DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (20230215980), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (SUB, ¶ [85], fig.27) including an emission area (DA, ¶ [88], fig. 3) and a non-emission area (NDA); alignment electrodes (ALE1, ALE2, ¶ [128], fig. 26) spaced from each other along a first direction (DR1) on the substrate (SUB) and extending in a second direction (DR2) crossing the first direction (DR1); and pixels (PXL, ¶ [128], fig. 26) arranged along the second direction (DR2), wherein pixels (PXL) adjacent to each other in the second direction (DR2) from among the pixels (PXL) are configured to emit light of different colors (¶ [124]), wherein each of the pixels (PXL) comprises: first light emitting elements (LD1, ¶ [316], fig. 26) on the alignment electrodes (ALE1, ALE2) and arranged along the second direction (DR2); second light emitting elements (LD2, ¶ [317], fig. 26) on the alignment electrodes (ALE1, ALE2), spaced from the first light emitting elements (LD1) in the first direction (DR1), and arranged along the second direction (DR2); a first pixel electrode (PE1, ¶ [316], fig. 26) electrically connected to a first driving power (VDD, ¶ [101], fig. 25) and first ends of the first light emitting elements (LD1); a second pixel electrode (PE2, ¶ [317], fig. 26) spaced from the first pixel electrode (PE1) in the first direction (DR1) and electrically connected to a second driving power (VSS, ¶ [101], fig. 25) and second ends of the second light emitting elements (LD2); and a connection electrode (CTE, ¶ [318], fig. 26) electrically connecting the first pixel electrode (PE1) and the second pixel electrode (PE2), wherein the connection electrode (CTE) comprises: a first connection electrode (CTE1, ¶ [318], fig. 26) extending in the second direction (DR2) between the first pixel electrode (PE1) and the second pixel electrode (PE2) and electrically connected to second ends of the first light emitting elements (LD1); and a second connection electrode (CTE2, ¶ [318], fig. 26) extending in the second direction (DR2) to face the first connection electrode (CTE1) with the second pixel electrode (PE2) interposed therebetween (see fig. 26) and electrically connected to first ends of the second light emitting elements (LD2).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a third connection electrode (CTE3, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) connecting the first connection electrode (CTE1) and the second connection electrode (CTE2), and extending in the first direction (DR1), wherein the first connection electrode (CTE1), the second connection electrode (CTE2), and the third connection electrode (CTE3) are integrally formed (see the figure below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if at least one the limitations indicated below were included in the base claim.
Regarding claim 3, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 3, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the third connection electrode overlaps the non-emission area when viewed in a plan view.
Regarding claim 4, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 4, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the alignment electrodes comprise a first alignment electrode, a second alignment electrode, and a third alignment electrode sequentially arranged along the first direction, wherein the first light emitting elements overlap the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode and located on the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, and wherein the second light emitting elements overlap the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode and located on the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode.
Regarding claim 5, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 5, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the alignment electrodes comprise a first alignment electrode, a second alignment electrode, a third alignment electrode, and a fourth alignment electrode sequentially arranged along the first direction, wherein the first light emitting elements overlap the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode and located on the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, and wherein the second light emitting elements overlap the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode and located on the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode.
Regarding claims 6-7, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 5 because of their dependency status from claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 8, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the second connection electrode surrounds one area of the second pixel electrode.
Regarding claims 9-20, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 8 because of their dependency status from claim 8.
Conclusion
/JOSE M DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ANNE M HINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875