desirable structural configuration. Further, if desired, the one or more fasteners 26 may be removed in order to permit the faceplate 22 to be removed from the front surface portion 12.sub.F of the housing 12 in order to, for example, replace or upgrade the connection hardware 30, if, for example, the connection hardware 30 needs to be serviced, or, for example, is obsolete. In some instances, the connection hardware 30 may include, but is not limited to a male portion that interfaces with a female portion (see, e.g., E.sub.P), of the electronic device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Wells’ gaming device as taught by Eby’s power source and electronic device charging for the purpose of having a system that charges and provide power transfer to an electronic device connected to the gaming device. This yields the expected result of improving the gaming device and increasing the user satisfaction and enjoyment of the device.
Regarding claim 15: Wells et al discloses wherein the glass material of the button deck comprises an outer thickness measurement along an outer periphery of the button deck and an inner thickness measurement within an internal region defined by the outer periphery of the button deck, wherein the inner thickness measurement is less than the outer thickness measurement (see paragraphs [0010], [0035], [0052], [0109], showing the display with the input button and screen including a top glass or a belly glass).
Regarding claim 16: Wells et al discloses further comprising a visual element configured to produce electrochromic shading of the button deck, thereby yielding an opaque appearance (see paragraph [0048], showing various devices may be utilized for the light valve 18e, including, but not limited to, suspended particle devices (SPD), Cholesteric LCD devices, electrochromic devices, polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) devices, etc. Light valve 18e switches between being transparent, and being opaque (or translucent), depending on a received control signal. For example, SPDs and PDLC devices become transparent when applied with a current and become opaque or translucent when little or no current is applied).
Regarding claim 22: Wells et al discloses further comprising a cabinet coupled to the display device and the button deck (see figure 3; paragraph [0080], showing the front video display device 90 may include video images of a plurality of player selectable buttons to allow the player to control the play of the slots game. The buttons may include a "See Pays" button 302, a "Cash Out" button 304, a "Spin" button 306, and a "Max Bet" button 308. Player information may also be generated as a video image 310 on the front video display device 90).
Regarding claim 23: Wells et al discloses wherein the cabinet includes a front side and defines an interior cavity therein, the cabinet further defining slot on the front side providing access to the interior cavity (see figures 1A, 6B).
Regarding claim 26: Wells et al discloses wherein the housing is received within the bracket and the bracket clamps the housing to the cabinet, the housing extending from the bracket and through the slot to a front distal edge that is cantilevered on the cabinet (see figures 1A, 6B).
Regarding claim 30: Wells et al discloses further comprising a lighting element integrated within the button deck or appended to the button deck, wherein the lighting element is configured to direct light to at least one wall of the housing, wherein the at least one wall of the housing is etched such that the light directed at the at least one wall reflects off the etching to provide visual appearance of the wall being illuminated (see paragraphs [0043], [0044], showing the gaming machine may also include one or more light sources).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al (US 2014/0018150) in view of Eby et al (US 10,796,523) and Lim et al (US 8,847,895) and further in view of Hilbert et al (US 2013/0217491).
Regarding claim 29: Wells et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Wells et al did not disclose wherein the transparent material is acrylic.
In an analogous invention, Hilbert et al teaches wherein the transparent material is acrylic (see paragraph [0447], showing the touch surface 802a (e.g., glass, acrylic, or other material) of the virtual button deck).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Wells’ game device as taught by Hilbert’s acrylic surface for the purpose of providing touch surface options. This yields the expected result of providing the makers of the game with options of material for the surface and thereby increasing the satisfaction and enjoyment of the game system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11 and 13-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715