DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 and 21 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13, 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 2021/0305538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a display panel comprising: a circuit layer (102, ¶[0067]) including a pixel region (located at each emitting elements 112) and a non-pixel region (region between emitting elements 112) defined adjacent to the pixel region; a first light-emitting element (112) disposed on the circuit layer and overlapping the pixel region; and an inorganic layer (111) disposed on the circuit layer (102) and including a first portion (111) overlapping the non-pixel region and a second portion (105R) extending in a direction from the first portion and overlapping the pixel region (Fig. 1), wherein the first light-emitting element includes: a first resonance electrode disposed on the circuit layer (102) and including a reflective electrode (103R, ¶[0022]) and a first transparent electrode (104R) disposed on the reflective electrode; a light-emitting portion (106) disposed on the first resonance electrode (103); and an upper electrode (107) disposed on the light-emitting portion (106), the second portion is disposed between the reflective (103R) electrode and the first transparent electrode (104R), at least one opening is defined in the second portion to expose a portion of an upper surface of the reflective electrode (103R), the first transparent electrode (104R) includes a first transparent portion disposed on the second portion (disposed over inorganic layer 111) and a second transparent portion disposed within the opening (¶[0059], Fig. 4D), and a first length of the first transparent portion in the direction is greater than a second length of the second transparent portion in the direction (Figs. 1 & 4D).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the first transparent portion (104R) is disposed directly on the second portion (105R).
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the second transparent portion contacts the reflective electrode (103R) through the opening.
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the second transparent portion entirely overlaps a side surface of the opening (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses a display panel wherein a material included in the first portion and a material included in the second portion each comprise at least one of silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and silicon oxide (¶[0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the reflective electrode comprises at least one of silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), lead (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), and chromium (Cr) (¶[0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the first transparent electrode comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) (¶[0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Ito discloses a display panel further comprising: a second light-emitting element (112G) spaced apart from the first light-emitting element on a plane and disposed on the circuit layer (102), wherein the second light-emitting element (104G) includes: a second resonance electrode having the reflective electrode (103G) and a second transparent electrode (104G) disposed on the reflective electrode; the light-emitting portion (106) disposed on the second resonance electrode (103G); and the upper electrode (107).
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a display panel wherein a thickness of the second resonance electrode (stacked layers 103G +104G) is smaller than a thickness of the first resonance electrode (stacked layers 103R +104R, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the second portion (Fig. 1) is not disposed between the reflective electrode (103G) and the second transparent electrode (104G).
Regarding claim 13, Ito discloses a display panel wherein the first portion (111) is disposed between the first light-emitting element (112R) and the second light-emitting element (112G) and divides the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Ito discloses a display panel wherein a pixel opening is defined in the first portion (111), and the pixel opening exposes an upper surface of the reflective electrode (103G, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Ito discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a display panel (100); and a lens unit (¶[0095]) facing the display panel, the display panel comprising: a circuit layer (102, ¶[0067]) including a pixel region (located at each emitting elements 112) and a non-pixel region (region between emitting elements 112) defined adjacent to the pixel region; a first light-emitting element (112) disposed on the circuit layer and overlapping the pixel region; and an inorganic layer (111) disposed on the circuit layer (102) and including a first portion (111) overlapping the non-pixel region and a second portion (105R) extending in a direction from the first portion and overlapping the pixel region (Fig. 1), wherein the first light-emitting element includes: a first resonance electrode disposed on the circuit layer (102) and including a reflective electrode (103R, ¶[0022]) and a first transparent electrode (104R) disposed on the reflective electrode; a light-emitting portion (106) disposed on the first resonance electrode (103); and an upper electrode (107) disposed on the light-emitting portion (106), the second portion is disposed between the reflective (103R) electrode and the first transparent electrode (104R), at least one opening is defined in the second portion to expose a portion of an upper surface of the reflective electrode (103R), the first transparent electrode (104R) includes a first transparent portion disposed on the second portion (disposed over inorganic layer 111) and a second transparent portion disposed within the opening (¶[0059], Fig. 4D), and a first length of the first transparent portion in the direction is greater than a second length of the second transparent portion in the direction (Figs. 1 & 4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2021/0305538 A1) in view of Choung et al. (US 2012/0235144 A1).
Regarding claims 8-9, Ito fails to exemplify wherein the first resonance electrode further includes an oxidation electrode disposed on the reflective electrode, and the second transparent portion contacts the oxidation electrode through the opening.
Choung discloses a display panel comprising: a circuit layer (180) including a pixel region (LD) and a non-pixel region (Qd) defined adjacent to the pixel region; a first light-emitting element (Fig. 2) disposed on the circuit layer (180) and overlapping the pixel region (LD); the first light-emitting element includes: a first resonance electrode (190) disposed on the circuit layer and including a reflective electrode (191q, ¶[0109]) and a first transparent electrode (192, ¶[0068]) disposed on the reflective electrode; a light-emitting portion (370) disposed on the first resonance electrode; and an upper electrode (270) disposed on the light-emitting portion, wherein the first resonance electrode (190) further includes an oxidation electrode (191r, ¶[0110]) disposed on the reflective electrode, wherein the oxidation electrode comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO, ¶[0110]), wherein the first transparent electrode (192) contacts the oxidation electrode (191r) through an opening in an insulating layer (361), the oxidation electrode allows for better adherence and protects the reflective electrode. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the oxidation electrode disclosed by Choung in the display panel of Ito in order to allow for better adherence and protection of the reflective electrode.
Regarding claim 14, Ito fails to exemplify wherein the second resonance electrode further comprises an oxidation electrode disposed on the reflective electrode, and a lower surface of the second transparent electrode entirely overlaps an upper surface of the oxidation electrode.
Choung discloses a display panel comprising: a circuit layer (180) including a pixel region (LD) and a non-pixel region (Qd) defined adjacent to the pixel region; a first light-emitting element (Fig. 2) disposed on the circuit layer (180) and overlapping the pixel region (LD); the first light-emitting element includes: a first resonance electrode (190) disposed on the circuit layer and including a reflective electrode (191q, ¶[0109]) and a first transparent electrode (192, ¶[0068]) disposed on the reflective electrode; a light-emitting portion (370) disposed on the first resonance electrode; and an upper electrode (270) disposed on the light-emitting portion, wherein the resonance electrode (191q) further comprises an oxidation electrode (191r) disposed on the reflective electrode (191q), and a lower surface of the transparent electrode (192) entirely overlaps an upper surface of the oxidation electrode (191r), the oxidation electrode allows for better adherence and protects the reflective electrode. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the oxidation electrode disclosed by Choung in the display panel of Ito in order to allow for better adherence and protection of the reflective electrode.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2021/0305538 A1) in view of Shi et al. (US 2016/0343789 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ito fails to exemplify a spacer disposed on the first portion and overlapping the non-pixel region.
Shi discloses a display panel comprising: a circuit layer (8) including a pixel region and a non-pixel region defined adjacent to the pixel region (Fig. 3); a first light-emitting element (Fig. 2) disposed on the circuit layer (2) and overlapping the pixel region; and a pixel definition layer (11) disposed on the circuit layer (8) and including a first portion overlapping the non-pixel region and a second portion extending in a direction from the first portion and overlapping the pixel region (Fig. 2); the first light-emitting element includes: a first resonance electrode (9) disposed on the circuit layer and including a reflective electrode (9, ¶[0055]) and a first transparent electrode (10, ¶[0072]) disposed on the reflective electrode; a light-emitting portion (13) disposed on the first resonance electrode; and an upper electrode (14) disposed on the light-emitting portion, and a spacer (12) disposed on the first portion and overlapping the non-pixel region (Fig. 3) used to separate the light-emitting portions between adjacent light emitting elements. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the spacer disclosed by Shi in the display panel of Ito in order to separate the light-emitting portions between adjacent light emitting elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naruse et al. (WO 2021/085187 A1) discloses an organic device comprising: a reflective film disposed on a substrate; a first insulating film covering the reflective film; a plurality of lower electrodes disposed on the first insulating film; a second insulating film covering the peripheries of each of the plurality of lower electrodes, and also covering the first insulating film between the plurality of lower electrodes; an organic functional film covering the plurality of lower electrodes and the second insulating film; and an upper electrode disposed on the organic functional film.
Onizuka et al. (JP 2010-251095 A) discloses an organic EL device including a base, pixels arranged on the base, a light-reflective first reflection layer arranged on the base, a light-transmissive insulation layer covering the base and the first reflection layer, a light-reflective second reflection layer arranged on the insulation layer, a light-transmissive anode arranged on the first reflection layer and second reflection layer, an organic function layer arranged on the anode and including at least a light emitting layer, and a light-transmissive cathode arranged on the organic function layer.
Kinoshita (EP 2159843 A2) discloses a color display device containing plural pixels on a substrate, each pixel is composed of plural sub-pixels which emit lights different in wavelength in the visible range and a white sub-pixel, the plural sub-pixels and the white sub-pixel each have a white organic electroluminescence layer interposed between an optically semitransparent reflection layer and a light reflection layer.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879