DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binder et al. (US 20070210417 A1, hereinafter Binder)
With regards to claim 1, Binder discloses a package comprising:
an interposer comprising:
a silicon substrate (substrate 12) comprising a porous portion; (porous silicon, see at least paragraph [0026]) and
a plurality of via interconnects (at least through holes 54) extending through the porous portion of the silicon substrate; and
a first integrated device (electronic chip 60) coupled to the interposer through a first plurality of solder interconnects. (solder contacts 58)
With regards to claim 3, Binder discloses the package of claim 1.
It should be noted that, while Binder does not explicitly teach wherein the porous portion includes a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) in a range of about 5-8 parts per million per Celsius degree (ppm / C), porous silicon would inherently have a CTE in that range (See C. Faivre et al. “X-ray diffraction investigation of the low temperature thermal expansion of porous silicon,” Table 1, cited in IDS filed 12/02/2024)
With regards to claim 7, Binder discloses the package of claim 1.
It should be noted that, while Binder does not explicitly teach wherein the porous portion comprises a porosity in a range of about 30–70 percent, porous silicon would inherently have a porosity in that range (See C. Faivre et al. “X-ray diffraction investigation of the low temperature thermal expansion of porous silicon,” Table 1, cited in IDS filed 12/02/2024)
With regards to claim 8, Binder discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a second integrated device coupled to the interposer through a second plurality of solder interconnects. (Paragraph [0052]: “FIG. 1 shows a rear-side contact 56 which is configured, in particular, as a standard flip-chip interconnect…” Thus the solder contacts 56 connect to a different integrated circuit (not shown))
With regards to claim 10, Binder discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the porous portion includes the entire silicon substrate. (See Paragraph [0026], where the entire substrate is made from porous silicon)
With regards to claim 18, Binder discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a second integrated device coupled to the interposer through a second plurality of solder interconnects. (Paragraph [0052]: “FIG. 1 shows a rear-side contact 56 which is configured, in particular, as a standard flip-chip interconnect…” Thus the solder contacts 56 connect to a different integrated circuit (not shown))
With regards to claim 19, Binder discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a substrate coupled to the interposer through a second plurality of solder interconnects. (Paragraph [0052]: “FIG. 1 shows a rear-side contact 56 which is configured, in particular, as a standard flip-chip interconnect…” Thus the solder contacts 56 connect to a different integrated circuit (not shown) having a substrate)
With regards to claim 20, Binder discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the package is part of a device selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, (Mobile telephone, see paragraph [0002]) a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LAI et al (US 20230137691 A1) – porous organosilicate as a substrate in an integrated circuit device.
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812