DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants' amendment of the claims, filed on 06/30/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-20 from the non-final office action, mailed on 03/31/2026, by amending claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-17, 20, is acknowledged and will be addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) For the purpose of differentiation from the “a second gap” of Claims 7 and 15, the “a gap” of Claims 1 and 9 should be “a first gap”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim interpretation
(1) In regards to the “wherein the substrate comprises a gradient coating with a first thickness at the opening and a second thickness at a rear of the cavity, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness” of Claims 3 and 11, and further “wherein the substrate comprises a gradient coating with a first thickness at the single opening and a second thickness at a rear of the cavity on the top side of the substrate, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, and wherein the substrate comprises a second gradient coating on the bottom side of the substrate” of Claim 17,
The limitation is constructed such that the gradient coating is included on the substrate to be processed, in other words, the substrate has the coating as a pre-coating.
The substrate is not a structural part constituting the claimed apparatus, rather it is a product to be processed by the claimed apparatus, therefore, the feature regarding the substrate does not add a patentable weight to the claimed apparatus.
Consequently, when an apparatus of a prior art is capable of processing a substrate, it will be considered meeting the limitation, see the MPEP citations below.
Emphasized again, the claim is examined as purely written, not based on the disclosure.
MPEP citations:
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (See MPEP 2106; Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409). When apparatus is capable of performing such functions, it is considered to meet the claim limitations. Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See MPEP 2111.02, 2115; In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (See MPEP 2112.01; In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA 1977). It has further been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). While features of an apparatus may be described either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus MUST be distinguished from prior art in terms of structure rather than function (See MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(1) The “a substrate comprising a top side, wherein the top side of the substrate is a major side or largest surface area side of the substrate” of Claim 9 and further similar limitation of Claim 1 is not clear, because of the “major side or largest surface area side”.
The “major side or largest surface area side” has a form of A or B. What difference is required between the “major side” and “largest surface area side”?
The “largest surface area side” appears to explain how the top side is defined, but it is not clear what the term “major” means and what is the intention to use the term. Further, it appears the applicants remove all the term “major” across the claim list, why the claims still recite the term?
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“a substrate comprising a top side, wherein the top side of the substrate is a largest surface area side of the substrate”.
In case the applicants wish to keep the original term “major”, it is respectfully requested to amend it:
“a substrate comprising a major top side, wherein the major top side of the substrate is a largest surface area side of the substrate”.
(2) The “a top side of the substrate” in “a gap between the top surface of the cavity and a top side of the substrate” of Claim 9 is not clear.
Does the “a top side of the substrate” is the same as the prior cited “top side of the substrate” of Claim 9 or another side?
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“the top side of the substrate”.
(3) The “a gap opening distance, measured from the top surface of the cavity at the opening to the top side of the substrate” of Claim 9 and similar limitation of Claim 1 is not clear, because of the “at the opening”.
First, does the “the opening” in “at the opening” means the prior cited “single opening” or another opening? It is not clear what opening is indicated by the term.
Second, Claims 1 and 9 define that the fixture has the “single opening” and “cavity”, thus, based on the applicants’ Figures, the “single opening” is considered as an entrance point of the fixture and the “cavity” is considered as a hollow space within the fixture, which begins from the entrance point to a back.
Consequently, if the “the opening” means “the single opening, the claim amendment is constructed such that the gap opening distance should be measured only at the entrance point of the cavity and between the top surface of the cavity and the top side of the substrate, see the left figure of the illustration below.
On the contrary, the applicants’ Fig. 11 (or the right figure of the illustration) shows the gap opening distance 228 is measured, at an end of the substrate and in a vertical direction, between the top surface of the cavity and the top side of the substrate, thus, the construction of the claim amendment contradicts to the applicants’ disclosures as a result, the metes and bounds cannot be clearly determined.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“a gap opening distance, vertically measured at an end of the substrate, from the top surface of the cavity to the top side of the substrate”.
(4) The “decreases with depth into the cavity” of Claims 6, 14 and 20 is not clear.
Claims 6, 14 and 20 are respectively dependent from Claims 1 and 9, thus each of claims 6, 14 and 20 includes all the features of each of claims 1 and 9.
Under the circumstance, does the “depth” of Claims 6, 14 and 20 mean the “cavity depth” of claims 1 and 9, or another depth?
Further, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 6 and 14 recite the broad recitation “depth”, and the claims 1 and 9 also include “cavity depth”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Lastly, it is not clear what the “with depth into the cavity” means.
Fort the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“decrease along the cavity depth”.
(5) The “wherein the bottom side is opposite the top side, and wherein the bottom side of the substrate is another major side or largest surface area side of the substrate” of Claims 7 and 15 raises the same issue as the item (1) above.
Further, the “largest surface area” is also not clear.
Claims 7 and 15 are respectively dependent from Claims 1 and 9, thus each of claims 7 and 15 includes all the features of each of claims 1 and 9.
Claims 1 and 9 define the top side of the substrate is a largest surface area side of the substrate, then claims 7 and 15 also defines the bottom side of the substrate is a largest surface area side of the substrate, in other words, there exist two different largest surface area sides, but it is considered that the largest area would be one.
If the applicants intend to define same largest area on both top and bottom sides of the substrate, the “wherein the bottom side of the substrate has the same largest surface area as the top side of the substrate” will be sufficient.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“wherein the bottom side of the substrate is opposite to the top side of the substrate”.
(6) The “the bottom surface of the substrate is contoured to match a shape of the bottom side of the substrate” of Claim 16 is not clear, because of the “the bottom surface of the substrate”.
Does it mean “the bottom surface of the cavity”?
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“the bottom surface of the cavity is contoured to match a shape of the bottom side of the substrate”.
(8) The “at the opening” of Claim 17 is not clear.
Does the “the opening” mean the prior cited “single opening” or another opening? It is not clear what opening is indicated by the term.
Does it mean the “single opening” of Claim 15 or another opening?
Based on the applicants’ figures, for the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive:
“at an end of the substrate”.
Claims 6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
(1) The “with depth into the cavity” of Claims 6, 14 and 20 fails to further limit the claims 1 and 9 limitations.
Claims 1 and 9 recite “cavity depth”, which is narrower than the “depth” of Claims 6, 14 and 20, thus Claims 6, 14 and 20 fail to further limit.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. W. Burd et al. (US 3441000, hereafter ‘1000).
Regarding Claim 9, ‘1000 teaches:
apparatus for the production of epitaxial films (Figs. 1 and 4, title), and a deposition chamber 10 (line 25 of col. 4, note the apparatus is capable of depositing a gradient coating, for instance, from a vertical side surface of the substrate, the claimed “A chemical vapor deposition coating system for depositing a gradient coating”);
the wafers W (line 60 of col. 4, the claimed “the system comprising: a substrate comprising a top side, wherein the top side of the substrate is a major side or largest surface area side of the substrate, wherein the top side is to be deposited with a coating of a material via chemical vapor deposition”);
Fig. 1 shows a plug 5 having the wafer support plate 17 (see also line 55 of col. 5, note the plug 5 has a single opening on a front side of the plug closer to the inlet port 14, thus only the lateral side of the substrate is not surrounded by the plug, the claimed “and a fixture for the substrate, the fixture configured to house the substrate during deposition of the coating, wherein the fixture is configured to surround the substrate on all sides of the substrate except for a single front side of the substrate and wherein the fixture comprises: a single opening on a front side of the fixture”);
the gases which are admitted to the deposition chamber 10 will flow outwardly through the annular exhaust port 21, through the exhaust space 20, then through the radial apertures 23 and out through the exhaust pipe 24 (lines 37-41 of col. 6, note the gas is provided to the substrate only through the single opening of the plug and also flow out through the single opening coupled to the port 21, the claimed “and wherein the fixture is configured to restrict egress of the material from all directions except through the single opening”);
Fig. 1 shows a cavity within the plug 5, which extends from the front side opening of the plug 5 to the apex 16 and the cavity includes a gap between the top side of the wafer W and top surface of the cavity (the claimed “and a cavity within the fixture, wherein a top surface of the cavity begins at the single opening and extends to a back of the cavity, wherein the fixture is configured to leave a gap between the top surface of the cavity and a top side of the substrate”);
Fig. 1 shows a distance, measured from the front side opening of the plug 5 to the apex 16, is greater than a gap distance, measured from the top surface of the cavity and the top side of the wafer W (the claimed “and wherein a cavity depth, measured from the single opening to the back of the cavity, is greater than a gap opening distance, measured from the top surface of the cavity at the opening to the top side of the substrate”).
Regarding Claim 1, ‘1000 teaches:
apparatus for the production of epitaxial films (Figs. 1 and 4, title), and a deposition chamber 10 (line 25 of col. 4, note the apparatus is capable of depositing a gradient coating, for instance, on a vertical side surface of the substrate, the claimed “A fixture for depositing a gradient coating in a chemical vapor deposition chamber”);
Fig. 1 shows a plug 5 and the wafer support plate 17 (see also line 55 of col. 5, note the plug 5 has a single opening on a front side of the plug closer to the inlet port 14, thus only the lateral side of the substrate is not surrounded by the plug, the claimed “the fixture comprising: a single opening on a front side of the fixture, wherein the fixture is configured to house a substrate during deposition of a coating and configured to surround the substrate on all sides of the substrate except for a single front side of the substrate”);
the gases which are admitted to the deposition chamber 10 will flow outwardly through the annular exhaust port 21, through the exhaust space 20, then through the radial apertures 23 and out through the exhaust pipe 24 (lines 37-41 of col. 6, note the gas is provided to the substrate only through the single opening of the plug and also flow out through the single opening coupled to the port 21, the claimed “and wherein the fixture is configured to restrict egress of coating material from all directions except through the single opening”);
Fig. 1 shows a cavity within the plug 5, which extends from the front side opening of the plug 5 to the apex 16 and the cavity includes a gap between the top side of the wafer W and top surface of the cavity (the claimed “a cavity within the fixture, wherein a top surface of the cavity begins at the single opening and extends to a back of the cavity, wherein the fixture is configured to leave a gap between the top surface of the cavity and a top side of the substrate, wherein the top side of the substrate is a major side or largest surface area side of the substrate”);
Fig. 1 shows a distance, measured from the front side opening of the plug 5 to the apex 16, is greater than a gap distance, measured from the top surface of the cavity and the top side of the wafer W (the claimed “and wherein a cavity depth, measured from the single opening of the fixture to the back of the cavity, is greater than a gap opening distance, measured from the top surface of the cavity at the opening to the top side of the substrate”).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10,
Fig. 1 of ‘1000 shows parallel arrangement between the top surface of the cavity and the top surface of the wafer W (the claimed “wherein the top surface of the cavity is contoured to match a shape of the top surface of the substrate”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11,
‘1000 teaches the wafer W, see also the claim interpretation above (the claimed “wherein the substrate comprises a gradient coating with a first thickness at the single opening and a second thickness at a rear of the cavity, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘1000) in view of Moslehi et al. (US 20120085278, hereafter ‘278).
Regarding Claims 4-6 and 12-14,
As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, ‘1000 teaches the cavity depth is greater than the gap opening distance, thus ‘1000 merely does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claims 4 and 12: wherein the cavity depth is ten times greater than the gap opening distance.
Claims 5 and 13: wherein the cavity depth is one hundred times greater than the gap opening distance.
Claims 6 and 14: wherein the top surface of the cavity is graded or sloped such that a gap distance from the top surface of the cavity to the top side of the substrate decreases with depth into the cavity.
‘278 is analogous art in the field of deposition system (title). ‘278 teaches in order to vary the effect of chamber volume, gas speed, gas temperature, etc. on the epi growth (Fig. 3, [0037]), and the lid top or bottom may be positioned to create a sloped chamber wall (with an acute interior angle such as angle a shown in FIG. 2). This adjustment changes the chamber volume and/or forms a tapered space for the reactant gas to flow through the chamber, increases the gas velocity and thus eliminating and compensating for the detrimental impact of the reactant's depletion on deposition uniformity as it flows from wafer 44 to wafer 46 ([0038]). Emphasized herein, ‘278 clearly acknowledges that the chamber volume is an adjustable parameter, and the volume can be adjusted a size of the opening.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the cavity volume of the plug of ‘1000, by adjusting a size of either the cavity depth or the gap opening distance, as recited, for the purpose of obtaining a desired effect of chamber volume, gas speed, gas temperature, etc. and/or since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 7-8 and 15-16,
Fig. 1 of ‘1000 shows flat top and bottom sides of the wafer W, and further shows parallel arrangement between the top surface of the cavity and the top surface of the wafer W (the claimed “wherein the bottom side is opposite the top side, and wherein the bottom side of the substrate is another major side or largest surface area side of the substrate” of Claims 7 and 15, “wherein the top surface of the cavity is contoured to match a shape of the top side of the substrate” of Claims 8 and 16).
‘1000 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claims 7 and 15: wherein the fixture is configured to leave a second gap between a bottom surface of the cavity and a bottom side of the substrate, wherein the bottom side is opposite the top side, and wherein the bottom side of the substrate is another major side or largest surface area side of the substrate.
Claims 8 and 16: wherein the top surface of the cavity is contoured to match a shape of the top side of the substrate, and the bottom surface of the cavity is contoured to match a shape of the bottom side of the substrate.
‘278 further teaches Chamber 40 comprises a quartz lid top and a quartz lid bottom forming a space for the reactant gas to pass through and over the wafers positioned on susceptor 42, which optionally may have a window frame shape to allow for dual side deposition of multiple wafers ([0038], note Fig. 3 shows a second gap between a bottom surface of the cavity and a bottom side of the substrate, and both have a parallel arrangement. Further note, it is well-known that the susceptor 42 can have a hole for exposing both top and bottom sides of one substrate, thus dual side deposition of the same substrate).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the plug 5 of ‘1000, so to have additional gap between a bottom surface of the cavity and a bottom side of the substrate, for the purpose of providing a design for dual side deposition, thus increasing production efficiency.
Regarding Claim 17,
‘1000 teaches the wafer W, see also the claim interpretation above (the claimed “wherein the substrate comprises a gradient coating with a first thickness at the opening and a second thickness at a rear of the cavity on the top side of the substrate, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, and wherein the substrate comprises a second gradient coating on the bottom side of the substrate”).
Regarding Claims 18-19,
Claims 18-19 are rejected for substantially the same reason as the claims 4-5 or 12-13 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 20,
Figs. 1 and 4 of ‘1000 show the lid surface is straightened then sloped, thus it can be considered being a “stepped surface” (the claimed “wherein the top surface of the cavity is a stepped surface such that a gap distance from the top surface to the cavity to the top side of the substrate decreases with depth into the cavity”).
In case the applicants argue that the feature is different from the applicants’ step,
Fig. 3 of ‘278 shows a linearly tapered path. A sloped or tapered path can be constructed by linear sloped path or multiple stepped path, for instance, see the illustration below, in other words, they are mere obvious variants.
Consequently, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have obtained the tapered path of ‘278, by either linear sloped path or multiple stepped path, for the purpose of providing various flow control, and/or further, for its suitability as known tapered path with predictable result. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new ground of rejection above.
In regard to the 35USC102 rejection of Claim 9, the applicants argue that ‘1000 does not teach a single opening on a fixture that is configured to restrict egress of the material from all directions except through the single opening. Within ‘1000, there is an opening 14 but more area of egress than the opening as the material egresses through annular exhaust port 21. See Figure 1 of ‘1000. Also shown in the other Figures. Additionally, ‘1000 fails to teach wherein a top surface of the cavity begins at the single opening and extends to a back of the cavity. As shown, the opening 14 does not form the top surface of the cavity. For these reasons, ‘1000 does not teach all of the limitations of the claim, see page 9.
The argument is found not persuasive and the examiner maintains ‘1000 teaches all the features as recited.
Emphasized herein, the opening 14 of ‘1000 is not an opening for the plug 5.
As clearly shown in Fig. 1, the gas inlet port 14 is protruded from a right side wall of the chamber 9, which is a sectional compartment of the reaction vessel 1, not from the plug 5.
The plug 5 has a chamber 10 having an open end at a left side of the chamber 10, and the plug 5 is inserted into the rection vessel 1 from a right side, so to be close to the chamber 9 of the reaction vessel 1, and forms an annular exhaust manifold 20 between the side wall of the plug 5 and the side wall of the reaction vessel 1 and also forms an annular exhaust port 21 between the right side wall of the chamber 9 of the reaction vessel 1 and the open end of the chamber 10 of the plug 5.
Thus, the gas is supplied from the gas inlet port 14 into the chamber 10 through the open end of the chamber 10, then flows outwardly through the open end of the chamber 10, the annular exhaust port 21 and the annular exhaust manifold 20.
Consequently, the open end of the chamber 10 clearly reads into the claimed “a single opening on a fixture that is configured to restrict egress of the material from all directions except through the single opening”, and the chamber 10 reads into the claimed “a cavity”, thus a top surface of the cavity begins at the single opening and extends to a back of the cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718