DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 7, 2025 and December 17, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hankland et al. (USPGPub 20220243428).
Regarding claim 1: Hankland discloses a wear component assembly (as seen in figures 1-21) for use with a material handling implement,
the wear component assembly comprising:
a forward stabilizer (as seen in figure 3, at 22, figure 5A and figure 6) configured to attach to a forward end of a lip of the material handling implement (as seen in figure 4A, via weld “W”), the forward stabilizer comprising first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in figure 5A, at 51a and 51b), in which the first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces are configured to engage respective first and second outwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in figure 10, at 65a and 65b) formed in an adapter to thereby limit lateral movement of the adapter on the material handling implement lip (page 6, paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3: Hankland discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Hankland discloses the forward stabilizer comprising a recess/opening formed therein (as seen in figure 6, at 22a’), the recess being configured to receive a protrusion that extends forward from the lip of the material handling implement (page 4, paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 4: Hankland discloses the wear component assembly of claim 3. Further, Hankland discloses the protrusion comprises third and fourth outwardly facing abutment surfaces formed thereon (as seen in figure 17, at 2010 and 2012), the third and fourth outwardly facing abutment surfaces being configured to engage respective third and fourth inwardly facing abutment surfaces formed in the adapter (page 4, paragraph [0067], lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 5: Hankland discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Hankland discloses wherein each of the first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces wraps around the forward end of the material handling implement lip (as seen in figure 7 with embodiment 22 and figure 6 at 22b’ and 22c’ with embodiment 22’).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Hankland discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Hankland discloses wherein an external radius formed on a forward end of the forward stabilizer engages a complementarily shaped internal radius formed in the adapter (as seen in cut away figure 2, area of 22) in which the external and internal radii can be concentric (as seen in figure 9, at 63’, also, pages 5 and 6, paragraph [0078]), and in which a thickness of the forward stabilizer decreases rearward of the external radius (as seen in annotated figure 7 below).
Regarding claim 10: Hankland discloses the wear component assembly of claim 8. Further, Hankland discloses wherein a gap between the forward stabilizer and the adapter increases rearward of the external radius (as seen in annotated figure 1 below).
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campomanes et al. (USP 10,519,632).
Regarding claim 1: Campomanes discloses a wear component assembly (as seen in figures 1-36) for use with a material handling implement,
the wear component assembly comprising:
a forward stabilizer (as seen in figure 10) configured to attach to a forward end of a lip of the material handling implement (as seen in figure 6), the forward stabilizer comprising first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in annotated figure 11 below), in which the first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces are configured to engage respective first and second outwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in figure 22, area of 424 and 424’) formed in an adapter to thereby limit lateral movement of the adapter on the material handling implement lip.
Regarding claims 2 and 3: Campomanes discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Campomanes discloses the forward stabilizer comprising a recess/opening formed therein (as seen in figure 10, at 202), the recess being configured to receive a protrusion that extends forward from the lip of the material handling implement (as seen in figure 6, area of 114).
Regarding claim 5: Campomanes discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Campomanes discloses wherein each of the first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces wraps around the forward end of the material handling implement lip (as seen in figures 6, 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 6: Campomanes discloses the wear component assembly of claim 1. Further, Campomanes discloses wherein the forward stabilizer comprises third and fourth inwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in annotated figure 29 below), the first and second inwardly facing abutment surfaces being positioned on a first side of the material handling implement lip, and the third and fourth inwardly facing abutment surfaces being positioned on an opposite second side of the material handling implement lip (as seen in figures 28-31, because the stabilizer has 4 “legs” all face inwardly and contact the adapter at various locations wherein each location can be considered.
Regarding claim 7: Campomanes discloses the wear component assembly of claim 6. Further, Campomanes discloses wherein the forward stabilizer further comprises third and fourth outwardly facing abutment surfaces, the third and fourth outwardly facing abutment surfaces (as seen in annotated figure 29 below) being configured to engage respective fifth and sixth inwardly facing abutment surfaces formed in the adapter (as seen in figure 27 and assembled figure 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stangeland et al. (USPGPub 2013/0212916) discloses a front stabilizer employed in concert with a wear member.
Jakubisin et al. (USP 11,066,812) discloses a wear member stabilizer having a recess/opening and protrusion.
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671